We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommend to Family travelor” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
YOSEMITE BED & BREAKFAST
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Torrance, California
2 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not recommend to Family travelor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A price is high that a location is bad and takes it to the Yosemite national park more than one hour. Though it is a lodge, there is not the kitchen, and, anyway, it costs money because a restaurant is expensive.
I want you to be careful when you make a reservation. Cancellation, the change is OK, but usually requests Diposit for the night one week before the day when I made a reservation when they are not on 30th or 60 days ago.
Because, anyway, they are not flexible, they cannot recommend it to a family vacation.
The correspondence of the customer service is extremely bad, too. I felt very unpleasant.
My family never uses this hotel and will not recommend it to a friend in future either.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    363
    74
    43
    34
See reviews for
433
502
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved this place - it really caters to families with kids. The recreation room was awesome - pool table, ping pong, shuffleboard, table soccer board, toys for younger kids, playground with tepees, rope obstacles thru out the grounds. They have a great pool and hot tub area centrally located. Had a very nice dinner at the restaurant and beautiful view at the "sunset view" vista.

We stayed at one of their 2 bedroom units - 2 adults and 3 kids. We were very comfortable with ample room. We stayed in Cabin C9 - directly above the pool and hot tub. Great to walk out and be in the tub in about 30 seconds. Also - they have a great trail that circles around the entire property - easy walk about 30 minutes for a casual jaunt to appreciate the area.

Why not 5 stars? I really wanted to put 4.5 stars: this had to do with the amount of time it takes you to get to Yosemite Valley Floor - a solid 1 hour drive with light traffic. In the peak summer months - this could be a bit of a nightmare if you don't leave Evergreen early enough in the morning. Outside of this issue - the place is fantastic. If you don't mind the drive to the Yosemite Valley, then you'll be doing handstands here. Highly recommend.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at Evergreen Lodge during the second part of our week in the USA to celebrate my sons 21st birthday. The first part was a weekend in Las Vegas, so the Evergreen experience was always anticipated as being a little different. I cannot fault the customer service provided by these guys which actually began in the weeks before our stay with the ever patient and ever professional Elisabeth answering a myriad of questions for me about travelling to the lodge and options for us while we were there. Elisabeth's high level of customer service was evident too in all her team who made our stay so thoroughly enjoyable. Bryant deserves a special mention - we spent a fascinating day with him in Yosemite - what a charming capable and knowledgeable young man who made our day in the park a real treat. The lodge cabins were first class, the food in the restaurant was fresh and tasty and the whole set up was first class. Can't say anything more about it. If you are thinking of Yosemite- you won't find better than Evergreen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Enjoyed a great weekend at the Evergreen Lodge with a small group of friends after getting a deal on Living Social. We stayed in a two-bedroom cabin in the "Kolana" area and it was wonderful. The cabin appeared to be nearly brand-new and was very comfortable, offering the perfect amount of space. The only thing I would caution future guests that the sliding doors bedrooms offer no noise reduction at all, so if you are looking for total privacy from your fellow cabin-mates you won't find it here. My crew and I didn't have any problems with it.

We took advantage of the hot tub, the outdoor fireplace for s'mores, the tavern, the restaurant and the general store and were highly impressed by all. The service was impeccable everywhere we went and the quality of the food in the general store and the restaurant was great. The website advertised the hot tub as being filled with salt water, but I could have sworn I smelled chlorine. Oh well.

All in all it was a perfect stay just outside Yosemite and I would love to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We drove in blindly and were surprised how nice this lodge is. Everything is well laid out and nothing missing. The cabins are very nice, clean and have great views. Food is decent, the breakfast is fabulous. General store has everything you would need and there is a nice short trail around the property. We are outdoors types but like some comforts and this was the perfect place. Hot tub was HOT for once, yeah! Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunriver, Oregon
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

What an amazing place! Clean, comfortable and a delightful setting. Traveled here in the "off-season" so was very quiet. Great food at the restaurant/tavern. Close to one of the entrances to Yosemite. An entrance that is apparently open year-round. Staff were obviously selected based on their "people skills" as everyone was very friendly and anxious to be as helpful and pleasant as possible. One should be aware, not that it really mattered to us, that the nearest town is about 30 minutes away. For us that meant eating primarily at the restaurant on site. Be certain to carry tire chains in the winter months as they are often required to get into Yosemite.

Room Tip: Would advise looking at a site map and choosing accordingly. Many different size cabins to choose f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is exactly the place first time Yosemite visitors might dream about and hope it exists! A beautiful, unpretentious, secluded lodge in the midst of the outer Yosemite forest, only 2 miles from the West Entrance.

Don't stay in overly crowded Yosemite Valley if you can have a cabin here, sitting on your Patio, looking for bears, listening to the sounds of the forest while drinking a glass of wine.

Evergreen Lodge has a fantastic restaurant (American) where the food is pricy but very good! You can sit outside or inside but make sure to reserve a table ahead of time.

They also recently buitl a pool and hottub which completed the great facilities there. Imaging you come back from a wonderful day hiking in Yosemite, taking a shower in your very convenient cabin, having a sundowner drink on your patio or at the sunset spot, the taking off for a dinner followed by live music in the bar or some smores at the fireside.

We've been there multiple times and absolutely LOVE it! It's quite pricey but it's worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the Wawona cottages, they are a bit more pricey I think but they are at the very back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evergreen Lodge is a newly expanded full-service historic resort featuring 88 spacious cabins in the woods. The lodge sits on 20 acres just a mile from Yosemite National Park in California, putting top attractions - Yosemite Valley, Tuolumne Meadows and Hetch Hetchy - in easy reach. At the lodge, savor a delicious meal, kick back in the classic tavern and enjoy other amenities, including Evergreen's sun deck, game room, kids play areas, nightly activities and therapeutic massage. Ready for adventure? Evergreen's professional guide service offers a variety of sightseeing, hiking, biking, fly fishing and snowshoeing tours, as well as free planning advice for self-guided adventures. A Frommer's 'Favorite' and 'Highly Recommended' by Fodor's, the Evergreen provides the perfect mix of recreation, relaxation and indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel At Yosemite
Evergreen Lodge Yosemite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.