We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oso Hostel

Oso Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oso Hostel
Save
You added Oso Hostel to your Saves list
Groveland, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Slagelse, Denmark
1 review
“Awesome place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Super friendly staff.
Cozy little town.
Not too far from the park.
Nice and clean rooms.
Great beer!!!
Beautiful surroundings.
Perfect little place to stay when exploring Yosemite!
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We arrived at this hostel after a 4 hour ride from San Francisco and were greeted by the awesome staff who couldn't have been more welcoming!"The room was clean and well maintained and the beds were very comfortable!There was everything that we needed for a comfortable stay and we booked an additional night for our way back out!Only half an hour from Yosemite Valley where the most popular driving hikes are!The hostel has a small bar to meet other travellers and a friendly, homely atmosphere. I would highly recommend staying here :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

It's not easy to rate this hostel because it has suffers from a split personality. When my friend and I arrived for our four-night stay we were told by the reception desk, slightly surprised to see us there, that clearly nobody had made a note of our reservation (made about a month before arrival) since we weren't on the system, but that there were still free beds, for a cheaper price ($23 rather than $33), in another dorm. We didn't have a problem with this proposal. The dorm room, however, wasn't particularly clean or pleasant: it was in cabin that seemed to be undergoing a renovation, since the rooms that led off ours were full of paint pots and DIY equipment. Among the items that cluttered our room were a pair of discarded washing machines and, on the window-sill, a series of empty water bottles that didn't move during our stay. The dirt and dust on the hard-tiled floor suggested that it had been swept by someone with a brush but without a dustpan, since it was collected in lots of small piles. That said, the beds and sheets were perfectly clean and comfortable. There was also no way of locking the doors to the cabin or our room, which stayed open pretty much all day, and there were no lockers - but the area seemed extremely safe (as the reception desk assured us, too), so we weren't particularly concerned.

Eventually, on our final night, we bumped into the owner, who told us that we could move into the room we'd originally booked for, if we liked. This room, also a dorm but in a different cabin, was a contrast: it was clean, nicely decorated and carpeted, and generally well looked-after. The bathroom and shower shared by both dorms was in the same building, so we no longer had to step outside to reach it. (There was a sink and loo in the other cabin, though in a pretty horrible state). We wished, basically, that we could have stayed in this room for the whole four nights, and, so long as you can make sure that your booking is for this room, I'd recommend staying at Oso. It's about an hour and a half's drive from Yosemite Valley, where the most popular hiking trails are, but the tiny town it's in, Groveland, makes up for the longish journey into the park with a handful of brilliant restaurants. There's also a small bar at the hostel itself.

Overall, then, this was a slightly frustrating experience that could have been a very satisfactory one. (The receptionist, when we asked for the keys for our new room on our final day, commented about the initial mix-up, 'That sometimes happens'...).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

OSO Hostel

I've been on a year long round the world trip and this has to be one of the most disappointing and expensive hostels i've stayed in in the past year.

The staff were nice but I'm afraid that's it.  The place was so unbearably hot that we had the worst night sleep possible.  There was a small fan in the room but the girl who showed us there even admitted that it didn't really do anything. By 9pm we were so agitated by the heat that we asked the reception if there was anything else we could do to cool the room down, she took us to another room which was much cooler to collect a second fan for our room. We were only there for one night so why they didn't see the sense in moving us to the empty, cooler room I have no idea. We had even hinted that it would be a much cooler room to sleep in!

Apart from that the place was cheap, tatty and not that clean.  The beds were like kids bunk beds from Ikea and that's pretty much all that was in the room - 2 beds and a small table which we balanced 2 fans on.   They hadn't even bothered covering the duvet for the bed and we weren't given any towels, I know most hostels don't but for $85 I'd expect a towel at least. 

If I were you I really wouldn't bother staying here, there are other places nearby for the same price or less. 

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed in a twin room which cost us about $95 inc tax. We had to use a shared bathroom(one toliet,one shower) which was very rarely available. 12 beds in the one buidling with one restroom.
On a positive note it was very clean and I like the retro look. The kitchen is good, but not worth the money. Hostels are just getting too expensive! They are supposed to be for travellers on a budget!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Oso Hostel is pretty basic but comfortable with nice staff and a great location on the edge of Yosemite for those arriving late in the day. I stayed in the dorm which was fine but note that the communal area (dining area) is right in the centre of the dorm and can be noisy if you're trying to rest. There's a small kitchen and a bar on site.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oso Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oso Hostel

Address: Groveland, CA
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oso Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.