We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and great place to stay at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charlotte

Save Saved
You added Hotel Charlotte to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Charlotte
18736 Main St, PO Box 787, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Charming and great place to stay at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

First of all, I just read a comment from the Hotel Charlotte staff that they will we installing new heat/AC units, which is welcome news. The freestanding unit in our room was strictly ok on a hot August evening. It did eventually cool the room down to a good sleeping temperature. Everything else was fantastic. The staff was helful and courteous, and you couldn't have a more charming place to stay in a location so convenient to Yosemite. The bed area was a bit small and cramped, but there was plenty of room in the bathroom. We didn't eat there, but we did have a drink on the upper level patio/deck, which was also great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    168
    39
    27
    7
See reviews for
97
253
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, ca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed 1 night before we went on a river trip with Oars and 1 night when we returned. Great location in downtown Groveland within walking distance of a number of great restaurants and bars with live music. Our dinners were great, Dad had a filet with a Cabernet sauce, I have pork roast with polenta and eggplant. They have a great list of craft beers and some tasty local wines

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here during our trip to Yosemite, and we can't say enough good things about the place! The location is as good as you can get besides staying in the valley - about 1 hour from the actual valley. It's right on Rt. 120, so the whole drive is a quick stretch down the highway, no real back roads.

The hotel is lovely inside. We had a room in the very back which is supposedly larger- it was the only room they had left when we booked. It had a private bath and was quite, clean, everything you need, including AC which was nice during the heat wave out that way! The restaurant downstairs had complimentary breakfast early each day so we got a nice start to the park. We had dessert there once as well and it was delicious. Stay here if possible - you'll really enjoy it!

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the back if you want more space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We booked two nights at Hotel Charlotte to visit Yosemite. We decided to stay a few more nights right away because the hotel was just great and the food outstanding (best food we had on our month-trip through the US!!) - and there's an awesome saloon right across the street... It was definately worth it!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork, Montana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a true gem of a small hotel outside of Yosemite National Park. The moment you walk into the charming lobby you feel very welcomed by the staff. They truly want your stay to be the best. The rooms are super clean, simple and restful. A full buffet breakfast is included with the room. The restaurant offers wonderful farm to table food matching the best of Napa Valley. We would certainly recommend Hotel Charlotte to anyone planning a trip to Yosemite and the CA gold country.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

super cute hotel, but no lift. getting into the parking lot at first is hairy, but the front desk staff can give you a much easier trick to getting in and out. Rooms are tiny, but decorated well and the bathrooms have clawfeet and are adorable! the combination of lavender soap and hiking all day at Yosemite (we saw a bear!) totally knocked me out so i couldn't enjoy watching the small tv (Olympics!). I did, however, take advantage of the free telephone calls in the United States.

Room Tip: room 10 is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrentham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The staff was super friendly and helpful. Our room was a nice size (2nd floor at end near back stairs.) It was clean and comfortable. The in-room AC was a bit noisy and air was blowing on us but t did cool the room well during very hot weather. I would recommend this hotel. The breakfast was good. There is a good Mexican restaurant next door. The ambiance was great and it was our gateway to Yosemite. We were here on July 4th. Townspeople came by early morning and decorated the town with flags!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charlotte

Address: 18736 Main St, PO Box 787, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience a wonderful escape at the Hotel Charlotte, located at the gateway to Yosemite. Enjoy the rustic quirks of a charming, historic boutique hotel coupled with a wonderfully inviting ambiance and stellar service that will leave you wanting more.At the Hotel Charlotte, you'll be welcomed by friendly, knowledgable staff who will help you settle in to one of our 10 hotel rooms or 6 guest houses. Whether you want to experience the natural wonders of the surrounding area and Yosemite, have a romantic getaway, or enjoy a stay in an authentic old west hotel, you will find what you are looking for at the Hotel Charlotte. The owners, Doug and Jenn Edwards, wanted to retain the gold rush feel of the hotel while at the same time modernizing and simplifying. The sage green walls, the throwback Edison lightbulbs, the oversized, brown velvet sofas - invite guests to step into a contemporary old west. The look of the hotel also carries into the adjoining restaurant, the Charlotte Bistro & Bar. Under the direction of Chef Doug Edwards, the restaurant features locally grown produce and innovative Modern American fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Hotel Groveland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charlotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.