We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got Lost in the High Country - with a "guide"!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Save Saved
You added Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off Yosemite Now!
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Groveland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Berkeley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Got Lost in the High Country - with a "guide"!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

I wanted to take my kids (10 and 12) for one last summer escape so I booked Evergreen Lodge based on favorable reviews - also I didn't want to camp!! Feeling nervous about what to do with the kids all day I reserved two guided trips: High Country Naturalist Hike to Idyllic Alpine Lakes and 'Bike, Hike & Swim' at Granite Gorge.

The High Country Naturalist Hike was supposed to be with an "expert naturalist " Jimmy was neither. To make a long story short. We endured a 45 minute terrifying ride into Yosemite - Jimmy should not be allowed to drive a van! We hiked on a trail with scant commentary regarding Yosemite etc. Jimmy also did not slow down to see if we were even behind him!! We went "off trail" and proceeded to get quite lost. Jimmy even pulled out a map and compass!! I was very concerned, and asked Jimmy point blank if he could promise us he knew where we were. He promised and after another 45 minutes we found Polly Dome Lake (by shear luck). I noted where we went in and when it was time to leave Jimmy promptly walked the wrong direction "off trail" again. I refused to follow and said I would wait while he scoped it out. Jimmy returned after about 10 minutes and agreed that we should walk out my way on the trail. Additionally, there was another couple with us who did not seem very Back Country savvy but hung in there while Jimmy was walking around in circles.

The management offered us free drinks and dessert and a small refund. I'm not certain they understood how serious the situation was and I hope they do not send out unqualified employees on "guided hikes" in the future.

We left one day early because I was uncomfortable after our "Hike from Hell" and the food situation is very grim (Sysco only - no fresh fruit for two days). The front office was patient and polite.

By the way, the bike trip was decent.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    551
    297
    66
    36
    31
See reviews for
336
400
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

We had a lovely cabin with outdoor decking area overlooking the forest. In the middle of nowhere with only a satellite radio for company a real getaway after busy days trekking in yosemite. food in the restaurant was nice, glad we booked our table as it was busy. No cooking facilities on site, a little fridge was in our room which we used for milk and drinks but take snacks with you as there on site shop is on the expensive side and there is nothing around for miles. Takes nearly an hours drive around some very windy roads to get here from the main parts of yosemite, but we saw deers and bears on the way so it was good. Free internet access and games. We really enjoyed our stay, this was an expensive place for us travelling on a budget but well worth it. Would definately return.

  • Liked — The cabin accommodation
  • Disliked — The expensive shop
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

I had a two night stay here and loved it. We had a two bedroom lodge which was very clean and well equipped. I woke up one morning to see a bear roaming around outside! I think it's good value for money and well located for visiting Yosemite.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

I found the Evergreen lodge through Frommer's and was a bit disappointed. Staffs were friendly. However, there were only limited activities at the lodge and their Yosemite tour was so-so. Location's pretty good. It is located about 30minutes from the park entrace. Beware of what you order at the restaurant. We ordered salad and fish and salad was not fresh and fish was terrible. Stick with burgers/fries/etc..

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2007

We stayed here 3 nights while exploring Yosemite and the Hecth Hecthy area. We were in one of the newer cabins and it was quite nice (including staellite radio). The recreation area was a kid magnet which makes this a great place for families. The restaurant was pricey but very good quality and quantities of food. And that is a good thing since there is no other food within a half hour of the lodge. The closeness to Hecht Hechty is a plus and well worth a hike.

I do have a couple minor negatives on the lodge. You are really isolated and about 40 min from Yosemite valley, The curvy road to the lodge induces motion sickness. There is no cell phone coverage and the 3 interent terminals in the rec room were only up about 1/4 of the time during our stay. And finally, their guided trips are really expensive and not recommended.

  • Liked — family friendly
  • Disliked — remoteness from everything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

After reading about this historic - but recently refurbished - lodge in the Yosemite Fund newsletter, we were hooked. It was built originally to house and feed workers on the massive Hetch Hetchy Dam. Many cabins were newly built after 2000 - but the dining room and "saloon" still give it an old time feeling.

Meals were excellent - especially large lavish breakfasts. We ate on the outside porch each time. The enclosed restaurant is very simply decorated and the noise level, especially that of the kids, was a negative factor, but the porch area was serene.

Our large two room cabin was nicely furnished, with ceiling fans that helped with the afternoon heat. No air conditioning. The living room had a refrigerator, satellite radio and good reading light.

The lodge is about seven miles up a country wooded road and just outside the Yosemite park entrance. If you don't mind travelling some to get to Yosemite park features - this is a delightful alternative lodging.

  • Liked — Forest/Country location - comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Entry road is tricky after dark
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

We stayed at the Lodge for two nights whilst exploring Yosemite and I can't speak highly enough about it.

It is away from the main roads and has the benefit for being very close to Hetch Hetchy dam which is a great place for a late afternoon walk.

The drive to the main gate of the park is about 20 minutes.

The lodge we were in was in excellent condition and bigger than expected.

The food is not cheap but of a very high standard. It is worth looking at the 2 night packages they do that include food.
They are good value!

Wireless Internet is available but take a laptop as the provided terminals were in constant use by other guests.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel At Yosemite
Evergreen Lodge Yosemite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.