We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel on the way to Yosemite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charlotte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Charlotte to your Saves list
Hotel Charlotte
18736 Main St, PO Box 787, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Riverside, California
1 review
“A nice hotel on the way to Yosemite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I spent one night there when we visited Yosemite. The place is quiet. Both the bedroom and the bathroom are clean. The breakfast is nice. The overall experience is more like living at home rather than in a hotel. The only concern is the wooden floor in the bathroom. This makes us really careful to avoid wetting the floor seriously.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    175
    40
    28
    7
See reviews for
100
272
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in one of the Hotel's rental homes on the Pine Mountain resort nearby. It was a perfect base for visiting Yosemite and added a new dimension to our visit. The house was very comfortable but the resort was amazing. As soon as you drive onto the resort you see deer and it also has a great lake for swimming in as well as a swimming pool. If you are a golfer all the better as a golf course runs through the resort. It was beautiful. We stayed 2 nights and the first morning we awoke to a stag on our patio! What a beautiful sight.
Groveland itself is historic with the oldest saloon bar in California. We ate there and there was a great atmosphere and the food was good. Hotel Charlotte food was also excellent.
We are so glad that we didn't stay inside the Yosemite park as the main village seemed really overcrowded and the accommodation was expensive and not great quality. This way we were also part way for our journey back to the California coast too.
The staff were excellent and helped us to plan our journey when we left, printing off directions for us.

Room Tip: Consider staying on their Pine Mountain resort rentals rather than the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a great experience staying here on 10/2. It could have been a bummer of a first day because we were on our way to Yosemite but the park was closed. Fortunately staying here made it all better with a fun filled first night. Jenn and Doug are really interactive, interested, and fun hosts. The bar is a really nice area to hang out and visit with Doug who bartends. He was full of helpful information on alternative things to do since the park was shut down. We had tapas and some drinks on the upstairs porch upon arrival. The Brussels sprouts were yummy as were the deviled eggs with salmon and dates. The rooms are nicely done and the bed in room 10 was super comfy making for a good nights sleep. After dinner, we returned to the bar area for a night cap and found it filled with people because it was trivia night. Breakfast was served in the bar area and was just the right things to start the day...eggs, sausage, pancakes, yogurt, granola, cereals, juice, toast. Lots of choices. Eric cooked the breakfast and insisted because the eggs were cooked with love that's why they were so good. Their coffee is really good also! I encourage you to check this hotel out. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrea Green, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel had a character which grew on you with an excellent breakfast. Some problems we had with the booking agent were dealt with promptly and efficiently . Groveland itself was very limited and virtually everything closed by 22,00- which is a challenge if just arriving then . The hotel itself could give clearer instructions on the evenings its own bar/restaurant are closed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

The folks at this wonderful boutique hotel in Groveland welcomed me with warm hospitality. It's most definitely a fine go-to rest stop that sees many Yosemite travelers. I must have heard 4 different languages in spoken conversation in the lobby area and dining room bar at once. A very enriching experience that I look forward to becoming a regular at with each trip out to Yosemite.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at The Charlotte hotel around New Year and absolutely loved it, the staff were friendly and accommodating, the hotel itself has an authentic old world charm, it's quaint and homely and has a lovely history to it. Great for access to Yosemite park especially in the winter as it's out of the valley so you can avoid getting snowed in. It's also really good value for money. All round a memorable and delightful experience, We'd happily stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Charlotte in August 2013 and our visit unfortunately coincided with the recent fires. This meant that the Hotel was very busy accommodating evacuees, firefighters and news crews and we had a bit of a detour to drive to Yosemite. Despite the critical nature of the fire crisis at the time of our visit it was quite apparent that the hotel and it's staff were an integral part of the local community who were providing valuable support. The staff were friendly and helpful while working under what had to be considerable stress. Our room at the rear of the hotel was very large and simply and quaintly furnished. It was quiet and we had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was very nice, served buffet style in the downstairs restaurant/bar. There was a really friendly atmosphere and all the quests chatted about their travel experiences and plans. The highlight of our stay was dinner served on the upstairs balcony, watching the sun go down amid all the chaos of the news crews and firefighters returning from the fires. The food was very, very good and quite unusual.....far more gourmet than most of out other USA dining experiences.

Room Tip: The room at the back was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charlotte

Address: 18736 Main St, PO Box 787, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience a wonderful escape at the Hotel Charlotte, located at the gateway to Yosemite. Enjoy the rustic quirks of a charming, historic boutique hotel coupled with a wonderfully inviting ambiance and stellar service that will leave you wanting more.At the Hotel Charlotte, you'll be welcomed by friendly, knowledgable staff who will help you settle in to one of our 10 hotel rooms or 6 guest houses. Whether you want to experience the natural wonders of the surrounding area and Yosemite, have a romantic getaway, or enjoy a stay in an authentic old west hotel, you will find what you are looking for at the Hotel Charlotte. The owners, Doug and Jenn Edwards, wanted to retain the gold rush feel of the hotel while at the same time modernizing and simplifying. The sage green walls, the throwback Edison lightbulbs, the oversized, brown velvet sofas - invite guests to step into a contemporary old west. The look of the hotel also carries into the adjoining restaurant, the Charlotte Bistro & Bar. Under the direction of Chef Doug Edwards, the restaurant features locally grown produce and innovative Modern American fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Hotel Groveland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charlotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.