We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WINNING IN THE GOLD COUNTRY, WITHOUT PANNING FOR GOLD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grass Valley Courtyard Suites

Save Saved
You added Grass Valley Courtyard Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
210 N. Auburn Street, Grass Valley, CA 95945   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Grass Valley
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“WINNING IN THE GOLD COUNTRY, WITHOUT PANNING FOR GOLD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

It was the lure of a Living Social deal that got us to the Gold Country and to the GV Courtyard Suites. After many trips to the Wine Country and Santa Cruz, this was a diversion to another part of our extended Bay Area. Upon arriving at the boutique hotel, we met Kathy the owner, who was so friendly. The room was clean, spacious and included a bottle of wine and a cheese plate (everyday). We got 2 $50 gift cert. for meals, a lovely breakfast, free happy hour, w/apptizers, free wine tasting. In other words: This is an excellent deal, location, hotel, town & experience. PS: Be sure to go to Tofanelli's for the Tuna sala.

Room Tip: We had a lower level room by the office and found it quite convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    28
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
22
60
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Courtyard Suites provides lovely, spacious, extremely clean accommodations. Most impressive was their finding 4 items that we had left in the room and mailing them to us promptly. (We did cover the postage.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Currently staying at the Courtyard Suites. Located conviently off Main Street in the historic and picturesque downtown Grass Valley, this hotel is clean, adorable, beautifully maintained and charming. Danielle at reception was helpful long before check in with any arrangements you may need. Rooms are nicely decorated, beds are super comfortable. Microwave, refrigerator, safe and robes in every room. Every detail thought of, even down to the nice, thick towels.

The hotel has a wonderful spa. I had the most wonderful massage with Annie. Make sure you ask for her! I understand they have recently added a building directly across the street to accommodate weddings.

The owner makes "Gold Country" breakfast every morning. Daily evening reception with wine and Hors d'oeuvres from 5:30 to 6:30 each evening. The friendly staff will help with any wine tasting or sightseeing trips.

A perfect place for a get away stay. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gvsarac, General Manager at Grass Valley Courtyard Suites, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, including your massage. Thank you for the positive feed back, I will be sure to share you comments with the staff. We hope to see you again soon!
Sara, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheatland, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We live only an hour away but what a great friendly little place to stay, we will definitely return. We had bought a living social deal and were unsure of establishment but decided to give it a try and glad we did. The staff was GREAT very small town feel, friendly and went out of their way to assist. We received breakfast in bed "what a treat" food was hot and delicious definitely not your typical continental breakfast. They had a happy hour which was better than most, we met other couples who had been coming here for years. Overall we had a wonderful time, kudos to the owners and staff of this establishment.
PS Forgot to mention they also had tempurpedic beds so I felt like I was sleeping on my own bed, super comfy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

**WARNING** Check your bill and confirmation thoroughly here. We had a small group stay here across a few different rooms. There were so many billing errors I couldn't tell if the staff was incompetent or trying to scam its customers. Across the rooms we stayed
- 1 group was charged a 3 night stay instead of the 2 nights they stayed
- 1 group was charged for extra items at their room bar
- 1 group was charged twice for the same item
- 1 group was charged a 2 nights stay, though they confirmed on the phone the price of the room and that it was 1 night only.

The room and hotel was quaint and comfortable, but the amount of overcharges we encountered from one small group is not winning any return service. Be careful and double check your bill.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gvsarac, General Manager at Grass Valley Courtyard Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
I am terribly sorry your group had these billing issues. We strive to maintain an excellent facility for all of our guests. I would love the opportunity to review each bill to correct the problems. It is not common practice to overcharge guests and I will be sure to review the issues with my staff. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and hope I have the opportunity to correct it.
Thank you,
Sara - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I had a living social. Either way though, it was worth the price even at full value. The breakfast was good and the room was spacious and very clean. It was quiet and the parking was close. I never did see the spa or pool or jacuzzi, but the stay on the whole, was wonderful and the staff was friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate to stay here again when I am in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were nice. The staff, on the other hand (particularly the girl at the front desk) is not! I made a reservation over the phone for one night. At this point I was never told there was a two night minimum. I was told over the phone that the total was $158 (the price for one night). When I checked My confirmation email the night before my reservation I saw that they had booked me for two nights: the night before and the day I requested. When I asked about this I was then told that there's a two night minimum. Nonetheless when I got here at 10:30 AM the room that I was booked for the night before wasn't available. It wasn't available until almost 2 PM; an hour before official check in. When I checked out the next day they actually tried to charge me for three nights. I of course complained and they changed it to two but refused to only charge me for one. When I pointed out that my room was not ready when we got here at 10:30, the girl at the desk claimed someone was staying in our room the night before. The room that we paid for and had reserved! I will never return! Neither should you. There's a few other hotels in town; stay there instead!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grass Valley Courtyard Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grass Valley Courtyard Suites

Address: 210 N. Auburn Street, Grass Valley, CA 95945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Grass Valley Courtyard Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grass Valley Courtyard Hotel Grass Valley
Courtyard Grass Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grass Valley Courtyard Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.