We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character-filled woodland base” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Character-filled woodland base”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Evergreen Lodge during a short tour of California and we were absolutely delighted to have acted upon the recommendation we received to book there. We had one night in a cabin and another in the on-site tents and found both to be very comfortable and well equipped. I particularly liked some of the retro style touches in the cabin although my boyfriend wasn't as impressed (what does he know).

The staff were pleasant and helpful, the restaurant/bar was cosy with a great buzzing atmosphere and we had a lovely soak in the beautiful pool/spa area after a long day of hiking. If I ever get the chance to return to Yosemite I'll be making a beeline for Evergreen Lodge!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi, I’m Lee, one of the owners of the Evergreen. How fun to hear that you managed to enjoy both a cabin and a tent experience. Too bad your boyfriend is not a fan of the retro touches. You can always encourage him to email any design suggestions to feedback@evergreenlodge.com as we would welcome his input! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and thank you for taking the time to share your review.
Cheers,
Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    349
    72
    43
    33
See reviews for
416
480
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We celebrated our 30th anniversary at the Evergreen Lodge. Our cabin was more than adequate for our needs. We appreciated the deck overlooking the lodge property (AKA woods). There were no cabins behind us, so we had the feeling that we were deep in the forest. A great place for a glass of wine, a bit of cheese and relaxing after a day of hiking. After seeing the mass of humanity staying in Yosemite Valley, we were very happy to be at Evergreen Lodge. A bit of advice: Go early to Yosemite Valley (before the Valley is officially open) and leave well before dark.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hello, I’m Lee, one of the owners of the Evergreen. Thank you for sharing your review and your insider tips! We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and we are honored to have had you celebrate your 30th Anniversary with us.
Happy Anniversary!
Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent New Year's at the Evergreen Lodge and loved every minute of our time there. Our kids rushed out of the cabins early in the morning and didn't step back inside until it was dark. The grounds are set up as an adventure playground for kids and adults alike, with zip-lines, forts made from logs and branches, horseshoe pits, bocce ball, and a huge pool and hot tub with a pool bar.

The food at the main lodge and tavern is also worth noting as often times these types of places try to accommodate the kids more than the adults, but we had a duck risotto, trout salad and many other dishes that were perfectly cooked, well-seasoned and just plain delicious. The staff is also delightful, both in the restaurant and around the lodge.

Finally, the New Year's Eve bash was also designed to please both kids and adults with "light babysitting" available for the kids while the parents partied down across the courtyard dressed up for the theme (Under the Sea, this year) and danced the new year in to a great funk band.

I see the comment about the "Burnt Forest" and yes, Evergreen is located in the middle of the Rim Fire. How they survived is anyone's guess, but the grounds are still beautiful, there are plenty of activities available, and beautiful hikes around the Hetch Hetchy or in the Yosemite Valley just a short drive away. Don't let the Rim Fire discourage you, actually I'd say take the opposite approach and help support classic Yosemite lodges like this one by planning your next vacation there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi, I’m Lee, one of the owners of the Evergreen. Thank you for joining us for New Year’s and for sharing the details of your experiences. You have given us the opportunity to once again express how extremely grateful we are for all the brave firefighters who made it possible for the Evergreen to survive the Rim Fire. It’s great to hear that you were able to enjoy your time with us. Thanks again for taking the time to share your review.
Cheers,
Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

this is our second trip to Yosemite and stay at The Evergreen Lodge. We last visited in Dec 2010 and just returned from a December trip 2013. We stayed through Christmas. First, the Evergreen Lodge has expanded, it now has a lovely pool, pool bar, hot tub and pool recreation center. While the pool was closed (obviously) for the winter, it looked like it would be wonderful to use in the summer months. They had a weeks worth of special Christmas activities every night (including nightly smores!) and the cabins were just as quaint and quiet as before. I wish they would dress up the bathrooms a little bit, but honestly we were rarely in the cabins except to sleep. The guides at The Evergreen are knowledgeable and friendly and everyone there was very friendly and helpful. We love the Evergreen Lodge and will continue to come here for years to come. The only negative was the dinners, which I wrote up a separate review.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hello, I’m Lee Zimmerman, one of the owners of the Evergreen Lodge. Thank you for your thoughtful comments. It’s great to see that you were able to take full advantage of our holiday programs. I’m sorry to hear that you were hoping for a dressier bathroom experience. Our aim is for every cabin bathroom to be clean, spacious, and supplied with the essentials along with touches such as organic bath products and custom artwork connected to the history of the property.

As for your dinner review, I haven’t yet seen it so I’m not sure where we fell short. We usually receive rave reviews on our food, so we welcome your direct comments at feedback@evergreenlodge.com so we can learn how we might continue to improve.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked the Evergreen Lodge through a Groupon Deal which worked out very reasonable (2 nights for the price of 1). After the long drive up the mountain we were thrilled at choice. The cabins are great, the facilities are excellent and the staff were really helpful. We went on an organised tour with Bryant, he was so knowledgable and enthusiastic, he made us fall in love with the place. Our only niggle is the restaurant menu (slightly pretentious for us) considering you really are a captive audience. Just be warned the road to the Lodge from the main road is 7 miles, it seems to take forever but worth the wait.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi, I’m Lee Zimmerman, one of the owners of the Evergreen Lodge. Thank you for sharing your glowing review of your experience. While it’s great to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us, I am sorry to hear that our menu didn’t feel spot on. We aim to offer something for every taste and price point, but it sounds like we fell short for your party. Our menus change seasonally, so if you’d like to share any specific suggestions, we welcome your input at feedback@evergreenlodge.com. Thank you again for your comments, and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

All the hotels in the valley were sold out for the holiday season so on a whim decided that a place right outside the park might not be bad, and would still accomplish the goal of seeing Yosemite. Glad we did! Cabins are fairly new, cozy and almost got too warm inside. Have to eat in the restaurant unless you want to drive a long way to eat in the nearest town and good thing the food was excellent, and big meals. And the tavern is fun to hang out in and the rec room has a roaring fire that customers can stoke and add wood to it. They offer outings but we did our own thing as I grew up going to Yosemite in the summers and know my way around and what I want to do. We all agreed we would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi, I’m Lee, one of the owners of the Evergreen, and I’m delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us during the holiday season. It’s especially heartwarming to read your complimentary review knowing that you grew up spending summers in Yosemite. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.
Cheers,
Lee Zimmerman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Word of advice to nature lovers: The August 2013 fires have burnt a quarter million acres of the Stanislaus Forest and Yosemite Park. The Evergreen Lodge was saved by the firefighters, as well as Camp Mather, creating a green corridor in the middle of the devastation. When my wife and I drove up Evergreen Road, we began to feel very sad to see the trees. We had planned to hike around the lodge (it takes more than 45 minutes to get from the lodge to the Yosemite Valley, which was spared), and felt trapped in our cabin. We started looking for alternatives in the region. Fortunately, Joe, the general manager, sweetened the deal for us (thanks to him I still gave the lodge 4 stars), and we stayed the planned 4 nights. He also pointed us to the trail to Camp Mather, which allowed us to hike straight from the lodge without seeing much burnt forest.

In summary, if you do not care about hiking/walking locally and you mainly want access to Yosemite, this place remains the best value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hello, I’m Lee Zimmerman, one of the owners of the Evergreen Lodge. Thanks for your thoughtful comments. I’m glad you had a nice stay with us despite the current limitations on exploring the immediate area. I’m sorry to hear that you and your wife were struck by the sadness of the aftermath of the Rim Fire – you are not alone. It was such a tragedy, and we all look forward to the forest beginning its recovery this spring – the experts say we will be rewarded with a spectacular uprising of wildflowers, which should be special. Meanwhile, I’m pleased to hear that you connected with Joe and learned about some of the local alternatives, as between Hetch Hetchy, Mather, the soon to reopen Carlon Falls area, etc, there is still so much to enjoy right around us despite the effects of the fire. Thanks again for staying with us. I hope we can welcome you back for future adventures with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evergreen Lodge is a newly expanded full-service historic resort featuring 88 spacious cabins in the woods. The lodge sits on 20 acres just a mile from Yosemite National Park in California, putting top attractions - Yosemite Valley, Tuolumne Meadows and Hetch Hetchy - in easy reach. At the lodge, savor a delicious meal, kick back in the classic tavern and enjoy other amenities, including Evergreen's sun deck, game room, kids play areas, nightly activities and therapeutic massage. Ready for adventure? Evergreen's professional guide service offers a variety of sightseeing, hiking, biking, fly fishing and snowshoeing tours, as well as free planning advice for self-guided adventures. A Frommer's 'Favorite' and 'Highly Recommended' by Fodor's, the Evergreen provides the perfect mix of recreation, relaxation and indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel At Yosemite
Evergreen Lodge Yosemite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.