We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful peaceful B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Rose Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yosemite Rose Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Yosemite Rose Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
22830 Ferretti Road, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Groveland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful peaceful B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent four nights at this wonderful B&B. The hosts could not have been more helpful, attentive or thoughtful.

Complimentary soft drinks, tea and coffee available all day, frequently accompanied by homemade Danish pastries or cakes. Choose a packed breakfast if you want an early start in Yosemite but you would miss out on Gary's delicious and varied cooked breakfasts. There are two lounges a snooker table and veranda for guests to enjoy.

The B&B is an hours drive from the route 120 entrance to Yosemite Park gate, two hours to the top of Glacier Point and one and a half hours to the Valley Centre. The drive in is very scenic, and we saw deer and coyotes so you won't miss out being a little further out.

There are plenty of places to eat in Groveland a ten minute drive from the B&B, including the Iron Door Saloon, reputedly the oldest drinking establishment in California.

Our room was beautifully clean and decorated, with an efficient and very quiet air conditioning system, although with opening and fly screened windows you might also opt for the fresh air too.

There is a peace and tranquility here that is worth seeking out and enjoying.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    20
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
98
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here while visiting Yosemite, it is about an hours drive to the valley floor. However the hospitality is simply astounding and the room we had was large and the bathroom was huge (we had Edwardo's room), a visit here is well worth the long drive to Yosemite. Breakfasts are served on the veranda and are just wonderful, Gary was doing the cooking while we were there and TJ served us all. We went for a 1.5 hour hike in Yosemite one day that turned out to be 6 hours and returned that evening exhausted and dirty. Celestia saw our pained expressions and offered to share their family dinner!! How's that for kindness!! We hope to return here one day.

Room Tip: Try and get a ground floor room if you have heavy cases, there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed two nights and can't think of any way in which our stay could have been improved. This is a very nice family owned and operated inn and we were made to feel very welcome. It is immaculately clean and very comfortable. There is wifi available which is very fast. Another nice feature, at least for us, is there is no TV in the room which makes a really nice change!! As in most of this whole area, there is no cell phone service but calls can be made in Groveland, which is about a ten minute drive.
We loved it and we will be back!!

Room Tip: We slept in the "Mary" room. Lovely room and a nice view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Sachsen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My fiance and I have spent our summer holidays 2012 touring California.

I had stayed in this wonderfull B&B two times before (it was then still a well kept secret) and it has never lost its charm over the years. In fact, whenever I visit California I now try to stop by and enjoy the serenity of the place for at least a couple of days.

When I visited together with my fiance we were most welcomed by the owners and everything was taken care of. We got information on hiking Yosemite, including good maps and hiking books, home-made cookies and the best pancakes we had on our whole trip - they were especially made for us on request of my fiance!

Coming to Yosemite Rose feels like coming home. You can engange in an in-depth discussion on how to make the perfect fried potatoes or just sit outside enjoying the garden view with a cold beverage in your hand. I will not comment much on the house itself and on the rooms. I have stayed in several rooms and the guest house and must say that all rooms have been just wonderful. It is a very peaceful and quiet place and after a few hours staying there you will relax, slow done and leave all the stress behind you.

If, after a day hiking, you still find yourself awake and not yet ready to fall asleep in your wonderful, cosy bed, go outside and have a look at the stars. The night sky is beautiful, especially if you are used to the big city night sky. But be aware! There is so much to do during the day that when you return to the Yosemite Rose and you sneak in to the living room to treat yourself with some freshly made chocolate cookies don't pass by your bedroom! You will immediately fall asleep in your bed before the sun sets and forget about star gazing at all.

Yosemite Rose is one of the places I always like to return to when traveling (which I do quite often, mostly for business). So if you haven't yet been there, give it a try. If you have been there, you know what I am talking about.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful and the pictures on the website don't do justice to the details that sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at the cottage. Based purely on the amenities I would have given this a 4, but the owners here really have a love for their property and treat guests well. That difference made me give this place a 5. It started with the hanta virus outbreak in Yosemite. Because we were traveling with a small child, we were concerned about the property and wrote the owners. They addressed our concerns with patience and thoughtfulness (hurray for the cats on the property!) and we were not disappointed by the cleanliness of the cottage. The cottage itself is small, with a full kitchen, washer and dryer, and master bed, and upstairs there are 3 additional bedrooms in a loft (access by an external stairs). It was perfect for our intergenerational family of 5. The cottage was nice and cozy, charmingly decorated, and had a variety of DVDs and VHS (no satellite reception on the TV). Everything was very clean, and we enjoyed making our evening dinners. The cottage does not get the breakfast from the main house. They have wifi in the main building but most mobile phones are in a dead zone here.

The property itself is very beautiful, though somewhat of a distance from the Yosemite Valley floor (1 hour) and from downtown Grovesland (20 minutes). There are horses on the property, The main house is quaint and the grounds rustic and relaxing. Grovesland itself is small but it has a supermarket, liquor store, some o.k. restaurants and a small playground for the kids. Given the hanta virus outbreak, we were very happy to be staying outside of the national park.

The owners welcomed us warmly and answered all of our questions about the area. But mostly importantly, we left behind some western photos we had taken at a nearby ghost town. The owners made sure that they got to us safely. Service makes a difference, and I wouldn't hesitate to come here again. The cottage layout is ideal for families.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamander Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

This stately home is situated on a working farm 2.7kms off the main access road to Yosemite National Park with the park gate around 40 minutes away.
There are five rooms upstairs all fitted out stylishly in period furniture with a bathroom with bath and over bath shower. There is a separate self catering cottage.. Unlike most B&B accommodation guests have almost exclusive use of the public areas including a well stocked library, pool room, piano room and a downstirs toilet.
There is a delightful screened verandah with separate tables for meals with an adjacent room with a large table for communal eating during cold periods.
The B& B is family owned and managed and everybody could not have been more helpful from welcoming tea and biscuits after a day's trekking in the park to allowing us to use their washing machine to get all clothes clean before we left.
Breakfasts are good with a different menu every day and it was nice to get a large pot of tea every morning - which was much needed!
There is a computer available and also WiFi which has intermittent reception. 3 G does not work and the owners have given up using mobile phones.
All in all staying at Yosemite Rose was a very satisfying experience.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This lovely and gracious spot made our vacation to Yosemite National Park so terrific. My husband and I stayed for 5 nights and drove to the Park each morning for hiking and exploring.
The home itself is just gorgeous and and the hosts, Kay and Don were wonderfully welcoming and helpful.
Our room was large and the bed so comfortable. After a long day hiking that bed was heaven on earth. All amenities in the bath were top notch. Furnishings throughout the home were lovely and to period.
As many reviewers before me have stated, the breakfasts each day were varied and just delicious.Gorgeous tables, a starter of fresh fruit, our own pot of coffee, and then onto the substantial meals themselves. One morning it was freshly brined filet of pork and fluffy scrambled eggs. Another it was a sort of breakfast 'cake' with cornmeal and eggs and sausage, lightly sauced with hollandaise. My plans to lose a couple pounds doing all that hiking....well you just try not to eat these goodiies!!
On the second day I stuck my head in the kitchen and asked if I could "have a mug instead of a coffee cup." "Of course" was their smiling reply. (I drink coffee by the vat.)
Most afternoons we came home to smiles and conversations. We learned so much about the area.
The morning team, the host's daughter and son-in-law were charming and attentive.
I have not one bad word to say about this spot.
We loved it and would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: No worries here.Each room is delightful, and the home itself,though it appears as an Italianate Vict...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite Rose Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Rose Bed & Breakfast

Address: 22830 Ferretti Road, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Yosemite Rose Bed And Breakfast
Yosemite Rose Hotel Groveland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Rose Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.