We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off Yosemite Cabins
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Groveland
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We went to Evergreen Lodge in Dec 2012 and had the place practically to ourselves. We had a one day guided tour, using one of the guides at the Evergreen, and had an amazing day...even being lucky enough to spot some bears! The lodge itself is a short ride away from yosemite National Park but is situated in a magical spot, with great walks and surroundings of it's own. The accomodation lodges are brilliant and are mainly semi-detached with private balconys and gas fires and are all connected via lamp lit pathways...beautiful at night. All the staff are SUPER friendly and we'll be going back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: Ask for a lodge by the Sunset viewing spot, where you'll get a beautifully romantic sunset from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    506
    268
    59
    35
    31
See reviews for
299
370
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Evergreen Lodge is a great location near the 120 entrance of Yosemite. We have enjoyed our summer visits to the Lodge so thought it might be fun to celebrate the new year here.

Our misfortunes began immediately when we were informed our cabin was not ready...after 2 or 3 visits to check, the room was finally ready after 4pm. In our previous visits, we had a parking spot next to our cabin so I was surprised to learn that we could drop off our luggage at the selected room but would have to park in the overflow parking area.

The long awaited room itself smelled "funky"; and we returned to the Reception area. Staff was accommodating and found us another room. (We have since learned that Evergreen closes in January to complete a through cleaning...clearly needed.)

Evergreen has recently added a pool/hot tub and we chose a room very close to this facility...with slightly less of a funk.

That evening, we discovered the the promotion information that we read about the 2 day visit had changed: no band for our first night.

The next day we arranged for the Snowshoe hike, but did not discover until we were leaving that staff elected to forgo the snowshoe's on the hike. Despite our disappointment, Bryant Burnette was well versed on local lore and we had a nice time.

Staff attempted to provide a nice New Year's and the food was excellent but the band choice did not really inspire dancing and the other room was cold (with a door open all evening) so very uninviting.

Overall a uneven and disappointing experience. We will return again to Evergreen but only during the summer months.

Room Tip: Check to see if room has an allocated parking spot. If a family, ask for a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I've stayed here twice, once in the summer and then just last weekend for New Years Eve. I don't know, the place is nice enough but it lacks something...soul maybe? I just don't yearn to be in this place. The cottages are furnished simply - nothing notable and not all that cozy. Tiny refrigerators and coffee makers that make one cup at a time. The food at the restaurant is hit or miss. Eggs benedict was good, but the prime rib was fatty. I don't like the way they nickle and dime (or dollar!) you for everything. A guided outing to Yosemite is something like $85 per person. Morning yoga is $15. Everything that sounded fun meant you'd have to shell out substantial moolah. The general store was well stocked with lots of useful items for hiking and did include reasonably priced bottles of wine. Rec room was well stocked with games and a nice fireplace. Staff is efficient and friendly, but seem impersonal to me. I just can't put my finger on why this place doesn't wow me -- I'm happier in Curry Village or San Jose Family Camp or the Lodge at Yosemite Falls. All those places feel special to me -- unfortunately, Evergreen Lodge does not.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I would highly recommend this Yosemite base. The staff are friendly and helpful and we had a really knowledgeable guide to ourselves for a full day trip inside Yosemite (Steve).
The accomodation is very comfortable and the food is great.
Yosemite itself is clearly the star of the show but this is a perfect base for it. The pool area is a really nice bonus too!
No TVS in the room but sure that is part of the charm and there is internet in the main building.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

If you are not intent on staying within the park, this is a delightful place to stay. It is about an hour from Yosemite Village, 20 minutes from the H-H dam. The staff does an excellent job of creating a variety of events for families, ideal for visiting with kids. There are a variety of beautiful hikes in the immediate neighborhood. The food on-site is quite adequate, especially breakfast. We stayed in one of the older cabins, quite adequate as long as you don't need fancy. The newer cabins look more comfortable if you are not interested in roughing it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

A bit of a drive but a perfect place to enjoy Yosemite and surrounding area. If I ever have another chance to visit this part of Calicfornia this is where I'm staying. The hotel staff are friendly and considerate. The rooms cleam and comfortable. Everyfhing is done with family in mind. Expect more than you expected here. Pool jacuzi, ping pong, indoor and outdoor childerns play areas. Internet is availablein the common room, but you wont find a tv. You dont need one. Spoil yourself and enjoy the escape.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We loved this place! In September of this year, my partner and I had our own little cabin tucked in the middle of nowhere with access to resort-like fun. The food is top-notch and so are the grounds (and the pool!)... and if you decide to go on one of their many adventure day trips, make sure you ask for Stephen. He made our trip even more fun than we expected... he is sweet, gracious and knows Yosemite inside and out.

Definitely book here - you won't regret it. It's great for couples and families. At first I thought I wanted to be right in Yosemite Valley, but I'm glad we stayed here instead. The Valley is a lot more touristy. Evergreen is only a short drive... and you get to enjoy great scenery on the way!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Also Known As:
Evergreen Lodge At Yosemite Hotel
Evergreen Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel At Yosemite
Evergreen Lodge Yosemite
Address: 33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list