We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holbrooke Hotel

Holbrooke Hotel
212 West Main Street, Grass Valley, CA 95945
530.273.1353
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 96 Restaurants in Grass Valley
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Grass Valley, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Historic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Food is ok, bar is small, but this place has a lot of history. The rooms have a nice historic quality to them. I recommend trying it out at least once.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    18
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Still A Great Place To Go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have been going to the Holbrooke since the early 1980s and even thought they have changed over the years, they still provide a wonderful experience in their very historic setting. Go by the Holbrooke for just a drink or snack or a full dinner with friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Love the old historic feel of the hotel/restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We drove back up to Grass Valley from Vacaville to eat at the Holbrooke Hotel restaurant. Love the historic setting of the place. Our server was very attentive and good but not to hovering. We enjoyed a nice meal all six of us. I had the filet Mignon which was tasty, tender and you could cut it with a butter knife. Each diner at the table enjoyed their choice of entree. The only down fall was we wished they would have added Prime Rib to their Sunday menu instead of only serving it on Friday/Saturday nights.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Checked it out just for fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

While we didn't stay in the Holbrooke, but we ate in the bar on a Sunday night. A brochure mentioned that the hotel is thought to be haunted, and in particular, the ghost of a former chambermaid has occasionally been spotted on the premises.
Thefront desk clerk encouraged us to check out the upper floors. The old wrought-iron cage type elevator took us to the second floor. The rooms were named for various presidents who have visited the hotel. And we were surprised when a tiny elderly woman quietly walked past us in the hall and quickly disappeared....could she have been the ghostly chambermaid?

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Looked good going in and was disappointed it wasn't better than it was. Service was average as well.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holbrooke Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Holbrooke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holbrooke Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.