We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic variety.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of PJ's Cafe and Pizzeria

PJ's Cafe and Pizzeria
18986 Main St, Groveland, CA 95321
209-962-7501
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 20 Restaurants in Groveland
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Redwood City, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Basic variety.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We ate on the back porch, which turned out to be a cigarette friendly porch. A leaf bower made it hard to hear each other for a while. Porch has many dead potted plants and overlooks a parking lot and some shops.
We grabbed our own menus, salt, and pepper off an empty table after seating ourselves.
Very friendly and helpful server.
Women's bathroom out of order.
Many different kinds of food. I ordered a custom salad, which they made perfectly.
Sadly, our dressing was served in styrofoam dishes! It would be great if they served it in reusable dishes. Disappointed in this wasteful use of styrofoam, which does not biodegrade.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    24
    17
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dirty and bad food. Drive anywhere else.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We ate there because it was too late to buy food at the supermarket nearby (closes at 9), and we had the choice of that, and another 2 pizzerias nearby. We chose PJ's because it was full, but boy. It was terrible.
The carpet was filthy. Ancient and crumbs everywhere. Makes me nervous about the hygiene in the kitchen.
The menu was crazy - all kinds of stuff - so I had a patty melt and my husband had a pizza. My patty melt was at best OK. I didn't want to throw it away, in other words. My side salad had really ugly, mealy tomatoes -- and we're in California in August (no excuse.) My husband's pizza was greasy and tough.
We tried to pay with Visa but they don't accept it, and told us to use their ATM, but that was out of order so my husband had to drive to Groveland for another ATM and come back to pay. After he came back, we were ignored for another 10 minutes. Nice. We left a tip because---I don't know why -- but beware this dirty place. (And it was $33 without tip for my burger, his pizza, and 2 beers).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfrank66
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Big Pizza's and HUUUUGE smoothies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Nice small restaurant that serves really big pizza's and even bigger smoothies. Our teenagers loved this informal place.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Flies”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Tried to eat there but had to leave after a few minutes as the number of flies buzzing over each table got to be too much.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth going to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

They serve good food and even gave us breakfast after their breakfast hours were over.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PJ's Cafe and Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to PJ's Cafe and Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PJ's Cafe and Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.