We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed a week and that wasn't long enough!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Ridge Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yosemite Ridge Resort
Save
You added Yosemite Ridge Resort to your Saves list
7589 State Hwy. 120, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“We stayed a week and that wasn't long enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed in a travel trailer, so I can't say anything about what was going on in the cabins. We had the coveted camp spot #15. The sites here have full hookups which was awesome! Our site was a nice spot up on a hill by itself with a little lower yard and a small peach tree. Bob, the groundskeeper, turned on the sprinkler so we minded the sprinkler the rest of the week because we saw when it had been freshly watered, lots of birds would come to eat. We did a lot of bird watching. There were beautiful oak woodpeckers and blue birds that liked to eat on the premature peaches. Suzi in the office is a doll! There is a general store so if you are needing something it will likely be there. Next door is a restaurant that is owned by Joe who also owns the campground and I believe the motel next door. There is no cell service or wireless unless you go to the restaurant or motel and then it is very spotty. That was fine with me since I was wanting to enjoy nature. The campground was nice and quiet. Up the road a bit is the Rainbow Pool, which is a waterfall and pooled area. It is really pretty, but we never could find a time when it wasn't occupied by many. The campground is close to Yosemite so you can easily drive there, and I would guess much less expensive camping. There isn't a huge selection of restaurants in the area, only one in Buck Meadows and few more in Groveland so don't expect much that way. The staff at the Buck Meadows restaurant was great and we got to know them pretty well. We didnt want to leave but had to get back home. It is a great area and we are definitely returning.

Room Tip: If you are camping ask for #15
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    38
    22
    8
    8
See reviews for
86
51
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was an awesome place. We stayed in a Family Cabin and you can't beat the value! When we arrived, in the midst of 90-degree heat. Thankfully, the cabins had a/c, and the units were going full tilt. We stayed 5 nights with two parents (thanks for the private BR!), and a 10-yo boy, 12-yo boy, 15-yo boy, and 21-yo college-student daughter. This cabin was great for us--private, economical, the fridge held a week's worth of groceries from Oakdale, and we never would have found out about Rainbow Pool without their recommendation. The cliff jumping was amazing: 25 feet with an overhang and deep pool to land in. My daughter did back flips!

A few quibbles: no cell coverage meant when my daughter and son hiked in the park we could only be reached through the front desk, and that didn't work for us. There is Verizon coverage 2 miles east and AT&T coverage 10 miles west in Groveton, but that's a hike. Best bet for ATT 4G coverage is Foresta in the Park. No wireless, either, but that's not why we came to Yosemite. The location is perfect: an hour from the valley, 90 minutes from Tolumne Meadows, 40 minutes from Hetchy Hetchy--you really can access almost the whole park quite easily, except for the Mariposa Grove--but you can combine a trip there with Glacier Point.

I would definitely stay here again--the location, the quality of the lodging, and the people really make this the best value I could find!

Room Tip: Family cabins are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed over the labor day weekend in the RV park space #7, it was by far the best weekend we have had in a long time, the park was very clean,their was nicely kept grass at each camp spot, that is something you usually do'nt get in an RV park. The staff was very friendly and very helpfull, if you had any question about Yosemite or surrounding attraction they could point you in the right direction. In my opinion this is by far the best RV park around the yosemite area, we camp quit a bit up in that area and they are #1 in my book. On a scale of 1-10 they get a 10

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in the Miner's cabin. There are four of us, my husband and 17 year old twins. My husband and son slept in the bedroom, and my daughter and I slept on the futon in the living room. We appreciated finding this cabin as we made late reservations, and were pleased to find anything so close to the entrance of Yosemite. The queen bed is really a futon, and not very comfortable. The futon in the living room is double sized, so smaller than the one in the bedroom. It seemed ok for my daughter and I, although it took us awhile to figure out how to set it up. The cushion behind the futon, that we needed to use once we put the bed together, was very dusty. The pillows were very flat. The cleanliness of the cabin was marginal. It was just ok. It's a cabin after all so we didn't expect perfection. I agree with prior reviewers that the shower head is very low. The front porch was very nice and we did enjoy sitting out there. The Miners cabin sits back away from the other cabins and RV sites, and has some nice trees around it. It worked just fine for our needs. It is a bit of drive once you get into Yosemite, to the Valley, but if you don't want to or are unable to stay in the park, there isn't much else this close to the entrance. One note - we ate at the Buck Meadows restaurant and it was a HORRIBLE experience. Don't waste your time or money there. The service was awful, but then, that's a different review!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yosemitejoe2, Owner at Yosemite Ridge Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
Everyone here appreciates constructive criticism and we do act on it. You are correct that the queen bed was a futon. We have replaced it with a regular queen bed with a mattress and box spring. We try to put extra pillows in each cabin as I know the feeling of not having your head elevated enough while sleeping. Unfortunately, they seem to disappear quickly and I have mentioned this to housekeeping.

Yours was the second comment we've had regarding the showerhead and we have raised it 12 inches which should accomodate all of our guests, regardless of height.

I'm glad you enjoyed the large porch as I think it is the nicest in the park and I'm sorry you had a bad experience in our restaurant. I am making some major personnel changes this year which I think will really help when we are so busy in midsummer. Also, we are adding a large patio off the bar which should relieve some of the congestion inside.

Again, thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again when you head this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinole, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was our 3rd Annual Yosemite Motorcycle Road Trip to Yosemite. There were 16 motorcycles and a SUV. We rented 5 Family Cottages at Yosemite Ridge. Yosemite Joe had everything set from the cabins to reservations at Buck Meadows Restaurant for 20 people. The cabins were great! The place is always clean and ready for a wonderful stay. The place is perfectly situated between Groveland and Yosemite Valley. We found the swimming hole with the waterfall and the kids had a blast! Fishing was ok but the swimming hole is a must next year! We had dinner at the restaurant on one night and a GREAT BBQ on the 2nd night.The BBQ pits were clean and ready to use. The picnic tables sat everyone. Everyone that was new to our group this year had a wonderful time and can't wait until next year. Thank you Joe for a wonderful stay!!! I'll be calling in the spring to reserve cabins for our 4th Annual trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a site with all the basic amenities. We found the two garden cottages clean, as were the toilets, shower and washroom blocks. There is all that was necessary for what was really just somewhere to sit with friends or sleep. The security issue is common to any 'mobile home' based accommodation; just don't leave items of value there. The nearby restaurant does good, basic food. The staff, throughout, were helpful and Joe was very considerate over a very (9month) early booking from the UK. He even e-mailed to confirm around 14 days before arrival! The location is ideal for one or more trips into Yosemite, being just a short drive outside the park. Prices for accommodation (and fuel) much more realistic.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The word resort is more than pushing it and garden cottage is a big exaggeration. Our 'cottage' felt in need of a good scrub and had a large ant problem. I didn't feel the unit was very secure and the blinds throughout left a lot to be desired with regards to privacy.
The restaurant isnt part of the main lot and is in fact down the road and a rusty old hoop doesn't make a basketball court.
We had great trouble finding it from the directions on the website. The air conditioning was very noisy and even made the bed shake slightly.
On the up side it's close to the park. We only stayed one night therefore did not have time to bring these issues up with the staff who were friendly thus denying them an opportunity to solve our issues.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Ridge Resort

Address: 7589 State Hwy. 120, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 43 acre resort, located in The Stanislaus National Forest, in Buck Meadows(pop.50) is only 12 miles to the western entrance to Yosemite National Park and only 11 miles from the picturesque town of Groveland. We are the closest lodging and dining to the meeting place for all of the river rafting companies on the Tuolumne River. We offer daily and weekly rates on Cabins, Garden Cottages and full hookup RV sites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yosemite Ridge Hotel Groveland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.