We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Macho Man Drinks Tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dori's Tea Cottage & Cafe

Dori's Tea Cottage & Cafe
18744 Main Street, P.O. Box 515, Groveland, CA 95321
+1 209-962-5300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, British, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We invite you to step back in time to enjoy the charming atmosphere of this historical site and to partake in the English tradition of taking tea. Dori's Tea Cottage opened in May 2008 to continue this fine tea tradition and to expand on Dori's life-long love of tea. In 2012, Dori's expanded into the adjacent space that is now Dori's Cafe, which was Groveland's former U.S. Post Office. The Cafe features espresso, gelato, smoothies, fresh brewed iced teas, sandwiches, wraps, quiche, soup, salad and a variety of bakery items. We hope you enjoy your visit - whether you enjoy a quick breakfast, join us for our English tea luncheon, or "Build a Picnic" for your trip to Yosemite.
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Macho Man Drinks Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

My wife and I stopped off at Dori's for lunch on our way to Yosemite. I am a macho coffee drinker, but it was the day after Mother's Day so I treated my wife. She fell in love with the place! Great place settings and the lunch plates had a variety of bite size sandwiches and desserts. The were fabulous. I drank the recommended artichoke tea and actually liked it enough to drink quite a few cupfuls. My wife says that this was a classic tea experience. The owner and wife made it a fun afternoon. A word of advice for those who desire a bigger meal. Order a takeout sandwich and eat it in the restaurant (with tea of course). For us macho guys, you'll even get crust on this sandwich.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    19
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder Creek, Ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Had delightful ambiance, food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

We had a sampler lunch and each of us had a pot of delicious custom teas. We also bought some samplers of tea to take home and try. They can be purchased on line. The restaraunt is an island of cosy and cute in a sea of gold country frontier. The food consisted of samplers of classic tea room fare: sandwich triangles with crusts excised. The fillings were freshly prepared and very tasty. The home made ginger snaps with lemon curd were fabulous. We didn't expect to get full; however, we departed satiated but not too full for the afternoon's activities. Even if you are merely passing through Groveland, do stop in a for a bite to eat and some great teas to take on your travels.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Charming place for tea, sandwiches, and now wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Dori and husband Greg offer an array of wonderful teas in a charming small space. The Victorian tea sandwiches are delicious and fun. Dori also makes delicious scones and other pastries. Not a place for macho men -- but wonderful for a ladies group or little girls.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Killing time before we could check into our accommodation , we stopped in Groveland and "found" Dori's. What a find this was--the food and tea are superbly presented, highly original and served with a friendliness that many other establishments would do well to emulate. Can't wait to go back !

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Germain, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
342 helpful votes 342 helpful votes
“Delightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Go for tea, it is so different from everything else. Dori's has a passion for tea and the foods they serve with it. The experience is best drawn out through the afternoon and hours of comfortable conversation.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dori's Tea Cottage & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Dori's Tea Cottage & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dori's Tea Cottage & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.