We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins
33569 Hardin Flat Road, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Ramon, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Best weekend getaway we've ever had. We could not have had a better experience. The place is very quiet and clean. Attention to detail is amazing. The hosts are extremely nice and helpful. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
55
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We are a retired couple who spent 3 October nights in the Larkspur cabin. It was one of the top highlights of our two weeks in San Francisco and Yosemite Park, and was well worth it. It was a great place to relax and enjoy nature at her best and is very close to the park entrance. The owners are friendly and work hard to make your Sunset Inn experience enjoyable and comfortable. The cabin was clean, fully stocked with kitchen necessities including a toaster oven and microwave, eating utensils, nice bedding, books and games for a rainy day, a fireplace, a small cooler to use in your car, and even a tour book of Yosemite for your use. It is an ideal place to begin or end your trip to Yosemite!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in the Larkspur Cabin in early October while visiting Yosemite. I've summarized the pluses and minuses below:
+ The location. The Sunset Inn is less than 5 miles from the entrance to Yosemite.
+ The owners are very friendly.
+ Everything in the cabin is functional.
+ The cabin seemed clean.
- It is rustic. This isn't the Ritz-Carlton,Sheraton or Hampton Inn.
- There is no air-conditioning in the cabin. The first night was very warm. There is a fan that made it manageable.
- The shower is very tiny.
From time to time, we stay at cabins like this. The part that was surprising was the price....$190 per night for this? Maybe that is what lodgings cost around Yosemite?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Inn, Owner at Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Denverlisa,

Thanks for your review. While we may not like to read any downbeat comments, we do appreciate it every time a guest takes a moment to share their perspective. This affords us the opportunity to improve the Sunset Inn experience for future guests, so we thank you!

Based on our costs, our rates are among the lowest in the area, for similar lodging. We do encourage you to shop around, keeping in mind this is California, and the Yosemite ‘resort’ region. Everything is more expensive here, including our costs. And as you’ve noted, our cabins are kept very clean. This is owing to housekeepers who take pride in their work, are well paid, and appreciated.

Indeed this is not the Ritz-Carlton, in fact that is usually why our guests choose to stay with us. They are looking for an alternative to the generic hotel experience; a charming cabin in the woods, in a rustic, natural setting. The best part is that our cabins are beautiful, clean, and situated in a peaceful, secluded location, just 2 miles outside Yosemite. Certainly not for everyone, Sunset Inn offers an authentic mountain environment to enhance your Yosemite experience.

Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We've stayed here 4 times, and in each of the three cabins available.

4 return visits, I guess, speak for themselves. It's a wonderful place to stay: right on the edge of the National park, a beautiful setting, lovely hosts, and wonderful comfortable and authentic cabins.

Highly recommended.

John & Lizzie, Nottingham, UK

Room Tip: All three cabins are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. It's cozy , quiet, and comfortable. If you are used to the Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton, you may be disappointed. No one will leave a mint on your pillow,but the friendly dog might stop by.You can probably get a few fresh eggs and good advice from Lauren or Bill,and a wake up call from the resident rooster.If you plan on doing most of Yosemite, then this is an excellent choice location wise- we thought of staying in the Valley,but are glad we chose the Sunset Inn...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Lots of amenities we didn't expect in the Meadow Lark Cabin. Just about anything you could need for cooking, making lunches and enjoying your Yosemite stay. The cabin had a small cooler, an air conditioner (it was hot in late afternoon, even in September), coffee for the coffee maker, tea, sugar, microwave, toaster, every kind of cookware. What a huge help! Bathroom was also equipped just like a hotel room. We enjoyed fresh eggs and even some tomatoes from Lauren's garden. They also had charcoal for our use in the grille. I think they thought of everything. We appreciated the comfortable beds and extra pillows. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinesburg, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sunset Inn which was a short drive to many great hiking opportunities in Yosemite. Lauren and Bill were instrumental in helping us plan one of our hiking days. Their property had access to several hiking trails in the Stanislaus National Forest also. The Larkspur cabin was lovely, especially the large deck. It was so nice having a homey cabin with a yard to come back to every day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins

Address: 33569 Hardin Flat Road, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty lodging in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Inn is a small, family owned and operated lodging. Three beautiful, cozy cabins offer king or queen beds, equipped kitchens, private bathrooms, wood burning stoves and sun porches. Located just 2 miles from Yosemite National Park, in a peaceful mountain setting, surrounded by huge aromatic pines, on the edge of a lovely private meadow. A stay at Sunset Inn is a true mountain getaway. We also offer a fabulous vacation home nearby, privately situated on the banks of the Tuolumne River, able to accommodate up to 6 people. We invite you to visit and enjoy this unique experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Groveland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins to your Saves list