We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in a beautiful setting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast
19301 Elder Lane, PO Box 470, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK HERE FOR BEST RATES
Ranked #5 of 8 Groveland B&B and Inns
Corona del Mar, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in a beautiful setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

My husband and my best friend and I stayed here for one night on our way to Yosemite. We chose this after reading other reviews on Trip Advisor. The setting is gorgeous. It is a beautiful B&B -- lovely large rooms and bathrooms. The "inn keepers" were so fun; we ended up inviting them to join us for dinner at a local restaurant! We had a wonderful breakfast prepared by Joe before leaving.
S.Day
Corona del Mar, CA

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    10
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
50
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gandalf92478
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Me and my girlfriend recently had the pleasure of staying with Joe and Charleen at their bed and breakfast. We were initially concerned because we quickly found that visiting Yosemite in July is a task in and of itself. July is one of Yosemite's busiest times. Finding a place to stay in Yosemite during this time is definitely a challenge. However, we managed to find this little gem. The accommodations are simply immaculate! The Hospitality-blissful. The price-perfect.
Joe makes an awesome breakfast every morning. This is good because all of the hiking in Yosemite helps you build a terrific appetite. Char put us with John who happens to be a terrific Yosemite hiking guide. Check him out at yosemiteguideservice.com. I would recommend the cub inn to anyone. The conversations over breakfast were exhilarating. Hell, Char even took me for a test ride in her Porsche!!!!! Simply Marvelous!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

The Cub Inn really made our trip to Yosemite that much greater. It's a beautiful log home, so cozy and welcoming. Our hosts Joe and Char welcomed us graciously like family. Joe cooked amazing breakfasts (waffle, pancakes, fruit, eggs) that were perfect before our hiking adventures. They went above and beyond, so much better than a hotel for sure :)
They even recommended a guide to take us throughout Yosemite on our first trip there, John was such a great guide and made our trip so enjoyable.
We had so much fun, and hope to return soon!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

The Cub Inn is the ultimate B&B. Joe and Charleen the most welcoming and friendly hosts and their house is simply beautiful.

Joe's Breakfasts are something else too - the best waffles I have ever eaten!

The only downside was that my mate and I only had enough time to spend 2 nights in this idillyic spot. But that didn't stop Joe and Charleen welcoming us again like friends for a drink on our way back through town. Just lovely!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

We spent 11 days in California bookended by our son's wedding in Walnut Creek at the beginning and our 4 day stay at the Cub Inn as our final stop, in between visiting wine country, the Humboldt County redwoods and the northern coast. A simply great trip we will always remember and with lodging experiences ranging from a luxery hotel to B&B's.

To say the Cub Inn was our favorite place to stay is an understatement. From the moment we arrived, when Joe and Char greeted us with wine and cheese, we felt immediately at home among friends. This feeling only grew as our stay continued through the coming days.

The home they have built is simply beautiful. It is a log home, but of contemporary character with soaring windows looking out upon a wrap-around deck and the woods beyond. The focal point of evening gatherings of guests is the floor to ceiling stone fireplace set in a 28 foot high cathedral ceilinged great room.

The floorplan is open and airy, the great room adjoining the dining area and, unlike so many traditional B&B's, natural light and open space abounds. The country casual dining area really lends itself to congeniality among guests as Joe serves up coffee followed by robust breakfasts each morning. Our fare typically included eggs, waffels, sausage or bacon, fresh strawberries and sourdough bread freshly made by Joe.

After the sticker shock we New Englanders went through (breakfasts in CA cost $30-35 on average once tax/tips were included, compared to $16-20 in MA), these hearty breakfasts included as part of the lodging struck us as exceptional. No flimsy continental breakfasts here!

Our bedroom also bears mention. Named "Pam" after one of Joe's daughter's, it faces west so early morning sun doesn't intrude. It also gives the sense of being in your own log cabin, having an exposed log gable roof and log features in the walls. It's fresh, bright and airy, a place you simply enjoy being in, and like the house, immaculate. The king sized bed is new and very comfortable. The bath is also special, as others have mentioned the tub walls being lined with slate.

But the best part of our stay were our hosts themselves. Joe and Char are simply a very special couple. Both being pilots, they clearly have adventure in their souls, and their building of this B&B (it's only two years old now) is further evidence of this. They overcame their share of challenges, Joe drawing upon his mechanical engineering background along the way, and the result is a very special place to stay.

They are both also very personable and clearly love just "meeting new friends" as they say. On our first night they joined Donna and I for a great dinner at a restaurant they recommended, and on another evening we joined them in celebrating a friends 50th birthday at what Char described as a "cowboy watering hole", which was a blast!

They also give you your space when you just want quiet time. Donna and I spent one memorable evening just looking up at the stars from the deck, alone as a couple. And their affectionate cats and dog, Zowie, made this pet deprived couple feel very much at home as well.

Then there's Yosemite. We spent each day exploring its beauty, one day in the valley, another on Tioga Road, and our last at Sentinel Beach just hanging out and looking across the river to the Yosemite Falls. Stunningly beautiful, and if you're a photography buff (as I am), a very special experience.

Groveland itself is also a great place, an authentic gold rush town with saloons and hotels going back to the 1850's. It's not Disney, thank goodness, just a fun place to hang out. Where else can you see horses grazing in a meadow right downtown?

We came away feeling we not only had a great stay in a beautiful home in the woods, but that we'd hit it off with some great new friends as well. We will be sure to come back next time we're out (wonderful thing, now having inlaws in CA!), our highest rating of all.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

After a strenuous day of Yosemite hiking, we were welcomed with homemade ch chip cookies and delicious chardonnay. Spent wonderful evening engaged in conversation with Char and Joe, two very charming and interesting hosts! Stayed in Pam's room which was airy, quiet and bed devine! Breakfast by Joe was again a delicious and plentiful. Would recommend to anyone who wants a relaxing end or energetic start to a busy day!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

Found Cubb Inn at the last minute while looking for a place to satisfy my fussy significant other. (The pickings in Groveland are limited!) Everything about the house and accomodations is immaculate, beautiful and comfortable. Joe and Charleen's hospitality is very warm, but not at all overbearing for my more solitary s.o. It was so comfortable that it truly was like staying at a home away from home. As an added bonus for us, there are fabulous non-intrusive cats. We make frequent trips to the area and are thrilled to have found this treasure.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 19301 Elder Lane, PO Box 470, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New construction beautiful log home, 3 luxury rooms, all with private bath. Quiet, off-highway, on 3 acres of alpine forested land. Views, great food, homemade bread our specialty. Friendly hospitality. Near Yosemite, public golf course, river rafting, golf, horseback riding. Middle of California Gold Country. Fly in to local airport and we'll pick you up. Stay 2 nights, receive 3rd night free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.