We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couldn't be any better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins
Save
You added Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins to your Saves list
33569 Hardin Flat Road, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Clear Lake City, Texas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“couldn't be any better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This place really is as amazing as all of these reviews say.! Don't doubt it! We took our first trip to Yosemite in July, 2013, and stayed in the Larkspur cabin. It is,so peaceful,,it's really hard to imagine until you've been there. We were able to exhaust ourselves with hikes in the park, and return to our cabin with such ease. Returning to the cabin was such a welcome reprieve. Lauren and Bill ARE as friendly as these reviews say. Lauren knows so much about Yosemite, she can help you plan any adventure you wish. They also have two lovely dogs with whom you will fall in love. Especially the beautiful Yoda. The black lab will help ensure your sense of peace, as well.

We've already planned our return trip for next summer, taking our two daughters to revel in the beauty of Yosemite. Words cannot express how happy we are that these cabins were saved from the fire.

If you stay here, take advice and stock up,on groceries. Also, be sure to print out the map to the cabins. It is very difficult to find the without the map, and cell/internet service is extremely limited. Print the map.

Room Tip: couples.. larkspur or sugar pine... families..meadowlark... they're all great, though
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
59
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We originally tried to find accommodation in the park but it was way out of our price range. These cabins are not cheap but they are far better value than anything inside the park, and so close by...really just a couple of miles from the entrance.

The hosts - Lauren and Bill were very friendly and welcoming. Lauren was extremely helpful in recommending some of the best hikes in the park and we did them all. Lauren really is a lovely warm person who one could chat to all day, My partner got on well with Bill and enjoyed chatting to him in the workshop. he was most helpful in pointing out beautiful swimming holes nearby.

The cabin itself was a real delight, beautifully presented, and rustic in a most comfortable way. The bed was very luxurious with high quality linens. There were toiletries provided and a range of hot drinks too. The cabin was well equipped for cooking and also had a bbq, with charcoal provided. There are also numerous books and hiking guides for the park. The cabin is located near the owners house and flanked by trees, in a tranquil woodland setting.

We were surprised when we read the negative reviews about the workshop ( woodwork) however it is not a problem at all. There was no noise from it and in fact, Lauren had said that if at any time, we wanted peace, she would ensure the work was halted. There wasnt any sound and the workshop itself is quite quaint, If you dont want to look at it, you can sit around the other side of the cabin

We highly recommended this place and would love to return. It was our first anniversary here and we have said if we have a child, we will definitely come here for their first bday!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

the location of this property is great, its just outside the gate to the park and without the over inflated price tag of the properties in yosemite valley.

the cabin was comfortable and clean, and the setting is fantastic, surrounded by woods and wildlife,

Our daughter adored the owners pet dog Yoda and we all enjoyed the peace and tranquility

we hope to visit yosemite again and would stay at the Sunset inn without hesitiation

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, CA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed here about 8 yrs ago in December... we went into Yosemite for the annual Lords & Ladies Dinner they have at the Ahwahnee Hotel. This was such a perfect location, clean; friendly owners. I could not ask for a better place outside the Park. I have tried to get in here twice and our timing was last minute and all booked up. Perhaps this year we might make it back. Looking forward to another visit to this quaint place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful time at the Sunset Inn. Bill and Lauren were very friendly, conversational, and knowledgeable of the area (they even knew a place for us to watch our Hawks win the Stanley Cup not too far away :)). We had the Sugar Pine cabin, which was perfectly cosy for two. The cabin was clean, with wonderful soap and fresh linens, and the local coffee excellent. The location is great with only a few minute drive from the Big Oak Flat entrance, giving relatively quick access to the high country and Valley. Next time we come back, we'll be bringing our children and renting a bigger cabin!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I spent 8 days in June at Sunset Inn. Since our niece and her friend joined us for four nights we stayed in the Meadowlark cabin which fit the four of us very comfortably, We have no complaints at all about our stay. We loved it here and we're sorry when it was time to leave. The owners were warm, friendly and helpful. Enjoyed talking to them, learning all about raising chickens and what it's like to live in the mountains and so near to Yosemite. The cabin was clean, well maintained and nicely furnished. We were especially pleased with the well-equipped kitchen which allowed us to prepare all of our own meals and avoid the usual tourist fare in the park eateries. And the location is lovely! After long days of hiking in Yosemite we really enjoyed evenings on the porch looking out at the meadow and surrounding pines and watching the sun set and the stars come out. We didn't mind the thirty or forty minute drive to Yosemite Valley or Tuolumne Meadows. We were glad to leave the noise and crowds in the campgrounds and return to our peaceful, secluded and quiet abode. If we are ever able to revisit Yosemite we would definitely stay at Sunset Inn again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

As most tend to do these days, my husband and I checked out numerous lodging choices we had when we decided to visit Yosemite via the Internet. While I had visited the park and stayed in Curry Village in 2009, our aim this time was to experience both the village and then, the privacy and quiet of a cabin.
We came upon The Sunset Inn's website and were immediately sold.
Of course, we were concerned about the drive into the village-the gas, the expense, and the length of it-but in the end, this drive was one of our favorite parts of our stay. In order to keep this drive financially manageable, we parked in the first lot available and left our car while we discovered the shops and other spots that tickled our fancy on foot.
In the days of our stay at The Sunset Inn, we found ourselves returning to our Sugar Pine oasis earlier and earlier; talking to Lauren and Bill, probably overusing their barbeque, and overall, gloriously relaxing, enjoying their dogs' visits, the sounds of the chickens on their property-just taking in the beauty of nature.
The Sugar Pine cabin was a perfect choice for two-not too much space, but just enough. The kitchen was amazingly stocked; opening cupboards and drawers always contained a pleasant surprise...They've thought of absolutely everything!
Now if someone has need of something unusual, I am certain that Lauren and Bill would go out of their way to provide it or give advice on how to acquire 'said thing' ;)
We live in Bishop, California, only 200 miles to Yosemite, and plan to revisit The Sunset Inn often, can't imagine Yosemite without it!

Room Tip: On their website, Lauren and Bill have described the cabins in detail, taking into account the size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins

Address: 33569 Hardin Flat Road, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Inn is a small, family owned and operated lodging. Three beautiful, cozy cabins offer king or queen beds, equipped kitchens, private bathrooms, wood burning stoves and sun porches. Located just 2 miles from Yosemite National Park, in a peaceful mountain setting, surrounded by huge aromatic pines, on the edge of a lovely private meadow. A stay at Sunset Inn is a true mountain getaway. We also offer a fabulous vacation home nearby, privately situated on the banks of the Tuolumne River, able to accommodate up to 6 people. We invite you to visit and enjoy this unique experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Groveland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.