We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic living near Yosemite Valley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins
33569 Hardin Flat Road, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rustic living near Yosemite Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Booked their cabin for 3-4 people. Very cosy, more for a small family than a group of 4, but very cute with handmade accents everywhere. Kitchen was well equipped, beds were comfortable, shower was hot.
It is a bit of a drive from Yosemite Valley proper (but probably one of the nearest places outside Yosemite Valley), and the nearest town for cooked meals is about 1/2 hour away, but Lauren and co. very nicely prepares you for this with an in-depth write-up of what to expect. They also provided us with a friendly welcome and send-off. Loved playing with their very friendly dogs too, and getting a peek into country life.
Although we didn't spend much time in Sunset Inn itself (too busy trekking and exploring Yosemite) it definitely looks like a great place to just chill, and a good base for exploring more of Yosemite inside and outside the valley.
You can definitely see the sunset from Sunset Inn by the way!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
55
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We absolutely loved this sweet cabin right outside of Yosemite. The cabin and property creates instantaneous peace and tranquility. The hosts are friendly and helpful, but they also allow you to feel as though you are off in the woods alone. The cabin has all that you could possibly need: comfortable bed, wood stove, well-stocked kitchen, large shower, Yosemite resources, etc. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a great time at the Sunset Inn! We went in mid-February for a romantic weekend.

We stayed at the sugarpine cabin. It was very warm and cozy. The log stove kept the place nice. The kitchen was very well equipped with all the pots and dishes we needed. It was actually very pleasant to cook there. There was even tea and coffee with sugar and creamer, and some spices for cooking. Everything was very clean! I mean, truly clean. I couldn't find a trace of the previous occupants anywhere.

Although the cabins are pretty close to each other and the hosts' house, we had plenty of privacy. We could play some music at night (at respectful levels) and talk and laugh and we couldn't really hear ourselves from outside (we checked). We couldn't hear our neighbors at all. Nice bathroom with nice hot showers! True, the front deck does look out on a work shed. But, we didn't spend much time on the deck since it was cold outside anyway. It was a great place to just stay inside and enjoy each other's company.

Getting there was easy (definitely follow the directions on the sunset inn site). There was just a little snow on the ground, so we didn't even need snow chains or anything, but I could imagine that you might need them after a big snowfall.

The innkeeper Lauren was very helpful! She lent us some snowshoes and gave us some tips for where to go in Yosemite. Staying here put us only 15 minutes away from some great trails. She and her husband even offered to lend us some sleds and told us where we could find some hills. And they have really friendly, well-behaved dogs. They seemed to genuinely want us to have a good time.

It was a great place for a low-key getaway. The hosts are great resources to have in the area. I wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Sugarpine cabin is great for a couple. It would have been way too crowded for a 3rd person. No mic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

What more can one ask for? Quiet, very comfy cabin (no TV), excellent king bed and is very close to west entrance to Yosemite. Approximately 25 or so miles from the Yosemite Valley floor. Note: The scenery makes the drive worth every minute on way i!

Lauren greeted us as we arrived. Made us feel welcome and ensured we had everything needed for our adventure into the park.

The Larkspur cabin is perfect for two maybe three people. We wish we could have stayed longer but plan on going back again soon.



1/12/13

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a great vacation exploring Yosemite and the cabins at Sunset Inn were perfect. Set on Lauren and Bill's quiet and secluded land, the cabins were everything we were hoping for and more. Fresh eggs in the morning! An amazing wood oven that heated up the cabin in minutes! Wonderful hospitality and great suggestions for local hikes!

A caveat-while the cabins are very close to the park boundary, the Valley is a ways away. If you are planning on spending lots of time in the Valley know there will be some travel time. We were able to go to the Valley twice in four days. But if like us you want to send time at Hetch Hetchy or elsewhere in the park (Northern rim, Tioga Rd) this is a great place to launch off from.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Best weekend getaway we've ever had. We could not have had a better experience. The place is very quiet and clean. Attention to detail is amazing. The hosts are extremely nice and helpful. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We are a retired couple who spent 3 October nights in the Larkspur cabin. It was one of the top highlights of our two weeks in San Francisco and Yosemite Park, and was well worth it. It was a great place to relax and enjoy nature at her best and is very close to the park entrance. The owners are friendly and work hard to make your Sunset Inn experience enjoyable and comfortable. The cabin was clean, fully stocked with kitchen necessities including a toaster oven and microwave, eating utensils, nice bedding, books and games for a rainy day, a fireplace, a small cooler to use in your car, and even a tour book of Yosemite for your use. It is an ideal place to begin or end your trip to Yosemite!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins

Address: 33569 Hardin Flat Road, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty lodging in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Inn is a small, family owned and operated lodging. Three beautiful, cozy cabins offer king or queen beds, equipped kitchens, private bathrooms, wood burning stoves and sun porches. Located just 2 miles from Yosemite National Park, in a peaceful mountain setting, surrounded by huge aromatic pines, on the edge of a lovely private meadow. A stay at Sunset Inn is a true mountain getaway. We also offer a fabulous vacation home nearby, privately situated on the banks of the Tuolumne River, able to accommodate up to 6 people. We invite you to visit and enjoy this unique experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Groveland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins to your Saves list