We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Danville, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic family Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved this place - it really caters to families with kids. The recreation room was awesome - pool table, ping pong, shuffleboard, table soccer board, toys for younger kids, playground with tepees, rope obstacles thru out the grounds. They have a great pool and hot tub area centrally located. Had a very nice dinner at the restaurant and beautiful view at the "sunset view" vista.

We stayed at one of their 2 bedroom units - 2 adults and 3 kids. We were very comfortable with ample room. We stayed in Cabin C9 - directly above the pool and hot tub. Great to walk out and be in the tub in about 30 seconds. Also - they have a great trail that circles around the entire property - easy walk about 30 minutes for a casual jaunt to appreciate the area.

Why not 5 stars? I really wanted to put 4.5 stars: this had to do with the amount of time it takes you to get to Yosemite Valley Floor - a solid 1 hour drive with light traffic. In the peak summer months - this could be a bit of a nightmare if you don't leave Evergreen early enough in the morning. Outside of this issue - the place is fantastic. If you don't mind the drive to the Yosemite Valley, then you'll be doing handstands here. Highly recommend.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    333
    71
    42
    33
See reviews for
395
457
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at Evergreen Lodge during the second part of our week in the USA to celebrate my sons 21st birthday. The first part was a weekend in Las Vegas, so the Evergreen experience was always anticipated as being a little different. I cannot fault the customer service provided by these guys which actually began in the weeks before our stay with the ever patient and ever professional Elisabeth answering a myriad of questions for me about travelling to the lodge and options for us while we were there. Elisabeth's high level of customer service was evident too in all her team who made our stay so thoroughly enjoyable. Bryant deserves a special mention - we spent a fascinating day with him in Yosemite - what a charming capable and knowledgeable young man who made our day in the park a real treat. The lodge cabins were first class, the food in the restaurant was fresh and tasty and the whole set up was first class. Can't say anything more about it. If you are thinking of Yosemite- you won't find better than Evergreen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Enjoyed a great weekend at the Evergreen Lodge with a small group of friends after getting a deal on Living Social. We stayed in a two-bedroom cabin in the "Kolana" area and it was wonderful. The cabin appeared to be nearly brand-new and was very comfortable, offering the perfect amount of space. The only thing I would caution future guests that the sliding doors bedrooms offer no noise reduction at all, so if you are looking for total privacy from your fellow cabin-mates you won't find it here. My crew and I didn't have any problems with it.

We took advantage of the hot tub, the outdoor fireplace for s'mores, the tavern, the restaurant and the general store and were highly impressed by all. The service was impeccable everywhere we went and the quality of the food in the general store and the restaurant was great. The website advertised the hot tub as being filled with salt water, but I could have sworn I smelled chlorine. Oh well.

All in all it was a perfect stay just outside Yosemite and I would love to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We drove in blindly and were surprised how nice this lodge is. Everything is well laid out and nothing missing. The cabins are very nice, clean and have great views. Food is decent, the breakfast is fabulous. General store has everything you would need and there is a nice short trail around the property. We are outdoors types but like some comforts and this was the perfect place. Hot tub was HOT for once, yeah! Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

What an amazing place! Clean, comfortable and a delightful setting. Traveled here in the "off-season" so was very quiet. Great food at the restaurant/tavern. Close to one of the entrances to Yosemite. An entrance that is apparently open year-round. Staff were obviously selected based on their "people skills" as everyone was very friendly and anxious to be as helpful and pleasant as possible. One should be aware, not that it really mattered to us, that the nearest town is about 30 minutes away. For us that meant eating primarily at the restaurant on site. Be certain to carry tire chains in the winter months as they are often required to get into Yosemite.

Room Tip: Would advise looking at a site map and choosing accordingly. Many different size cabins to choose f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is exactly the place first time Yosemite visitors might dream about and hope it exists! A beautiful, unpretentious, secluded lodge in the midst of the outer Yosemite forest, only 2 miles from the West Entrance.

Don't stay in overly crowded Yosemite Valley if you can have a cabin here, sitting on your Patio, looking for bears, listening to the sounds of the forest while drinking a glass of wine.

Evergreen Lodge has a fantastic restaurant (American) where the food is pricy but very good! You can sit outside or inside but make sure to reserve a table ahead of time.

They also recently buitl a pool and hottub which completed the great facilities there. Imaging you come back from a wonderful day hiking in Yosemite, taking a shower in your very convenient cabin, having a sundowner drink on your patio or at the sunset spot, the taking off for a dinner followed by live music in the bar or some smores at the fireside.

We've been there multiple times and absolutely LOVE it! It's quite pricey but it's worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the Wawona cottages, they are a bit more pricey I think but they are at the very back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a great stay here! There are so many things for the kids to do. They have game rooms with a huge fireplace. Heated pool and hot tub. Many little obstacle courses set up around the lodge. It was our first time to Yosemite and our stay here made the whole trip memorable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel At Yosemite
Evergreen Lodge Yosemite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.