We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Managers from hell” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Pines RV Resort and Family Lodging

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yosemite Pines RV Resort and Family Lodging
Save
You added Yosemite Pines RV Resort and Family Lodging to your Saves list
20450 Old Highway 120, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
Hotel amenities
San Jose
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Managers from hell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

What a traumatic experience! We decided to spend 2 nights at their Luxury Cabin with another family for the weekend. We were told that if we arrived after 5pm, the cabin would be unlocked and the key to the cabin would be left inside the cabin. However, when we arrived at 6:30pm, we found that the cabin was locked, there were no keys, and there were nobody around to help us. We tried to call the number on the check-in brochure multiple times, but only got the answering machine. It was getting dark. Everyone was hungry, tired and cold. The little kids in the group were beginning to make a fuss. It took us almost half an hour to get hold of someone on the phone. Finally, the person arrived with the key. Everybody was understandably upset about the whole situation. So I went up to the guy with the keys (turns out that he was living on site, but there was no sign on the front door telling us where to find him in case of emergency) and said; "What's going on here? We are freezing out here, this is unacceptable!" Instead of a proper explanation (or an apology for the mix up), he immediately started defending himself, saying that it was none of his business and the mistake was made by somebody else. He demanded an apology from us, which I of course refused. He then locked up the cabin again to lock the whole group out of the cabin once more! By then the temperature has dropped further, where are we going to find place to stay at this hour? Considering that we were a big group and the little children in the group won't be able to take all the hassle of having to find alternative places to stay, I had to apologize to him on the spot. Still he was fuming and refused to let us have the key. He told us that the woman who messed up was also on site, and we should go speak to her instead. This woman turned out to be his wife. The couple are the managers for the "resort" and they insisted that it was not their fault that we were locked out, because it was their receptionist who forgot to put our paper into a certain folder. When I reminded him that since he's the boss, he should take responsibility for his employees mistakes, he angrily walked off again. Luckily, the wife was more reasonable. She let us have the cabin back and offered a free stay in the future (which we are not going to use). Our whole ordeal was witnessed by another group staying at a neighboring cabin. They were felt angry for us and were about to call for the cops. Had this incident involved someone other than a mom with 2 young kids, imagine a young man with a hot temper, the situation could have easily gotten out of hand. Yosemite Pines is managed by the company Team RV. I tried to call them but have not been able to get a response so far. We will never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcroce, Guest Relations Manager at Yosemite Pines RV Resort and Family Lodging, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
First we would like to apologize that you went through this experience. The only reason the manger did not open the door for your group was because you did not have your reservation conformation. You had accidently left it in the office when you tried to check in early that day. On behalf of the company, we are terribly sorry that this happen. But, we do confirm all reservation for the safety of our guests.
The after hour’s emergency phone number is posted above pay phone and the on-site manager’s residence is marked on map by front door with Private Residence. We did not think this was an issue since the gentleman with you called the after hour’s phone number using the pay phone in front of office.
Again we apologize and hope that you were able to enjoy your accommodation once you were in the unit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    58
    20
    21
    33
See reviews for
95
32
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emeryville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Location: near enough to Yosemite to spend a great day in the park. Indeed, close enough that we drove through Yosemite Park on Tioga Pass all the way to Bodie State Historic Park on the Eastern side of the Sierras and made it back in time for supper.

Cabin: We got the groupon for $89 for two nights, which was a great value. But not sure the standard cabin at the usual rate would be worth it. It was tight in there, at less than 200 square feet for the entire cabin! Was wondering if the RV's around us were in more spacious digs than ours. And the use of space wasn't the most effective--the twin bunk bed should have been a Murphy style bed. We loved the soap and toiletries, though!

Concerns for safety: So the staff mentions that they leave for the night at 7 pm. No one was around to enforce the no-campfires rule (remember the Rim Fire?) or help out in an emergency. I saw another campsite burning a wood fire, and was woken up several times in the middle of the night by other campers ignoring the quiet time rule. According to their pamphlet, Yosemite Pines suggests you call 911 in an emergency. But there is no cell phone coverage in the camp, no landline, and no staff on location after hours. I wonder if the local fire officials are aware of this dangerous practice.

Boo on this: They advertise as dog-friendly, but although they didn't post any signs, no dogs are allowed with you when you go into the office to register. Instead, they post a sour-looking employee to turn doggies away at the door!

Double boo on this: I was looking for weeks at the lovely pictures of the swimming pool at the resort, and when we visited, the weather was in the high 70's, perfect for relaxing by the pool. But on arrival the pool area was locked up; the staff said because the water was cold. Turned away in my swimming suit. :-*(

Room Tip: get the largest cabin you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Really enjoyed staying in their cabin. Was clean, well-stocked and well-maintained. Nice nature trail to hike. Convenient to Yosemite, too. Wi-Fi didn't exactly work at our cabin but it was actually peaceful to be unplugged for a couple days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

First point to make is that this place is not really anywhere near Yosemite valley. On the plus side the local bus - the YART - stops right outside - but takes an hour and a half to get to the park. Having said that this is a nice location and good for RVs with full hook-ups and good facilities. Friendly staff and other residents make for a pleasant stay. A small shop with very limited supplies and a small cafe do add to the experience.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We rented a cozy cabin for a few days and loved it. The place is five minutes outside of Groveland and about a half an hour away from the North gate of Yosemite. The facility had a small general store, a deli, swimming pool, petting zoo, Friday & Saturday Night hayrides and it is dog friendly. The staff is very friendly and all of the guests were kind & respectful. This is a great place to camp/RV. My only suggestion is for the place to plant more trees, for more privacy & to help with the summer dust.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed for only one night, but we're already planning our return for a longer stay. The staff is friendly and helpful. The facility is quaint and what you'd expect for a mountain lodging. We stayed at a deluxe cabin which had just enough room for our family of 6. The kids loved the playground and the animals in the little petting zoo. The only negative thing we experienced was the overwhelming sewer smell when down by the playground/pool area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here on a group tour in 2011 whilst visiting Yosemite. We were lucky to stay in a 'Yurt', which was a highlight of our trip. It has basic facilities, but was very comfortable and it was an enjoyable stay. It was cold at night despite stay mid-winter, so pack warm clothes and get a fire crackling after dark! It was so much fun - I'd love to bring my kids back here one day!

Room Tip: Stay in a Yurt for a different and highly enjoyable experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Pines RV Resort and Family Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Pines RV Resort and Family Lodging

Address: 20450 Old Highway 120, Groveland, CA 95321
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a 30-minute scenic drive from the western park entrance, Yosemite Pines offers visitors a variety of Yosemite area lodging options when seeking lodging near Yosemite National Park. Whether you’re looking for Yosemite cabin rentals, yurt rentals, tent camping sites or RV sites, we have what you need at affordable prices. Additionally, we offer our guests a wide range of amenities to enjoy without leaving our grounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yosemite Pines Rv Resort And Family Lodging Hotel Groveland
Yosemite Pine Rv Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Pines RV Resort and Family Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.