We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Rose Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yosemite Rose Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Yosemite Rose Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
22830 Ferretti Road, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Groveland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2005

I spent 3 nights there with my husband and we really had a fantastic time. The house is full of character and charm, the hosts are lovely and the home-cooked breakfasts incredible! This is definitely a great place to stay if you intend to visit Yosemite Park.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    20
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
98
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, CA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2005

The buildings are hidden in the trees about 100 yards off a country road, maybe 8 miles from downtown Groveland. It's a little hard-to-find, at first (especially in the dark), but well worth the effort. The rooms are extremely comfortable and quiet and the breakfast is delicious (and enormous). There are plenty of trails, locally, for hiking or riding (mountain biking or horses), and the proprietors are extremely friendly and helpful. The west ("Big Oak") entrance to Yosemite Park is about 20 miles from the door, on Highway 120. Other interesting local desginations include Columbia historic park, Hetch Hetchy Reservoir and Ironstone Vineyards (the latter is about an hour away).

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2005

Everything in the previous posts is true. Lovely B&B, pretty convenient location, and warm hosts. My only detraction is that the proprietor would recall uncomfortable, albeit colorful, stories during breakfast. Examples you ask? Let's just say that crimes against children and women need not be mentioned at 8:30am even if you are severely denouncing them! Everyone has a right to voice their opinion, but cautionary tales and politics that might make your guests squirm are better left unmentioned.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2004

Great place. Room, food, and Staff all top rate. We extended our stay we liked it so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2004

We wanted to enjoy Yosemite, but the only time we could get away from our busy careers with our two children was right around Labor Day -- and to no surpise, everything in the Park was booked the weekend before, and the weekend of, Labor Day.

I found Yosemite Rose online and learned that they had a cottage available for the entire week. The cottage was lovely, and perfect for a relaxing, rejuvenating stay. It's close enough to Yosemite and the many other delights of the area, without being so close you feel smothered by all the people in Yosemite Valley.

While there, Don kindly offered to let my two children ride "Gyser" a 30+ year old former cattle horse that he and his wife had saved from being "destroyed." What an amazingly gentle horse -- my children were delighted!

We all had a wonderful time swimming, hiking, fishing (fishing pond was a short walk -- on the property), rick climbing, and --- of course -- riding Geyser.

I highly recommend the Yosemite Rose!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2004

Just came home after a vacation in California. Our 3-night stay at the Yosemite Rose Bed and Breakfast was certainly one of the best parts of the trip. It is a beautiful house located within a 30-min drive to the Yosemite park entrance. Our room (we stayed in Mary’s room) was very nicely furnished and meticulously clean. The delicious breakfasts were elegantly served on a screen porch outside the house. Most importantly, the owners (Key and Don) made us to feel as their friends and guests rather than just visitors. When Natasha mentioned her back pain problem that was threatening to spoil our vacation, our hosts did their best to help and found an excellent massage therapist (many thanks David!). Also, Key and Don’s wonderful dog Topy was a highlight of our stay – it took us on a very nice hike in the forest around the house. We will certainly stay again at Yosemite Rose and actually think about going there during the winter in a year or so for some cross-country skiing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2004

My wife and I were planning to camp at Yosemite National Park earlier this month but, at the last minute, decided to stay at an area bed & breakfast. We stumbled upon Yosemite Rose on the web and, after checking out the reviews on TripAdvisor, made reservations for three nights.

This is by far the nicest bed and breakfast at which we've stayed. It starts with the house, a gorgeous Victorian mansion on 210 acres less than 20 minutes from Yosemite. We stayed in the Cindy room (each room is named after and was designed by the owners' daughters), with a great bed and a very comfortable mattress. Every room was immaculate. The reading room, parlor, and billiards room are all beautiful, and there's even a "business center" with a dial-up Internet connection for guests.

What makes the Yosemite Rose special, however, is the people. Don and Kay were wonderful hosts and a host of grandchildren made the three days we stayed there feel like being with relatives. Kay's breakfasts were fantastic (the sausage stuffed with garlic and artichokes was my favorite) and a great to start off a day of hiking. The stray dogs and cats that Kay takes in are very friendly too!

The town of Groveland, less than ten minutes away, was charming- not tacky or touristy at all. We would highly recommend this b&b to anyone traveling to Yosemite!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Rose Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Rose Bed & Breakfast

Address: 22830 Ferretti Road, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Yosemite Rose Bed And Breakfast
Yosemite Rose Hotel Groveland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Rose Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.