We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Riverside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite Riverside Inn to your Saves list
Yosemite Riverside Inn
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11399 Cherry Lake Road, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Groveland B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mixed stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed in a hotel room here. The room was poor/average - not much room, so-so beds, thin scratchy towels, a strange layout. Worst thing was super-thin curtains so the glow from the outside lights poured in and made it really hard for my children and I to sleep. It's also further from Groveland than I'd expected so you need to keep driving back there to get groceries or a meal (next time I'd try and stay in the town which seemed really nice). On the plus side - a lovely setting, children's playground, breakfast offering was pretty good (although you'll probably need to supplement if you're planning on hiking in Yosemite and there aren't many chairs) and lady at reception was very friendly (man is not). Overall maybe a 2.5 rating for me - I wouldn't recommend as a first choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    20
    28
    38
See reviews for
37
46
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a $40 a night accomodation that charges $125+. It is situated on a "riverside" that is more like a sewage ditch. It is close to Yosemite National Park and other outdoor attractions. The towels are like sandpaper and if you arrive after 9PM the inn-keeper is upset that you arrived so late. There are no snack machines for anyone who hasn't eaten and no stores for miles so bring food with you. The drink machine only takes coins and if you have to wake the inn keeper up for change, he will be again pissed. You will either like it or you won't but for the price, this place is a rip-off.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This review is for the hotel room, not the cabin. My wife and I stayed here last summer. The room was nothing special so don't expect 5 stars hotel. Everything about this place was dated. The TV, bed, sink, etc. But the best thing was the scenic view and the river...so beautiful. We needed a place to stay, shower, and sleep. This place more than meet our needs and the price was right. Plus there was a decent breakfast as well. I will definitely stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This camping style B&B is located 20 mins to the Yosemite west gate. Rooms quite old and bath very, but all is clean and low budget. I would have preferred a location in the park, definitely less cheap.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Worst stay of our trip across America. My husband and I chose this place as it was close to the Yosemite national park. It wasn't worth the money at all. There was no privacy for starters anybody could see right through the window in the front door (bedroom) and also through the bathroom window. When we first got there I couldn't even use the bathroom because there were a group of maintenance guys working right outside the window. I eventually used one of their old towels to block out the window. Another problem was the bathroom sink and shower weren't cleaned there was hair and shavings in both. The airconditioner stopped working after an hour and the maintenance guys started banging away at 6:45 the next morning right outside our cabin.
Another thing watch that you don't leave any dirty dishes or they'll charge you an extra cleaning fee.
Don't bother staying here there are a few motels and a lodge just down the road, check them out instead, oh and watch for the broken glass in the picture frame above the bed head.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Very disappointing in all aspects. The 3-bedroom room was advertised as “deluxe”. Instead the room was very, very basic – the tiles in the shower were broken, the sheets had holes, only one of the small rooms had air-conditioning – all for $300 a night. However the worst aspect was the attitude of the owner. For example one morning – the breakfast person did not arrive at 7:30 to open up – so that day no breakfast was served. The comment from management was “ no one else got breakfast also– she is usually dependable – that’s the way it goes” (no apology). There were other issues such as the promised good Wi-Fi, and outdoor amenities, etc. So please beware and consider the Yosemite Riverside as an overpriced run-down hotel – with poor attitude.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a fairly large group and stayed in the "Executive Suite", mainly because there was no where else to go. The setting along the river was really pretty but the place itself is pretty run down. It was a really warm day and the air conditioner wasn't working (which the management knew about but didn't tell us), so my husband went to the office to negotiate down our price - which they did. The overhead fan in our room was really noisy - one of our friends (a maintenance guy) said it was hooked up wrong. The San Jose family camp is right next door, so in the afternoon you can hear the camp counselors screaming through the bull horns as the kids do their activities. The breakfast was pretty skimpy considering how much money we paid. This place has SO much potential, but is currently not worth the money. Luckily we only stayed one night. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
8.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
14.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,417 reviews
23.0 mi away
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 2,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
3.1 mi away
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
#4 of 6 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 stars 584 reviews
24.5 mi away
Curry Village
Curry Village
#5 of 26 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Riverside Inn

Address: 11399 Cherry Lake Road, Groveland, CA 95321
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Riverside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Yosemite Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Riverside Hotel Groveland
Hotel Yosemite Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Riverside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.