We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homy stay, real rural hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charlotte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Charlotte to your Saves list
Hotel Charlotte
18736 Main St, PO Box 787, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Homy stay, real rural hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We got a cottage of 3 bedroom which is reasonably priced inclusive of breakfast. The rooms are of good size with all the equipments like cooker, microwave and massive fridge. It is ideal accommodation for week long stay in the area.

Room Tip: Arrive early if you opted for a cottage as the main reception closes at 9pm. Only few shops and rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    175
    40
    28
    7
See reviews for
100
272
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Rooms are small in this wonderfully restored historic hotel. Beautiful photoraphy exhibited in the hallway downstairs a well as several bookshelves with some interesting and unusual books. There's a nice couch and several tables in the lobby. Hot breakfast of sausage, toast, eggs, coffee, juice and pancakes was good. Bed was comfortable. For $108 (winter rate) it was a good deal. Be sure to visit the Iron Horse Saloon across the street with its stuffed animals, old photographs and friendly bar tender and the world's best Bloody Mary if Chris is your bar tender.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We decided to make a trip to Yosemite last minute and were lucky enough to stay here. The online booking made everything easy and we loved the special winter rate. The Innkeeper was very friendly and welcoming, the bed comfy (although the rooms are a bit small, but we didn't mind), the breakfast tasty and overall experience peaceful and quiet.

Would recommend! So may cool little places to eat and see nearby. Highly recommend the tea place next door and Mountain Sage for coffee.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We visited Hotel Charlotte in October 2012, during our visit to Yosemite Park. The hotel was in the middle of a refurbishment, so it did not had full kitchen service. Despite that, it was a very nice experience. They did have a nice hot buffet breakfast (did not care for the coffee, but right across the street is a great coffee house) and there are a few good restaurants within walking distance to go for dinner. The room we chose (there are various styles/sizes) was small but had an ample bathroom, had cable TV and A/C. No frills or luxuries at all. The owners were so helpful with directions and tips for visiting the parks and overall very welcoming. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We recently decided to take an impromptu family trip to Yosemite and stay outside the park. We were looking for a good value hotel along the way to Yosemite, and that is exactly what we found in Hotel Charlotte. Hotel Charlotte is right on the main road and is in the town of Groveland (envision a Gold Rush era town with a saloon, etc.) The employees are all very warm and welcoming. Our room came with breakfast, which is quite a good deal for a family of four. The breakfast was a nice spread including hot food - eggs, sausage, pancakes, etc.

We stayed in Room 8, which has two queen beds so it was a good setup for our family. It is right behind the front desk and is a little noisy when guests are arriving and walking down the hall, but that was not a problem. I appreciated the fact that the room had a good heating system with an individual thermostat. They provide wi-fi and unlimited local and long distance calling, since there is very limited cell phone reception in town. The TV had plenty of channels. The hotel provides some board games and activities. The room was nothing fancy, but we weren't looking for anything fancy - it was just right for what we needed.

My only small complaint about our experience there was the shower in our room - although the shower had very hot water and great water pressure, it was a standalone bathtub with a shower curtain around it. The only problem was that the shower curtain didn't go all the way around, so water ended up on the walls and floor. Also, the shower was handheld and I would have appreciated a place to hook it up.

There is not a lot to do in Groveland. Restaurants close up early so don't arrive too late. We checked in around 5:30, walked around town, had dinner at a pizza parlor, played cards and board games in our room and in the lobby sitting area, went to bed, slept very well, enjoyed breakfast, and then were on our way. And for this kind of stopover in an old town, Hotel Charlotte is perfect!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel Charlotte is cool, and we enjoyed our stay of two nights - one night would have been better, though, as there is basically nothing to do in this town.

It's an old, run down place, on the verge of falling down, in a nowhere dump of a town. They have individually decorated each room in flea market chic, there's a piano, a lending library and a very weird little dog. Heat and air conditioning are a problem. They exist, but leave a lot to be desired. We got a free bottle of very good local wine - I'm not sure if that was because of "Groupon," or if everyone gets one.

The people are very nice, and the place has that one of a kind vibe, and a lot of charm. It is way over priced, though. They were representing themselves as a "bed and breakfast." I'm not sure what zone of alternate reality it would qualify for that, but they did serve a free breakfast. My advice would be to skip that "breakfast" and fend for yourself, as it was truly horrid.

It's a mixed bag, but there's not a lot of choices near the entrance to the park.....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We found the Hotel Charlotte online the night before our arrival. We were going to be coming in from Yosemite National Park on a road trip from Kansas City to Seattle area. We requested a quiet room, and our room 11 was indeed quiet. The only disappointment was that our room had a modern bath which didn't match the period of the room or the rest of the hotel. We saw period baths on the website and in another room that the house keeper was cleaning as we were leaving. The modern bath was fine; it just seemed out of character with the rest of the hotel decor. There also wasn't any heat in the bath, but if we left the door open and turned on the heat lamp it was OK. It was a very cold January night so it's not surprising that it was cold.
The innkeepers were away but we had a lovely visit with the parents who were inn-sitting. Very nice people. Also enjoyed playing with the adorable puppy, Cedar.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the alley are quiet so if you want as quiet of a room as possible, ask for one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charlotte

Address: 18736 Main St, PO Box 787, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience a wonderful escape at the Hotel Charlotte, located at the gateway to Yosemite. Enjoy the rustic quirks of a charming, historic boutique hotel coupled with a wonderfully inviting ambiance and stellar service that will leave you wanting more.At the Hotel Charlotte, you'll be welcomed by friendly, knowledgable staff who will help you settle in to one of our 10 hotel rooms or 6 guest houses. Whether you want to experience the natural wonders of the surrounding area and Yosemite, have a romantic getaway, or enjoy a stay in an authentic old west hotel, you will find what you are looking for at the Hotel Charlotte. The owners, Doug and Jenn Edwards, wanted to retain the gold rush feel of the hotel while at the same time modernizing and simplifying. The sage green walls, the throwback Edison lightbulbs, the oversized, brown velvet sofas - invite guests to step into a contemporary old west. The look of the hotel also carries into the adjoining restaurant, the Charlotte Bistro & Bar. Under the direction of Chef Doug Edwards, the restaurant features locally grown produce and innovative Modern American fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Hotel Groveland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charlotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.