We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother's Day brunch was perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Groveland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Groveland Hotel to your Saves list
The Groveland Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18767 Main Street, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Wines for Holiday Giving!
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Mother's Day brunch was perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

My daughter and I stopped in for Mother's Day brunch while camping in Yosemite and was pleasantly delighted by the warm service John provided and the amaizing selections of food we had to choose from. It was such a special time that we stopped in again before leaving Yosemite that Thursday to enjoy the breakfast before our long journey back to San Diego!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    131
    57
    42
    32
See reviews for
66
254
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

Charming historic B&B. Provided a great nite's sleep. The restaurant is a real treat, awesome chef and great wine selection. John makes an awesome omlete and provided good travel tips as well. It was a real pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

The Groveland Hotel is a registered as a US Historical landmark. The owners Peggy and Grover have owned it for about 20 years and have invested 1000000 in refurbishing this Gold Rush era hotel. The staff was exceptional, keeping our beautiful period suite (the Hetch Hetchy) clean and stocked, serving us a hot breakfast everyday (included in the room price) and serving us gourmet dinners with excellent wine. My family is very active and we hiked at least 6 miles each day of our stay so returning tired and worn each evening to our suite was delicious. I want to especially note that our breakfast waiter John was excellent both at his job of serving breakfast, but also as a friendly insider to information and places in driving distance from Groveland. I wish I was having breakfast there today to enjoy their Belgian waffles served with fresh fruit and freshly made whipped cream. The suite itself was very comfortable and charming, with antique furniture throughout and a very comfortable queen sized feather bed. It also had a spa tub which was a nice place to soak tired muscles. I hope I can go back there some day and would heartily recommend it. It was also a great value. What else can one ask for?

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

The owners and staff were extremely friendly. Peggy Mosley spent alot of time with us, telling us history and some fun stories regarding the Groveland. I am with the California Paranormal Research group and was not disappointed. I recommend this to anyone who wants a weekend getaway. The restaurant is excellent. The rooms are decorated so nicely and are very comfortable!...We love it! Plus the history and locale just adds to it.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

My husband, son and I checked in and we were greeted by a warm smile from Willow. A lovely lady who was able to answer all of our questions and take care of all of our needs. Our room was a suite called Julia Bullette, a 2 room suite in the back and side. It was quiet, clean, inviting and most of all FUN! I love the room, the fireplace, the wardrobe, the spa tub, everything was detailed and clean. The room warms up and cool off quickly. The breakfast was outstanding, fresh, plentiful and the cook, John was amazing! He made the trip for us. He went out of his way to do what he could for us during our mornings here. His food was hot, just as I ordered and we ate all of it. The second day we got a lovely call from Ashley to see if we were going to be dinning with them today. We had slept in and almost forgot. Thanks Ashley, you helped us.

In short, this place is the best place in Groveland hands down, it lovely, quiet and we like it very much.

Thank you guys!

Julie aka 2HYPPER

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

I had a great stay at the Groveland Hotel! I’d never been to Yosemite before, and this was a great home base just outside the valley. Our room, the Hetch Hetchy, was amazing! It had a separate living area with fireplace, and a jetted tub which was amazing after hiking all day. The food was amazing! Breakfast was included, there was a small but tasty made to order menu (I had Belgian waffles with fruit both mornings, my husband had omelets). We also had dinner there one night, which was great! They had an amazing wine list, the food was outstanding and the wait staff was very attentive. We were there in February, and there weren’t many people in Groveland or in Yosemite, but I can imagine in the warmer months they would get a lot of people in the hotel and restaurant, it was so great! As far as I could tell, it was the only restaurant of such great caliber in the area, and should definitely be a stop for anyone headed this way, even if they aren’t staying at the hotel. Yosemite itself was snowy and beautiful. It was an amazing first trip to the area, and I can’t wait to head back in warmer weather! Thank you for a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

My family were traveling to Yosemite and had a forced stop at Groveland for mechanical car problems. We had a great surprise, Grover and Penny recieved us as old friends, and we felt like being home. The hotel itself seems to have pulled out from a old history book, with such a good stuff. Beds are awsome, realy old movies cenary, My kids are 18 and 20 and they enjoyed it as much as Yosemite park. Woth not just to drive thru, but to stay and travel in time. Thank you Peggy and Grover for our excelent stay. Good food, good wine, good service, good people.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Groveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Groveland Hotel

Address: 18767 Main Street, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Groveland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Groveland Hotel at Yosemite National Park is a full service Yosemite region hotel, featuring 17 award-winning guest rooms. Our Cellar Door Restaurant is a casual yet fine dining experience, with a full bar and Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence wine list. It is the perfect location for your Tuolumne River whitewater expedition, hiking, biking, horseback riding, fishing, golf at Pine Mountain Lake, or just a great place to hang out and relax. A visit to Rainbow Pool (a great local swimmin' hole) with a great bottle of wine from the Cellar Door makes for a memorable, lazy afternoon. Located on the most direct, scenic route to Yosemite National Park from the San Francisco Bay Area and Sacramento on Highway 120, Yosemite National Park's year-round northern entrance is a half hour or 23 picturesque miles from your Groveland, CA hotel. Our accommodations feature down comforters, featherbeds, private baths, delicious California cuisine, a full-service saloon, a full hot breakfast included with your stay, free parking and free Wi-Fi/high-speed Internet access in all rooms. We also offer free use of a guest computer with Wi-Fi connection and the ability to print out boarding passes at the front desk. Our Tesla electric car charger is available at no charge to hotel guests. The Groveland Hotel is pet-friendly and we welcome guests from around the globe, with all budgets - families, road-weary tourists, business executives, aviation enthusiasts, rock climbers, honeymooners - with gracious Southern Hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Groveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Groveland
Groveland The Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Groveland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.