We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Groveland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Groveland Hotel to your Saves list
The Groveland Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18767 Main Street, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here with LivingSocial deal we'd purchased in order to see Yosemite waterfalls in the springtime -- and the Groveland Hotel more than exceeded our expectations! We'd never really stayed at a historic hotel before, but I absolutely loved the details in our room (the Sierra Nevada Vade room) -- the bed was so comfortable, and we had our own door out to the patio. We had a fantastic dinner at the Cellar Door restaurant, where Kim, Dylan, Mike, Mary and John gave us a delicious meal. I had the red wine flight, which introduced me to some great local wines. We were a quick drive away from Yosemite, and it was so nice to enjoy the park without the fear of camping in bad weather! We were able to hear some noise from the restaurant downstairs, but since it closed at 9 it didn't disturb our sleep at all. And waking up to the smell of bacon was just like being in my grandparents' house! Overall a very cozy and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Sierra Nevada Vade room -- our own door out to the patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    141
    59
    45
    35
See reviews for
72
273
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

What a jewel hidden away in the gorgeous Yosemite area. My son (13) and I visited the "haunted" hotel in December and had a fantasic time. Of course he didn't know it was haunted until he overheard the staff and I discussing it. Well let me say that that perked his ears right up. The staff of Barbara, Leland, Tom and Gerard, with their kindness and hospitality, made our stay a memorable experience. The food was delicious- I haven't had a filet mignon so tender and juicy in years. the local shops were adorable and the ride to Yosemite was less curvy than I expected. What a wonderful place to relax and to spend quality time with the ones you love. This would be an awesome place for couples looking to add that spark to their lives. You don't want to miss this.

Room Tip: You cant go wrong with any of the rooms- they are all beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We loved our time here - the hotel was great and it's a quick trip to Yosemite. The food at the restaurant is also excellent. The rib eye steak was the biggest I've ever seen and the quality of the food was top notch. Our server, Kim, was very helpful in recommending both food and beverage choices and provided us with a wonderful overall experience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

What an adorable place! Absolutely charming, takes you out of modern, fast-paced life into the the Victorian era. The rooms are so cosy and the furniture looks as straight from the antique shop. The most charming part was the dining room. It looked just like setting for Agatha Christie's stories -- small, with dim chandeliers and all hotel guests now each other from the breakfast earlier in the same room. It absolutely feels like dining room in the old house of British Granny. I don't recall the name of our dinner service waitress, but the breakfast server Tom was truly fantastic! He gave us 3 Michelin stars service; impeccably mannered, endlessly friendly, attentive, and made us feel so well taken care of without being a bit intrusive. He made my morning much sunnier on that rainy morning, indeed. The friendliness of the cook, who served us next day, Leyland,was not any less. Although, he was bussing tables, taking orders in the dining room and, then, preparing that food all by himself, he never once showed his frustration or made us feel rushed or forgotten. He went out of his way and brought the fresh fruit which was not on the buffet, per my request. As a matter of fact,the food in Groveland Hotel was the only good food around that area. Definitely shall be back and look forward to it! P.S. The only remark for the hotel management about the housekeeping-- the wardrobe in our room was that much dusty that we kept our clothes in our bags through the entire stay. They haven't cleaned them for quiet a while, and would be nice to have that taken care of before our next stay :) Other than that minor detail, our stay was truly enjoable!

Room Tip: Charlie's room was very cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at The Groveland Hotel for two nights. Our first night we ate at the hotel restaurant The Cellar Door and what a pleasant surprise! The wine list was great - - best yet we tried the wine flight of six red wines - what a selection. The meal was perfect, filet mignon for myself and my husband had the rib-eye. Compliments to Mike the chef and our server Cherenna was exceptional! We stayed in Room 14, the adjoining building to the hotel. It was quiet, very clean and comfortable. Kara in housekeeping does a great job with finishing touches with the teddy bears on each bed. Cute. The breakfasts are so filling - - they hold you almost all day. We also had to check out The Iron Door next door to the hotel. It is noted as the oldest saloon in California. Our second night the Cellar Door was closed so we ate at the Mexican Restaurant across the street which was very good. There was not much more to do in Groveland. We did enjoy the day in Yosemite and ate the Sierra Nevada Ale Cheddar Soup at the Ahwahnee Hotel - - you should give that a try too!

Room Tip: Room 14 was small, but what we expected for a historic hotel. Quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This hotel is darling! My husband and I were elated when we drove into downtown Groveland. Be prepared to step back 80 years ago...and just relax!
The staff at this hotel are extremely friendly, accommodating, and warm. My husband and I enjoyed strolling down the main street- and enjoyed the local pizza place & historical bar and saloon.

My husband and I enjoyed the character to our room...this is not your typical chain hotel. The beds were comfortable, linens were luxurious, & restaurant/wine bar were adorable. Just as others has reviewed, our room was very small! Other than that, we loved this place & will definitely re-visit it in the future if we find ourselves in this area again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with this lovely old, totally redone hotel. Our room was very small --- via a Living Social deal, so the bargain price. Next time we will request a larger one. We faced the street, but there was no traffic noise at night. The bed was very comfortable, the stuffed bears placed there were a nice touch. I can't say enough about the wonderful staff.Our dinner was truly gourmet -- kudos to the chef Michael, salad cook, Mary, and our attentive and kind waitress who ran her legs off (only one in the DR that night) for us. Willow at the front desk was especially helpful. Breakfast was cooked to order, and was delicious.We certainly can recommend the Groveland to our friends, but will tell them to request a larger room.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room than the ones on the second floor of the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
20.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
0.1 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 6 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 stars 598 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,419 reviews
11.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
#4 of 6 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Groveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Groveland Hotel

Address: 18767 Main Street, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Groveland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Groveland Hotel at Yosemite National Park is a full service Yosemite region hotel, featuring 17 award-winning guest rooms. Our Cellar Door Restaurant is a casual yet fine dining experience, with a full bar and Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence wine list. It is the perfect location for your Tuolumne River whitewater expedition, hiking, biking, horseback riding, fishing, golf at Pine Mountain Lake, or just a great place to hang out and relax. A visit to Rainbow Pool (a great local swimmin' hole) with a great bottle of wine from the Cellar Door makes for a memorable, lazy afternoon. Located on the most direct, scenic route to Yosemite National Park from the San Francisco Bay Area and Sacramento on Highway 120, Yosemite National Park's year-round northern entrance is a half hour or 23 picturesque miles from your Groveland, CA hotel. Our accommodations feature down comforters, featherbeds, private baths, delicious California cuisine, a full-service saloon, a full hot breakfast included with your stay, free parking and free Wi-Fi/high-speed Internet access in all rooms. We also offer free use of a guest computer with Wi-Fi connection and the ability to print out boarding passes at the front desk. Our Tesla electric car charger is available at no charge to hotel guests. The Groveland Hotel is pet-friendly and we welcome guests from around the globe, with all budgets - families, road-weary tourists, business executives, aviation enthusiasts, rock climbers, honeymooners - with gracious Southern Hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Groveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Groveland
Groveland The Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Groveland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.