We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice historic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charlotte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Charlotte to your Saves list
Hotel Charlotte
18736 Main St, PO Box 787, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newport Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very nice historic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was a great hotel/bed and breakfast to stay in on our short trip to Yosemite - it's still quite a drive to Yosemite, but there's really not much closer outside the park. There's still lots to do near Groveland also (rafting, hiking, etc) The rooms in this hotel are super tiny (at least the ones we had) but that's because it's a historic hotel built in 1920, so it's bound to be "different". The beds are comfortable and the hotel is very clean and well kept. Probably could use a few more mirrors (there was one very tiny and very high mirror) and shelves and hooks, but those are random details that don't really matter that much. the owners are great, the breakfast was quite nice, and the location was convenient in town (it's a pretty small town!). we did not stay at their condos/houses, but the guests who did said they were really quite nice (probably nicer and definitely bigger than the hotel rooms). They also run a restaurant for dinner - we did not eat there, but it looked and smelled wonderful!!! I hope these owners are able to make this hotel/restaurant work as it is really a nice place and we would definitely stay there again on our way through....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    175
    40
    28
    7
See reviews for
101
272
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nederland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Carlotte for 3 nights while white water rafting and then visiting Yosemite.
I had originally booked for only 2 nights, then a few weeks later, decided to extend our stay by one night. We originally booked room 6, but it was not available for the third night, but was offered room 12. It was more expensive, but had a whirlpool tub.
Upon arrival, we were very pleased with our choice and our room. The property is very charming and in very good condition for it's age. The staff was very friendly. The room was very small, but we knew it would be, thanks to reviews here on trip advisor. There is a portable air conditioner in the room that kept the room comfortable.
We ate dinner the first night here. Only complaint was that there were lots and lots of flies. We did not have the same problem the one morning we ate breakfast there. Speaking of breakfast, we found it pretty good considering it was included with the room.
Overall, we were very pleased with the 1st two nights.
On arrival, we were told that instead of room 12, as originally booked, we would be in room 15 for our 3rd night. We only assumed it would be the same. Our first impression of the room was that it was hot, really hot. Come to find out, there is not an airconditioning unit in this room. It is regulated by the thermostat at the desk. We went to the desk and informed them the room was hot a total of 4 times. At one point Doug came to our room and agreed that it was really warm and advised us to leave the window craked.
We had had a long day in Yosemite and were really hot and tired. After the sun went down, the room became bearable, but only with the window open. Again, that would have probably been acceptable. However, around 1:30 or 2:00 am, some people decided to have a late night drinks on the kitchen porch, which was directly outside our window.(see photos) After we went to the window and asked them to hold it down, they took the party inside the kitchen.
In all fairness, they did discount our room to the 1st room rate after we complained the next morning.
Overall, I think this is still a nice place to stay, but would have to be guaranteed a room with an individual air conditioner if staying during the summer.

Room Tip: Room with air conditioner
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennykedwards, Owner at Hotel Charlotte, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Millke05,

We greatly appreciate your feedback on your recent stay at the Hotel Charlotte. We are glad that you enjoyed and your first two nights and appreciate your feedback on your third night. You are correct; currently the lower rooms only have central AC, which we did lower each time you asked, but completely agree that when it is 100 degrees here, that is not always sufficient. Given the feedback we’ve received from you and others, we have already placed an order for high energy efficient individual heat/ac Mitsubishi units for all rooms (both upstairs and down). We will be installing these units in September, so moving forward all guests will have the luxury of a quiet, wall mounted individually controlled heat/ac unit. We hope you do choose to stay with us again next time you are in the area.

Thank you, Jenn & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff. The hotel seemed to be going for an 1800s feel. The room was very small, with no room for a closet. The bed was very good. It was wonderful to have fresh-cooked pancakes as part of the complimentary breakfast.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royken, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We just stopped by after a long drive and through Yosemite. What we found was a great hotel with the best welcoming and serviceminded staff (owners). The little town here is like the old western, with Californias oldest saloon. What is so special about this place, is that they serve food and wine from the local area. Who makes the food extra good.
This one night stay is one of the thing we will talk about for a long time. Even though we have been travelling for 1 month.

Room Tip: Worth a stay before or after going to Yosemite ntl. park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Vallley, WA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here for four nights while on a mixed business/pleasure trip in the area.

Doug and Jenn were very friendly and welcoming as hosts. They always had time for us and it was fun chatting with them as they were from the area where we live.

They gave us a fantastic rate for 4 nights there: 99$ per night. We stayed in a small detached unit behind the main hotel. This is not a luxury hotel but it's still fairly nice.

I've attached a few pics. The room itself was a bit small but it was big enough for us. I am pretty sure it was a queen bed, though it might have been a full. We didn't have a problem with it.
There was an A/C in the room, though we didn't really need it much since we were out all day most days. One day we tried to use it and it wasn't hooked up properly but it wasn't a big deal since we were only there an hour during the daytime.

Some quirks:
-The light outside our room that was sensor activated kept failing and they kept fixing it.
-Our sink stopped got stuck in with no visible way to get it back up, but they fixed that.
-The bathroom door was a flimsy accordion-style folding thing that could not fully close since there was no way to really grasp it from the inside so privacy while two people were in the room was a bit weak when using the toilet. Maybe a knob would fix this.
-We noticed the water was off for a few hours one night while they were doing repairs. Not a big deal but we were dirty and wanted to shower before dinner.
-The ice machine was often empty or low capacity.
-Every night there were some weird loud crashing noises behind the hotel. We had no idea what it was.
-Wifi didn't stretch out to the unit behind the hotel or very far inside the hotel itself. I gave the owners some tips on how to improve their net and also limit the bandwidth each guest's connection used so as not to cause a complete failure since the internet out in Groveland isn't high speed yet. Don't expect to use netflix out here.
The above issues weren't really major issues, just stuff to note for the owners.

Let me tell you some great stuff about this place:
-The owners are very friendly and will do nice stuff for you like freeze your ice-chest packs in their freezer over night, look up local attraction and business info and print it out for you, allow late check-ins by leaving your key in an envelope in a special place in the lobby, etc.
-There is a restaurant and bar in the Hotel and they serve some great food, beer & wine. Ask for the owners' recommendations on the beer.
-The hotel is centrally located in the heart of Groveland and everything is easily walkable from it.
-The breakfasts are all you can eat buffet style and have bread, milk, juice, coffee, pancakes, eggs and sausage. The pancakes did taste a little weird but I think they were sourdough. The eggs were very good and my favorite part.
-There is a library of books to read near the back of the hotel.
-Free satellite TV in the rooms.
-Free nation-wide calling from the rooms since cellphone signal is not good in Groveland.

Overall we really liked staying here and we'll be back next time we are in Groveland. Thanks a lot to Doug and Jenn for making our stay great!

Room Tip: ask for the 99$ rate on the detached unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

We had a good time at Hotel Charlotte. The room was big enough to hold the rollaway needed for our daughter plus the queen bed for us. The hotel is well kept. The owner has been trained as a chef in S. F. And does a good job with the food too. The staff was very helpful and we were treated well. It was a restful place after Yosemite.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night while travelling around Yosemite. The place has so much charm and character it really deserves a visit. The staff are very friendly and take time individually with you. The dinner was excellent and not traditional however portions perhaps slightly small. The rooms/bathroom definitely are very small but full of old world charm. There are a few details that need to be addressed for a higher review such as dust in places and a poor breakfast. It just didn't live up to expectation at all. If these details were addressed this is definitely a place worth staying.

Room Tip: You must be aware that the rooms are all small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charlotte

Address: 18736 Main St, PO Box 787, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience a wonderful escape at the Hotel Charlotte, located at the gateway to Yosemite. Enjoy the rustic quirks of a charming, historic boutique hotel coupled with a wonderfully inviting ambiance and stellar service that will leave you wanting more.At the Hotel Charlotte, you'll be welcomed by friendly, knowledgable staff who will help you settle in to one of our 10 hotel rooms or 6 guest houses. Whether you want to experience the natural wonders of the surrounding area and Yosemite, have a romantic getaway, or enjoy a stay in an authentic old west hotel, you will find what you are looking for at the Hotel Charlotte. The owners, Doug and Jenn Edwards, wanted to retain the gold rush feel of the hotel while at the same time modernizing and simplifying. The sage green walls, the throwback Edison lightbulbs, the oversized, brown velvet sofas - invite guests to step into a contemporary old west. The look of the hotel also carries into the adjoining restaurant, the Charlotte Bistro & Bar. Under the direction of Chef Doug Edwards, the restaurant features locally grown produce and innovative Modern American fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Hotel Groveland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charlotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.