We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaido

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kaido
207 West Main Street, Grass Valley, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 97 Restaurants in Grass Valley
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Francisco Bay Area
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A small gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I along with a local friend went to Kaido last night. We selected both Sushi, Tempura and Teriyaki. All of the dishes were expertly prepared and delicious. The service was a bit slow but the restaurant was full at that point. We traded bites and found that all the selections were just as good as the one we each ordered. We will be sure to return soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We visit Kaido several times a year. The food is exceptional and you can get some sushi items that are truly unique. Our favorite is the Forest roll.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Foothills, CA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Best Japanese in Northern CA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Mouthwatering, fresh, delicious fish and other unique and creative Japanese dishes (no noodles). Perfectly trained and competent servers. Beautiful atmosphere for dining. Slightly pricy but worth it. Simply the best sushi experience in Northern California. And it happens to be in my backyard! Very, very lucky we have this gem in our town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sushi in Grass Valley who knew”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

They have a good menu. The rolls we had were good, the teriyaki salmon was wonderful. Help was good at their job, no issues with the service right on top of things. The subtitle movies playing in the background nice touch. Will be going back again when in town.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good food.Too kitschy variation of sushi.Service ok.Noisy kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We ordered two rolls and a soft shell crab. Not enough food for us - which it usually would be so ordered a second of the two rolls. And a dessert - moshi.
The rolls were fine about the only two that actually were sushi and not cooked.
The other table had two very noisy kids that no one bothered to calm down or make behave.
The room did not dampen noise.
Dessert was the ever-present moshi - mocha. It was okay.
Also told us we better have reservations - restaurant was fairly empty.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaido also viewed

 

Been to Kaido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaido, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.