We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and friendly attitude Make the Difference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Rose Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yosemite Rose Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Yosemite Rose Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
22830 Ferretti Road, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Groveland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Service and friendly attitude Make the Difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at the cottage. Based purely on the amenities I would have given this a 4, but the owners here really have a love for their property and treat guests well. That difference made me give this place a 5. It started with the hanta virus outbreak in Yosemite. Because we were traveling with a small child, we were concerned about the property and wrote the owners. They addressed our concerns with patience and thoughtfulness (hurray for the cats on the property!) and we were not disappointed by the cleanliness of the cottage. The cottage itself is small, with a full kitchen, washer and dryer, and master bed, and upstairs there are 3 additional bedrooms in a loft (access by an external stairs). It was perfect for our intergenerational family of 5. The cottage was nice and cozy, charmingly decorated, and had a variety of DVDs and VHS (no satellite reception on the TV). Everything was very clean, and we enjoyed making our evening dinners. The cottage does not get the breakfast from the main house. They have wifi in the main building but most mobile phones are in a dead zone here.

The property itself is very beautiful, though somewhat of a distance from the Yosemite Valley floor (1 hour) and from downtown Grovesland (20 minutes). There are horses on the property, The main house is quaint and the grounds rustic and relaxing. Grovesland itself is small but it has a supermarket, liquor store, some o.k. restaurants and a small playground for the kids. Given the hanta virus outbreak, we were very happy to be staying outside of the national park.

The owners welcomed us warmly and answered all of our questions about the area. But mostly importantly, we left behind some western photos we had taken at a nearby ghost town. The owners made sure that they got to us safely. Service makes a difference, and I wouldn't hesitate to come here again. The cottage layout is ideal for families.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    20
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
100
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salamander Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

This stately home is situated on a working farm 2.7kms off the main access road to Yosemite National Park with the park gate around 40 minutes away.
There are five rooms upstairs all fitted out stylishly in period furniture with a bathroom with bath and over bath shower. There is a separate self catering cottage.. Unlike most B&B accommodation guests have almost exclusive use of the public areas including a well stocked library, pool room, piano room and a downstirs toilet.
There is a delightful screened verandah with separate tables for meals with an adjacent room with a large table for communal eating during cold periods.
The B& B is family owned and managed and everybody could not have been more helpful from welcoming tea and biscuits after a day's trekking in the park to allowing us to use their washing machine to get all clothes clean before we left.
Breakfasts are good with a different menu every day and it was nice to get a large pot of tea every morning - which was much needed!
There is a computer available and also WiFi which has intermittent reception. 3 G does not work and the owners have given up using mobile phones.
All in all staying at Yosemite Rose was a very satisfying experience.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This lovely and gracious spot made our vacation to Yosemite National Park so terrific. My husband and I stayed for 5 nights and drove to the Park each morning for hiking and exploring.
The home itself is just gorgeous and and the hosts, Kay and Don were wonderfully welcoming and helpful.
Our room was large and the bed so comfortable. After a long day hiking that bed was heaven on earth. All amenities in the bath were top notch. Furnishings throughout the home were lovely and to period.
As many reviewers before me have stated, the breakfasts each day were varied and just delicious.Gorgeous tables, a starter of fresh fruit, our own pot of coffee, and then onto the substantial meals themselves. One morning it was freshly brined filet of pork and fluffy scrambled eggs. Another it was a sort of breakfast 'cake' with cornmeal and eggs and sausage, lightly sauced with hollandaise. My plans to lose a couple pounds doing all that hiking....well you just try not to eat these goodiies!!
On the second day I stuck my head in the kitchen and asked if I could "have a mug instead of a coffee cup." "Of course" was their smiling reply. (I drink coffee by the vat.)
Most afternoons we came home to smiles and conversations. We learned so much about the area.
The morning team, the host's daughter and son-in-law were charming and attentive.
I have not one bad word to say about this spot.
We loved it and would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: No worries here.Each room is delightful, and the home itself,though it appears as an Italianate Vict...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at this wonderful B&B during our trip to Yosemite National Park. We are a family of four and Katherine gave us two lovely rooms at the end of the hall. The rooms are very nice, clean, and the beds are really comfortable. Breakfast was most excellent, something different each morning! Katherine and Don and their family that help run the inn are warm, friendly people who make you feel welcome and at home. Our younger daughter got bug bites and we hadn't brought anything to soothe it, so they brought out their supply! They were happy to answer any questions or make any recommendations asked. Katherine recommended Columbia State Park and our kids loved it. Yosemite Valley is about a one hour drive, but it is a beautiful drive, so even the kids didn't mind. We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, new york
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

WE stayed in the Katherine room for 2 nights. This was a pleasant stay. The place was clean, the toiletries were nice and the bed was comfortable. The highlight of our stay was the breakfast... Amazingly delicious and served by a friendly and gracious couple ( not the owners).. We enjoyed looking at the starry sky at night.. COuld not get wifi to work.. There was a computer available in a little room....however that was shutting down and just took too long shutting down that I gave up trying to wait for it to finish so I could try to reboot it.. No great problem for us, however, thought I'd mention it in case that is important to people. The other thing to note is that our room had no stand up shower. There is a jacuzzi, which we took turns sitting in and using the hand held device to "shower"...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a lovely house with well furnished rooms and great beds. The house contains a lot of family memorabilia and the owner gives a nice tour of the place when you arrive. Tea and cookies were available when we got in and then we had a delicious breakfast in the morning. We felt well taken care of and comfortable. I would've liked a little more info. on Yosemite- there were pretty books, but a book with some more practical info. would have been helpful, or a typed list of the b and b owners' suggestions.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Decided to follow fellow tripadvisors recommendations this trip and was not disappointed, thank you. This lovely B&B is close to the entrance of Yosemite and is the perfect place to stay. Wonderful room, no television or telephone and delicious breakfasts. The family are warm and welcoming and make you feel at home. You can also take Bob (the dog ) for a walk to see the horses.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Yosemite Rose Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Rose Bed & Breakfast

Address: 22830 Ferretti Road, Groveland, CA 95321
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Yosemite Rose Hotel Groveland
Yosemite Rose Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Rose Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.