We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good coffee shop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lumberjacks

Lumberjacks
2075 Nevada City Highway, Grass Valley, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 96 Restaurants in Grass Valley
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lompoc, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good coffee shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We go about once a month. Usually when out shopping and stop by for a quick lunch. I like their salad bar and soup, my husband likes their sandwiches. We also go occasionally for their senior dinner special 2 for 12.00.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“O.K.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Good food but the man seating patrons is confusing. There were 3 sets of people waiting for tables and their were set-up tables visible but he refused to seat any of us because he had a "system". It seems the waitresses were busy so he was "metering" patrons in. So, couldn't we have just sat at tables instead of standing waiting until he deemed it appropriate to seat us?

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lots of Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have eaten here several times and never disapointed, Good food, nice atmosphere, great service, large portions, large salad bar, great location & parking.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Grass Valley Lumberjacks Restaurant has gone up considerably in my estimation. Recent staff and management changes have made all the difference. The food is consistently high quality no matter which of the many options is ordered. The service is top-notch and any issues are resolved quickly and satisfactorily. I enjoy the decor and I even like to watch Lumberjack TV. All in all, a place I am now likely to frequent.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's a chain restaurant. Like Denny's with a Chainsaw motif”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This is a good enough choice for a quick breakfast or lunch. Service is adequate - we weren't ignored or fawned over. They kept the coffee cup full at least. Food was standard short order fare. Nothing special - but filling and tasty enough. It has a bit of a sports bar feel - if you consider tree feling a sport. Several TVs all showing recorded ESPN coverage of lumberjacking competions. We've been there several times and it's the same tape every time. Not a lot of charm - but it's acceptable. No dishes were outstanding - but it was all edible and good sized portions. Reasonable value - but nothing special.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lumberjacks also viewed

 

Been to Lumberjacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lumberjacks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.