We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uneven” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% OFF WINTER CABINS
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Uneven”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Evergreen Lodge is a great location near the 120 entrance of Yosemite. We have enjoyed our summer visits to the Lodge so thought it might be fun to celebrate the new year here.

Our misfortunes began immediately when we were informed our cabin was not ready...after 2 or 3 visits to check, the room was finally ready after 4pm. In our previous visits, we had a parking spot next to our cabin so I was surprised to learn that we could drop off our luggage at the selected room but would have to park in the overflow parking area.

The long awaited room itself smelled "funky"; and we returned to the Reception area. Staff was accommodating and found us another room. (We have since learned that Evergreen closes in January to complete a through cleaning...clearly needed.)

Evergreen has recently added a pool/hot tub and we chose a room very close to this facility...with slightly less of a funk.

That evening, we discovered the the promotion information that we read about the 2 day visit had changed: no band for our first night.

The next day we arranged for the Snowshoe hike, but did not discover until we were leaving that staff elected to forgo the snowshoe's on the hike. Despite our disappointment, Bryant Burnette was well versed on local lore and we had a nice time.

Staff attempted to provide a nice New Year's and the food was excellent but the band choice did not really inspire dancing and the other room was cold (with a door open all evening) so very uninviting.

Overall a uneven and disappointing experience. We will return again to Evergreen but only during the summer months.

Room Tip: Check to see if room has an allocated parking spot. If a family, ask for a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    342
    72
    43
    33
See reviews for
402
465
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I've stayed here twice, once in the summer and then just last weekend for New Years Eve. I don't know, the place is nice enough but it lacks something...soul maybe? I just don't yearn to be in this place. The cottages are furnished simply - nothing notable and not all that cozy. Tiny refrigerators and coffee makers that make one cup at a time. The food at the restaurant is hit or miss. Eggs benedict was good, but the prime rib was fatty. I don't like the way they nickle and dime (or dollar!) you for everything. A guided outing to Yosemite is something like $85 per person. Morning yoga is $15. Everything that sounded fun meant you'd have to shell out substantial moolah. The general store was well stocked with lots of useful items for hiking and did include reasonably priced bottles of wine. Rec room was well stocked with games and a nice fireplace. Staff is efficient and friendly, but seem impersonal to me. I just can't put my finger on why this place doesn't wow me -- I'm happier in Curry Village or San Jose Family Camp or the Lodge at Yosemite Falls. All those places feel special to me -- unfortunately, Evergreen Lodge does not.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I would highly recommend this Yosemite base. The staff are friendly and helpful and we had a really knowledgeable guide to ourselves for a full day trip inside Yosemite (Steve).
The accomodation is very comfortable and the food is great.
Yosemite itself is clearly the star of the show but this is a perfect base for it. The pool area is a really nice bonus too!
No TVS in the room but sure that is part of the charm and there is internet in the main building.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

If you are not intent on staying within the park, this is a delightful place to stay. It is about an hour from Yosemite Village, 20 minutes from the H-H dam. The staff does an excellent job of creating a variety of events for families, ideal for visiting with kids. There are a variety of beautiful hikes in the immediate neighborhood. The food on-site is quite adequate, especially breakfast. We stayed in one of the older cabins, quite adequate as long as you don't need fancy. The newer cabins look more comfortable if you are not interested in roughing it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

A bit of a drive but a perfect place to enjoy Yosemite and surrounding area. If I ever have another chance to visit this part of Calicfornia this is where I'm staying. The hotel staff are friendly and considerate. The rooms cleam and comfortable. Everyfhing is done with family in mind. Expect more than you expected here. Pool jacuzi, ping pong, indoor and outdoor childerns play areas. Internet is availablein the common room, but you wont find a tv. You dont need one. Spoil yourself and enjoy the escape.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We loved this place! In September of this year, my partner and I had our own little cabin tucked in the middle of nowhere with access to resort-like fun. The food is top-notch and so are the grounds (and the pool!)... and if you decide to go on one of their many adventure day trips, make sure you ask for Stephen. He made our trip even more fun than we expected... he is sweet, gracious and knows Yosemite inside and out.

Definitely book here - you won't regret it. It's great for couples and families. At first I thought I wanted to be right in Yosemite Valley, but I'm glad we stayed here instead. The Valley is a lot more touristy. Evergreen is only a short drive... and you get to enjoy great scenery on the way!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here for three nights as part of a road trip from San Francisco to Vegas. It was a great stay with a lovely cabin to ourselves overlooking the dense trees from the balcony. The Lodge itself is located in quite an isolated area so no phone signal or internet but this just added to the relaxing atmosphere and quiet nights. A satellite phone was available in the rec room and offering free USA calls as well as a basic internet connection that was hit and miss whether it worked or not.

Also in the rec room there is a very helpful team to help with planning days out, arranging tours, keeping you updated with the weather and even available to tell ghost stories of an evening during the nightly smores. Really good service provided by them.

The only real let down was the restaurant. A fairly limited menu available that was the same each night so we were struggling to decide what to have. Tries to be a bit posher than the decor would dictate it needs to be and being the only place to eat in the area it was overly expensive for what you got. In three nights we sent back three meals for being poorly cooked with a well done steak clearly leaking blood when cut into.

The bar area was nice with a warm feel to it. We got engaged in one of the giant sequoia groves whilst we were in the area and when back in the bar in the evening we mentioned it to the bar staff as we bought a bottle of champagne. Think we got a congratulations mumbled and the pleasure of the bar man adding a 10 dollar tip to our bill without our knowing about it until check out.

Other than the last two issues of restaurant and bar staff, really nice place to stay. It poured down with rain the whole time we were there but we didn't let that put us off the great surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel At Yosemite
Evergreen Lodge Yosemite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.