We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Save Saved
You added Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Groveland
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Enjoyed a great weekend at the Evergreen Lodge with a small group of friends after getting a deal on Living Social. We stayed in a two-bedroom cabin in the "Kolana" area and it was wonderful. The cabin appeared to be nearly brand-new and was very comfortable, offering the perfect amount of space. The only thing I would caution future guests that the sliding doors bedrooms offer no noise reduction at all, so if you are looking for total privacy from your fellow cabin-mates you won't find it here. My crew and I didn't have any problems with it.

We took advantage of the hot tub, the outdoor fireplace for s'mores, the tavern, the restaurant and the general store and were highly impressed by all. The service was impeccable everywhere we went and the quality of the food in the general store and the restaurant was great. The website advertised the hot tub as being filled with salt water, but I could have sworn I smelled chlorine. Oh well.

All in all it was a perfect stay just outside Yosemite and I would love to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    556
    303
    67
    39
    31
See reviews for
349
401
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blair, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We drove in blindly and were surprised how nice this lodge is. Everything is well laid out and nothing missing. The cabins are very nice, clean and have great views. Food is decent, the breakfast is fabulous. General store has everything you would need and there is a nice short trail around the property. We are outdoors types but like some comforts and this was the perfect place. Hot tub was HOT for once, yeah! Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

What an amazing place! Clean, comfortable and a delightful setting. Traveled here in the "off-season" so was very quiet. Great food at the restaurant/tavern. Close to one of the entrances to Yosemite. An entrance that is apparently open year-round. Staff were obviously selected based on their "people skills" as everyone was very friendly and anxious to be as helpful and pleasant as possible. One should be aware, not that it really mattered to us, that the nearest town is about 30 minutes away. For us that meant eating primarily at the restaurant on site. Be certain to carry tire chains in the winter months as they are often required to get into Yosemite.

Room Tip: Would advise looking at a site map and choosing accordingly. Many different size cabins to choose f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is exactly the place first time Yosemite visitors might dream about and hope it exists! A beautiful, unpretentious, secluded lodge in the midst of the outer Yosemite forest, only 2 miles from the West Entrance.

Don't stay in overly crowded Yosemite Valley if you can have a cabin here, sitting on your Patio, looking for bears, listening to the sounds of the forest while drinking a glass of wine.

Evergreen Lodge has a fantastic restaurant (American) where the food is pricy but very good! You can sit outside or inside but make sure to reserve a table ahead of time.

They also recently buitl a pool and hottub which completed the great facilities there. Imaging you come back from a wonderful day hiking in Yosemite, taking a shower in your very convenient cabin, having a sundowner drink on your patio or at the sunset spot, the taking off for a dinner followed by live music in the bar or some smores at the fireside.

We've been there multiple times and absolutely LOVE it! It's quite pricey but it's worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the Wawona cottages, they are a bit more pricey I think but they are at the very back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a great stay here! There are so many things for the kids to do. They have game rooms with a huge fireplace. Heated pool and hot tub. Many little obstacle courses set up around the lodge. It was our first time to Yosemite and our stay here made the whole trip memorable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We spend every other Valentine's Day at Yosemite and were looking for somewhere new to stay. We read some reviews and decided to give The Everygreen Lodge a try. We stayed three days/nights in Feb 2013 in a King bed cabin heated with an electric fire place. It was very clean and surprisingly updated and looked more "rustic" on the outside than the inside actually was. From the minute we checked in until we checked out, the service and staff was excellent. Our cabin had a Keurig beverage maker and small refrigerator and as mentioned in other reviews, a Serius satellite radio and iPod dock. There is no TV or wireless and the internet is only available in the Recreation building and that is so painfully slow it's not worth using. No worries, though, once you get to the Yosemite Valley there is plenty of time to connect again if you want to.
There is a Tavern and connecting Restaurant that serve the same menu. There was a band in the Tavern on a Saturday night to entertain after the last dinner order was taken. The food was plentiful, well prepared and presented with the Purple Kale Salad being our hands down favorite. After we returned from hiking and snowshoeing (we had to look for snow as the weather was warm and sunny) we checked out a DVD and played it on our laptop in our room. There are DVD players available for rent if needed. The grounds are large, well laid out with paved trails that are lit at night as well as a nature trail, horseshoe pits and an outdoor fire pit that serves smore's in the evening. There are many activities from yoga to hikes that can be arranged, but these are quite pricey.

The only downside would be the distance from the Lodge to the actual Valley floor. Thankfully we had read reviews and were prepared for the longer than expected trip in and out of the Park, so this wasn't a problem for us but I could see it being an unpleasant surprise to others. That said, we enjoyed the ride in and out everyday as the weather was gorgeous.

We would highly recommend this as a comfortable, well-staffed property with lots to do and see and will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: The king bed cabins are spacious and well appointed and the gas fireplace keeps the room warm and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

While on a business trip in the area, I had the chance to visit Yosemite and found the Evergreen Lodge. EL has a unique accommodation: custom tents, with lantern, air mattress, complete with fireplace, nearby showers, and a morning visit from park facility staff to 'refresh' the air mattress!! While I had reservations to dine @ EL, I cancelled it once I discovered the friendly 'grill pub'- the menu, brews, pub visitors and staff were most welcoming. The next day I took advantage of the day tour to visit the Park itself- for $100, I was able to see it all. I never would have been able to find the great photoshoots and sights with out a planned tour. Met a British couple on the tour, and made plans to hike again the next day. The staff at EL were fantastic: friendly, professional, and made great recommendations of nearby things to visit and see on my way to Sacramento. Lodi was the BEST: lots of wineries, local brewpub for the end of the day- and my introduction to 'garlic fries'. If your $$$ goes further, take advantage of the EL upgrades for lodging...and otherwise, you'll still feel a bit spoiled and indulged the EL staff!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
Independent Hot...
Show More
16.9 mi away
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 1,727 reviews
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
17.9 mi away
The Ahwahnee
The Ahwahnee
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,144 reviews
Restaurant, Bar...
Show More
15.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
20.4 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#4 of 5 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
20.5 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 5 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Boutique, Pool...
Show More
20.6 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo and Orbitz so you can book your Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel At Yosemite
Evergreen Lodge Yosemite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.