We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cabins near Yosemite Nat'l Park” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
GreenLeadersSilver level
columbus, ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Cabins near Yosemite Nat'l Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The lodge is in a very remote area and it is wooded hills and very scenic. We stayed in a queen bed/one bedroom/one bathroom cabin with sofa bed. It was cozy and comfortable for 2 adults and 2 teenagers. There is no A/C, but even in July, we opened the windows, ran the ceiling fan and floor fan and the cabin was comfortable, even cool by morning with the low temperatures. Cabin was clean upon arrival; towels and soaps were plentiful in the bathroom; the bathroom was spacious enough to move around in without being cramped. The bed was way too soft or just old and worn out; pillows were bad...very flat and floppy. Cabin had small shared front porch and small solo deck with chairs overlooking the woods. Lodge area had a lot of great outside amenities for kids to do, so our teens were occupied. There was a game room and room where you could watch DVDs. There are no TVs and no telephone in cabins. No WIFI available as the area is very remote. We enjoyed having the peace and quiet from all the electronic devices. The pool area was new and very nice with hot tub and plenty of chairs and a bar with food available. Some of the cabins are located near the main buildings for activities and food and some are much farther away. If you go, ask for the walking distances, because you cannot drive to some of the cabins...walking only. The biggest downfall of the lodge is that you have nowhere else to eat. Once you are there, you have to eat there, because you are so far away from a town. I feel that in light of this, the lodge way over charged for food. They should be more considerate that people are already paying $300 plus for the cabin, so the food should be reasonably priced. The road to the lodge is paved, however, it is covered in many patches of pavement and potholes. All the roads in the area are winding, twisting and hilly. After all, you are in the mountains! You have to allow double the amount of time for driving in the area as you would for the same mileage in an urban area. But it is worth it because the views are outstanding everywhere you go. Overall, I would recommend the lodge for families visiting Yosemite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    333
    71
    42
    33
See reviews for
395
457
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our cabin M13 was a stand alone one bedroom cottage with a king bed, bathroom and living room with a pull out couch for my 13 year old son. I liked that we were not in a semi-cabin. The accommodations were roomy. It felt like we really were in a cottage. We were surprised at how quiet it was early in the morning and after 9 pm. People, mainly families, are very respectful and keep it quiet throughout the lodge resort. This is the perfect get away from tv, the internet and traffic. The pool is excellent and the restaurant was okay the first night but the food was excellent the second night. They offer smore's every night by the camp fire. Your cabin has a fridge and you can bring in food but not cook in your cabin (bears are throughout the lodge and park). We stayed only two nights for $325 a night. I would recommend booking the Yosemite Valley & Glacier Point Tour. Our guide Bryant took our family of three and one other family of three for the full day tour from 9 to 5 in the National Park for $115 per adult. This fee includes lunch and transportation. You also have to pay an extra $20 to enter the park. Bryant was informative and the tour was personalized. Be sure to tip the man. He will earn it. Yosemite is breath taking. I would return to Evergreen. It is much better than some of the hotels inside the National Park - less crowded and peaceful.

Room Tip: Ask for a detached cabin for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the "luxury tents" this summer. The tents are basic but mattresses certainly very comfortable, and it's a beautiful setting and climate for camping. Main gripe is that the bear- and fire-risk justified ban on cooking obliges you to use pricey restaurant - cant even brew a cup of tea. The very basic general store (take out coffees, breakfast cereals) is the only source of groceries for miles so you're over a barrel really. And bizarrely for an operation you'd expect to be super-sensitive to green issues their take out food offerings are ridiculously over-packaged

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn , CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Traveled here in June with a Family and two teenagers. We had a two bedroom cabin in the newer area all was neat clean and nicely decorated. Plenty of activities to keep everyone busy, kids loved the game room area and parents enjoyed the reading library area. This is an EASY way to do Yosemite. It is about 30 minute drive to west park entrance and then another 30 minutes or so into the valley. Convenient to the high country also. Only complaint was that it is a bit expensive, but you pay it if you want easy and comfortable. The restaurant was fairly good with wide choice of selections, but again a bit pricey but we did not mind. Overall definitely recommend and I would return.

Room Tip: We liked the newer cabin as it was larger but is a little further from the pool and restaurant but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

There is virtually no internet connection here. One does feel a little disconnect with the rest of the world. However, it is comfortable, with a good general store and restaurant (a little slow in cooking), and there is a cute small playground for kids. I do like the layout of the cabin, first time i ever stayed in one. Now I can finally say i know how it is like.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We had great time in the lodge , the location amazing and the family activity are very nice .
Good resturant . The pool is great and its nice choice when you want to feel nature and not to stay in the parks accommodations

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here from July 7th to 10th and my wife and I loved. From the time we checked in to the time we checked out we were very pleased.

The STAFF.... They were great(best part of the lodge)
The POOL.... Loved it, plus the hot tub was a very nice touch.

The POOL BAR.... Very nice with Really nice drinks and selection. Micah, was very nice and spoke German and Spanish in addition to Inglish.

The RESTAURANT ..... Very good with very nice staff and food selection.

The TAVERN..... We loved it! Good vibe and very nice selection and knowledgeable staff. Try the Mountain Manhattan to die for.

The FRONT DESK..... Helpful, pleasant and efficient!


We didn't book any tours.... So we can't comment on it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel At Yosemite
Evergreen Lodge Yosemite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.