We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Auburn is not all that far away.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stagecoach Motel

Stagecoach Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stagecoach Motel to your Saves list
Stagecoach Motel
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   405 South Auburn Street, Grass Valley, CA 95945   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Auburn is not all that far away.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you really must stay in Grass Valley and you can't find another motel and you don't mind spartan surroundings and price is no object then give it a go. The manager is actually quite accommodating and trying very hard to make up for a very lackluster facility.

Room Tip: Get upstairs if you can. Anyone above you may be walking around up there and you'll know it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    2
    2
    9
See reviews for
3
8
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This Motel is so nasty, it should be shut down. Nothing but Meth heads running around...stained sheets, gross showers, old furniture, air conditioning unit that didn't work, hard bed and scratchy sheets, flat pillows, no bulb in the lamp, no outlet for the desk and no light there either. No coffee machine, and the third day the maid didn't even come to do our room...AT ALL...Drug dealing right out in the open and noise all night long. This is, by far, the worst hotel I have ever stayed in...DO NOT STAY! I implore you. Thi8s place should be demolishioned and the owner put in jail....

Room Tip: No tip...do not stay here. It is beyond a horrible experience. Nothing but drug addicts and a drug d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The room was very stuffy and smelled extremely stale. There is no vent or window in the bathroom. The only window in the room had no screen. The air conditioner was plugged into a socket with no cover plate and the sockets were broken rendering it impossible to plug in safely. We unplugged it in the middle of the night as it was too cold and we could not find the switch to adjust it or turn it off.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We arrived around 9:00 pm after attending a wedding, no light on at the office, saw instructions in the window to go down the street to get the key, TV did not work, one light over the bed had been torn off the wall, sleazy old sheets (saw some old stains on them in the morning) on a bare mattress, 2 flat hard pillows, leaky toilet, mold, stained bathtub, dirty coffee pot with no coffee provided, both chairs in room stained all over with who knows what. No hangars, no Kleenex, 2 thin skimpy bath towels, only 1 washcloth, in all a terrible finish for a beautiful wedding my husband and I attended in Nevada City.

Other websites advertised this place as almost excellent, and we thought it was worth a try for the price. Yes, you would do better to sleep in your car, or go find some coffee and keep driving. I'll get over the hotel experience and remember the wedding, but I will let everyone I know DO NOT STAY AT THE STAGECOACH MOTEL IN GRASS VALLEY!! CHECK TRIPADVISOR!

Room Tip: Only tip is avoid this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked online without checking it out first with Tripadvisor. Won't ever do that again.This place is run down and dirty. The towels hanging up in the bathroom had black marks where someone had once cleaned their shoes, but the management failed to wash them properly to get the dirt out. Everything you read in the other reviews is right on the mark. Worst place I've ever stayed in. Sleeping in our car would've been better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed here for a wedding a few weeks ago because there was a huge music festival and my choices were this place or a very pricey B and B. I should have splurged on the B and B. Where shall I start? I had to go down the street to another motel to get registered and get the key. When I got to the motel, there was no number on my door. The bathroom had mold, the lamp was broken (as in, the shade was torn and sitting on the nightstand). The paint and walls were peeling and the air conditioner was deafening. I got up early, packed my things, and fled. I'd have done better camping, but I didn't bring my gear. This place should literally be closed by the health department. It was abominable and cost $72. It may have been worth $27, tops.

Room Tip: There was no pool, no service, no fitness center (lol), no anything. I did have photos but I deleted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrae, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We booke online, did not check them out first. Dirty filthy place with constant drug activity and managers fighting, Dirty room and bedding. Wi-fi worked to help us escape and find a Bed & Breakfast in Grass Valley. The 5 hours we were there was like being in a horror movie. It is a Scid Row Motel but worse..

Room Tip: Check out feed backs before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stagecoach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stagecoach Motel

Address: 405 South Auburn Street, Grass Valley, CA 95945
Location: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Stagecoach Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stagecoach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stagecoach Motel Grass Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stagecoach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.