We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lumberjacks

Lumberjacks
2075 Nevada City Highway, Grass Valley, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 97 Restaurants in Grass Valley
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Nevada City, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Grass Valley Lumberjacks Restaurant has gone up considerably in my estimation. Recent staff and management changes have made all the difference. The food is consistently high quality no matter which of the many options is ordered. The service is top-notch and any issues are resolved quickly and satisfactorily. I enjoy the decor and I even like to watch Lumberjack TV. All in all, a place I am now likely to frequent.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's a chain restaurant. Like Denny's with a Chainsaw motif”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This is a good enough choice for a quick breakfast or lunch. Service is adequate - we weren't ignored or fawned over. They kept the coffee cup full at least. Food was standard short order fare. Nothing special - but filling and tasty enough. It has a bit of a sports bar feel - if you consider tree feling a sport. Several TVs all showing recorded ESPN coverage of lumberjacking competions. We've been there several times and it's the same tape every time. Not a lot of charm - but it's acceptable. No dishes were outstanding - but it was all edible and good sized portions. Reasonable value - but nothing special.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Burgers Will Bring Us Back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We had been quite disappointed by our previous visit to Lumberjacks for dinner but decided to give it another try for lunch. When we arrived at 2 pm, the restaurant was fairly empty, but we were immediately greeted by a friendly host and seated. Our waiter was friendly and efficient and our meal arrived in a reasonable amount of time. We ordered the Big Jack Burger and the Western BBQ Burger, which were both served hot and done to perfection. My husband said his was one of the best burgers he’d ever eaten! When I visited the restroom I noticed that this time it was clean and well-supplied. We’ll be back!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe, NV
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and pleanty of food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

The former occupants of the site had both done sports bars that failed. This is a restaurant with a rustic decor and a very friendly atmosphere. We we greeted very quickly and seated in a great spot. Server was fast and attentive. The food was delicious and came very quickly. You don't have to worry about not getting enough to eat. There is a great Senior menu with some smaller portions and a great price. We are moving to Grass Valley in a few years and this will be our favorite place to go.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Long wait for food disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We had been looking forward to visiting this relatively new addition to Grass Valley's dining community - the parking lot always seemed to be full and even as we were waiting for our orders at 9:00 pm on a Wednesday evening, families kept coming in. The menu was typical of a Denny's, sporting mid-American fare. I ordered cocoanut shrimp and my husband ordered a beef sandwich. I asked what the soup of the day was and was told it didn't matter as they were out, so I chose a trip to the very average and in-need-of-replenishing salad bar instead. That was at 8:20. Our perky waitress said she'd check on our order a couple of times and finally brought it out at 9:10. While the 6 smallish, batter-fried shrimp were tasty, they were not worth the price or the wait. But if you're in no hurry to eat, like a noisy environment, and don't mind less-than-pristine bathrooms, you will enjoy your visit.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lumberjacks also viewed

 

Been to Lumberjacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lumberjacks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.