We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service when we had a problem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charlotte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Charlotte to your Saves list
Hotel Charlotte
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18736 Main St, PO Box 787, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service when we had a problem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

My husband and I stopped at the Hotel Charlotte after a very long travel day on the road and got their last room in the hotel--a nice cosy first floor room in their historic building. It was too warm n the room, so we mentioned that to the person helping us. She said she would turn on the AC. It was off because it was often too cold in that room. We went to dinner in the restaurant and had a great meal. When we returned, the room was not any cooler. We went to the front desk to ask about the situation and found that they believed the AC was broken. At that point, Lynn, one of the owners, stepped in and took care of us. She arranged for us to move to a large condo just about a 5-minute drive from the hotel and didn't charge us the additional cost. (That property cost at least twice what we were paying.) She gave us detailed directions and was gracious and apologetic about the inconvenience. The condo was lovely, comfortable and quiet. We went back to the hotel for our complimentary breakfast. All in all, it was a good experience because Lynn came to the rescue and made it right. I would recommend the hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    183
    40
    28
    7
See reviews for
110
283
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Very small room, very dirty, absolutely not recommendable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCharlotte, Owner at Hotel Charlotte, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
I am sorry to read you had such a bad stay. Your experience is so different from that most of our guests have here that I have to wonder if you have posted this review to the right property. Yes, most of our rooms are small, very typical of historc properties. Dirty has rarely played a part in our guest experience. We would have been most interested in hearing from you while visiting us so we could take care of whatever problems you were experiencing. No guest should suffer an "awful" visit. Most times something can be done if the innkeeper is made aware of your discomfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed here on our honeymoon. We hadn't booked any hotels and so we were really winging it! We stumbled on this hotel and to be honest the name put us off; we thought it would be quite old fashioned but it absolutely wasn't. We were given a choice of rooms and chose one with a free standing bath! We went across the road to the Iron Door Saloon for dinner and some drinks and stayed all night, it was so much fun! We would definitely recommend this hotel and in fact when we got to San Francisco and spoke to a barman there he knew where we'd stayed and was extremely complimentary about it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Overall: Pleasant stop-over near Yosemite but a little on the far side for commuting to Yosemite.

Facility: I think of this as more of a boutique hotel than a traditional B&B. The facility itself is an older building with most of the lodging upstairs and a lobby, common area, and small restaurant on the main floor. Our group had 2 adjoining rooms connected by a bathroom with a clawfoot tub and 360 degree fabric shower curtain. The bedrooms were small (maybe about 100 sq ft?) compared to most modern hotels; there was about only 2 feet of clearance around the bed, and the only writing surfaces available were the dresser top or night-table. This is the kind of place that some people will find quaint and charming, while others might see it as dated; I thought more the former. The building has guest-only access after 9PM, so noise was not an issue.

Amenities: The included hot breakfast was served buffet style, so no worries about not getting enough to eat. The food served was the same both days we were there, which was fine for a short stay, and included both hot items (eggs, sausages, pancakes) and cold (cereal, fruit, etc). The freestanding AC/heater in each room was a welcome surprise; the fan did make some noise, but we did not find it disturbing, as it actually served as white noise that muffled the few sounds coming from the common hallway. Complimentary Wi-Fi worked fine and was speedy enough for most purposes (did not try video streaming :).

Service: Staff was friendly, and housekeeping was OK, though on the second day the replaced towels did have a few stains on them.

Value: At $179 nightly for 3 people, this was actually our least-expensive Yosemite-area lodging and a decent deal. However, with a 45 minute driving time from Yosemite Valley in light traffic, it seemed a little far for daily Yosemite exploring -- we used this location as a base for rafting instead.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

...unless your like having the toilet in the same room as your bed. Personally, I find it disgusting, and although the website states the room as "open layout bath", I would have liked it to state it also includes the toilet.
Other than that, the first floor had a foul smell and the A/C in the room was very loud. I found the stay really overpriced for what you got. The breakfast was pretty good though.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCharlotte, Owner at Hotel Charlotte, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Good morning TokeFC,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Room 12 is one that folks love or hate. Many are quite comfortable with the layout of the room and when two couples are traveling together, we have seen them flip a coin, both wanting room 12. In every case possible we have moved guests to another room if they were uncomfortable with the layout. Had you spoken with the front desk during your stay, we may have been able to do this for you too. We really prefer that all folks enjoy the room they have booked and are looking at plans now to add extra doors to room 12 and hope to be completed with the conversion before next summer.

Many of our guests find the one-on-one personal Yosemite trip planning we provide our guests each morning to be priceless in maximizing their Yosemite stay. This. along with the free phone calls (no cell coverage in Groveland) complimentary guest computers and full breakfast do make a stay at the Charlotte a good value. However, if one arrives late and leaves early without experiencing any of these complimentary services, they will indeed have missed a great deal of the value we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Pros: Buffet breakfast every single morning with pancakes, real scrambled eggs, cereals, sausage, coffee, orange juice - gets you ready to visit Yosemite. Nice owner at the desk who is very accommodating - treats you like family. GREAT small town with nice restaurants to eat at (I recommend the pizza place behind the grocery store and the saloon across the street). Owner gave great recommendations on what to visit. Good service during breakfast and dinner. After visiting inside Yosemite - this was the best option for the money. Gas is almost $1.00US cheaper near this hotel than in Yosemite.

Cons: Musty-smelling rooms with old, matted, dirty carpet - needs replacing. Hard mattresses with hard pillows (soft pillows upon request). A/C units next to bed take up floor space and pump out mildly cool air. Owner's dog walks freely around lobby and outside breakfast area and has considerably knotty/matted hair and looks unkept, although I believe they think the dog is cute. 45 minutes - 1 hour drive to see major waterfalls in Yosemite (but enjoyable drive there).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Charlotte on the way to Yosemite. The room was charming, the bed very comfortable, and the staff was not only efficient, but warm and welcoming as well. The included full breakfast the next morning was delicious and varied, a well presented buffet to get the day started.
After a delicious dinner at the hotel's restaurant, we sat on the balcony with a glass of wine and watched the world (or Groveland's part of it) go by at our feet. Delightful!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charlotte

Address: 18736 Main St, PO Box 787, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Charlotte 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience a wonderful escape at the Hotel Charlotte, located at the gateway to Yosemite. Enjoy the rustic quirks of a charming, historic boutique hotel coupled with a wonderfully inviting ambiance and stellar service that will leave you wanting more.At the Hotel Charlotte, you'll be welcomed by friendly, knowledgable staff who will help you settle in to one of our 10 hotel rooms or 6 guest houses. Whether you want to experience the natural wonders of the surrounding area and Yosemite, have a romantic getaway, or enjoy a stay in an authentic old west hotel, you will find what you are looking for at the Hotel Charlotte. The owners, Doug and Jenn Edwards, wanted to retain the gold rush feel of the hotel while at the same time modernizing and simplifying. The sage green walls, the throwback Edison lightbulbs, the oversized, brown velvet sofas - invite guests to step into a contemporary old west. The look of the hotel also carries into the adjoining restaurant, the Charlotte Bistro & Bar. Under the direction of Chef Doug Edwards, the restaurant features locally grown produce and innovative Modern American fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Hotel Groveland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charlotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.