We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins
Save
You added Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins to your Saves list
33569 Hardin Flat Road, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Ramon, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Best weekend getaway we've ever had. We could not have had a better experience. The place is very quiet and clean. Attention to detail is amazing. The hosts are extremely nice and helpful. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
57
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We are a retired couple who spent 3 October nights in the Larkspur cabin. It was one of the top highlights of our two weeks in San Francisco and Yosemite Park, and was well worth it. It was a great place to relax and enjoy nature at her best and is very close to the park entrance. The owners are friendly and work hard to make your Sunset Inn experience enjoyable and comfortable. The cabin was clean, fully stocked with kitchen necessities including a toaster oven and microwave, eating utensils, nice bedding, books and games for a rainy day, a fireplace, a small cooler to use in your car, and even a tour book of Yosemite for your use. It is an ideal place to begin or end your trip to Yosemite!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in the Larkspur Cabin in early October while visiting Yosemite. I've summarized the pluses and minuses below:
+ The location. The Sunset Inn is less than 5 miles from the entrance to Yosemite.
+ The owners are very friendly.
+ Everything in the cabin is functional.
+ The cabin seemed clean.
- It is rustic. This isn't the Ritz-Carlton,Sheraton or Hampton Inn.
- There is no air-conditioning in the cabin. The first night was very warm. There is a fan that made it manageable.
- The shower is very tiny.
From time to time, we stay at cabins like this. The part that was surprising was the price....$190 per night for this? Maybe that is what lodgings cost around Yosemite?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Inn, Owner at Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Denverlisa,

Thanks for your review. While we may not like to read any downbeat comments, we do appreciate it every time a guest takes a moment to share their perspective. This affords us the opportunity to improve the Sunset Inn experience for future guests, so we thank you!

Based on our costs, our rates are among the lowest in the area, for similar lodging. We do encourage you to shop around, keeping in mind this is California, and the Yosemite ‘resort’ region. Everything is more expensive here, including our costs. And as you’ve noted, our cabins are kept very clean. This is owing to housekeepers who take pride in their work, are well paid, and appreciated.

Indeed this is not the Ritz-Carlton, in fact that is usually why our guests choose to stay with us. They are looking for an alternative to the generic hotel experience; a charming cabin in the woods, in a rustic, natural setting. The best part is that our cabins are beautiful, clean, and situated in a peaceful, secluded location, just 2 miles outside Yosemite. Certainly not for everyone, Sunset Inn offers an authentic mountain environment to enhance your Yosemite experience.

Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. It's cozy , quiet, and comfortable. If you are used to the Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton, you may be disappointed. No one will leave a mint on your pillow,but the friendly dog might stop by.You can probably get a few fresh eggs and good advice from Lauren or Bill,and a wake up call from the resident rooster.If you plan on doing most of Yosemite, then this is an excellent choice location wise- we thought of staying in the Valley,but are glad we chose the Sunset Inn...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Lots of amenities we didn't expect in the Meadow Lark Cabin. Just about anything you could need for cooking, making lunches and enjoying your Yosemite stay. The cabin had a small cooler, an air conditioner (it was hot in late afternoon, even in September), coffee for the coffee maker, tea, sugar, microwave, toaster, every kind of cookware. What a huge help! Bathroom was also equipped just like a hotel room. We enjoyed fresh eggs and even some tomatoes from Lauren's garden. They also had charcoal for our use in the grille. I think they thought of everything. We appreciated the comfortable beds and extra pillows. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinesburg, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sunset Inn which was a short drive to many great hiking opportunities in Yosemite. Lauren and Bill were instrumental in helping us plan one of our hiking days. Their property had access to several hiking trails in the Stanislaus National Forest also. The Larkspur cabin was lovely, especially the large deck. It was so nice having a homey cabin with a yard to come back to every day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Larkspur, its a beautiful cottage with everything you need. The location is perfect from yosemite. We were more than pleased we chose sunset inn, owners were very welcoming. The quite location, stars at night, and simplicity is amazing, beautiful place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins

Address: 33569 Hardin Flat Road, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Inn is a small, family owned and operated lodging. Three beautiful, cozy cabins offer king or queen beds, equipped kitchens, private bathrooms, wood burning stoves and sun porches. Located just 2 miles from Yosemite National Park, in a peaceful mountain setting, surrounded by huge aromatic pines, on the edge of a lovely private meadow. A stay at Sunset Inn is a true mountain getaway. We also offer a fabulous vacation home nearby, privately situated on the banks of the Tuolumne River, able to accommodate up to 6 people. We invite you to visit and enjoy this unique experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Groveland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.