We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, dirty pool” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   972 Sutton Way, Grass Valley, CA 95945-5177   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 10% in Grass Valley!
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Grass Valley
Rome
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, dirty pool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Just as I read here on tripadvisor, this is a nice, comfortable hotel, and a very good value for the money. Although the hotel is at a confluence of a highway and a major road, it was set back just enough not to be noisy.
Our room was very comfortable and clean, the staff members were polite, and the continental+ breakfast was better than expected.
The bad news was the pool. I couldn't believe the sorry condition of the chairs - ripped and dirty - and the dirt that had accumulated on the bottom of the pool was quite visible. Also, for some reason the spa was closed and covered - odd for August.

I never intended to go swimming, but I did want to sit out there with a book. Not on your life. The entire pool area was dirty and in disrepair. I strongly suggest the owners bring the pool area up to the same standard as the rest of the property.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    54
    23
    15
    5
See reviews for
53
35
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

Best Western is was it is and was pretty much what we were expecting, a no frill, economical place to stay for a night. Although check-in was advertised at 3:00 like most hotels, when we arrived at 12:00 we were told we would not be able to check in until 3 but could "check back" at 1 to see if a room was ready. Considering that it was a Wednesday and there were a total of maybe 3 cars in the parking lot, we found it hard to believe that there was not a single room available for check-in. What was even more surprising was the phone call we received at 10:57 a.m. wanting to know when we would be checking out. I asked if check-out was at 11:00 and when told it was, at which point I told the girl at the front desk that it was 10:57 and we would be leaving in 3 minutes at which point she replied, "well my watch says different". I don't believed I've ever been kicked out of a hotel.
Other than that, the hotel was as was expected, clean, conveniently located, economical. the soaps/shampoos were Bath and Bodyworks-nice choice, and the continental breakfast was more than expected.
Ease up on your check-in/out, or at least have employees who can more tactfully enforce them and then we'll be back if up in that area again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

Was surprised how nice the motel was for the price. Very clean rooms, with all the ammenities plus extras like sewing kits and upscale shampoos. Breakfast was included as well as cookies at check in. The spa and pool were closed for renovation, but in the pouring rain in Feb. it didn't really matter. I would highly recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

My son and I stayed for 3 nights, which qualified us for a mid-week discounted rate...sweet! Rooms were clean and comfortable. There's a nice breakfast every morning and from 5 - 7pm, a reception with food and beer, wine and soft drinks. Complimentary cookies at all times in the lobby and we found the staff to be so friendly and helpful. The hotel is nestled amongst tall trees and we got so much more than we bargained for. Yes, we would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

The hotel itself is a nice place, a bit over priced but nice. The problem was the manager. VERY rude and arqumentive. We requested a down stairs room when we booked the room in Febuary of 2008 because my husband can not climb stairs. At the time I made the rservation I asked to speak with the manager so we would not have a problem when we checked in. The manager came on the phone and she said no problem that we would have a down stairs room. When we went to check in the manager gave us an upstairs room. I told her what we did when we booked the room and she said they don't do it that way. I told her we would have to find another hotel and she said we would still have to pay for the 1 night because we didn't cancel 24 hours before. I then told her I was going to call the 800 number and stop payment on my card. She then gave us a down stairs room. Later in the day when we came back to our room there wasn't any place to park. There was a car show in town and they parked the trailers in the hotel parking lot. 1 Trailer took up 3 spaces (parked sideways) and the tow truck took up 1 then the car took up 1. 5 parking places per 1 room. We had to park in the street and walk in. There was a plenty of street parking but a long walk. In the morning we went up to the office for coffee and she had a 1 cup at a time coffee maker out there. 5 people waiting for coffee. We just left. This could be a nicer place without that woman manager working there. There are better places to stay in Grass Valley.

  • Liked — Clean Room but old
  • Disliked — Rude manager-nonheated pool-bad Contintal Breakfast(the worst)
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

A very nice little Motel, if you have no expectations.
We were visiting friends in the area and we just needed someplace close to stay for one night.
The rooms were very clean and quiet, there's plenty of parking space and the location is very accessible.

Very good value for the price.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

We stayed 3 nights at the Best Western over the Thanksgiving holiday this year. Normally, all the hotels book up a month or two in advance for this holiday but we were able to get Tues-Thurs and then on Thurs morning (thanksgiving) we called the front desk to see if we could stay another night. Lo and behold there was availability at the last minute, so we had a retreat from family that night!

The rooms looked like they had been recently renovated. The carpets are clean and no signs of wearing ragged. Bathrooms were free of mold, leaks, stains etc. We had a second floor, King room with a balcony overlooking a green lawn area. The only drawbacks to this place was the front desk staff. They were a bit surly and rude when we checked in and when we checked out. Nothing big, just a little attitude when I didn't hand her the key cards (only one of which worked during our stay) upon checkout and a little delay as the two of them bickered about something administrative when we checked in at 10:30pm the first night.

I would definitely stay here again given the conveniences of the location (try the bakery across the street Flour Garden, it's great for breakfast coffee and pastries!) and the price. Definitely an above average motel stay.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — Front desk staff
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn

Address: 972 Sutton Way, Grass Valley, CA 95945-5177
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn!Discover this pet friendly Grass Valley, California hotel offering convenient access to Empire Mine State Park, Historic Nevada City and the Tahoe National Forest. Located in northern, inland California just off highway 49, the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is committed to providing the best in customer service, accommodations and amenities at the right price. Each well-appointed guest room at this Grass Valley hotel features cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to a complimentary full breakfast daily. This pet friendly hotel also offers guest laundry, an exercise facility and a full-service business center. Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn will be a short walk from a variety of dining and shopping in historic Grass Valley. The Empire Mine State Park, only two miles away, offer the perfect setting for hiking and afternoon picnics. This California hotel is also less than five miles from many other key area attractions including the Nevada County Fairgrounds, the South Yuba River, Scotts Flat Lake, Bridgeport Historic State Park and Historic Nevada City. Business travelers will appreciate being close to the Whispering Pines Business Park, the Grass Valley Group and the Loma Rica Industrial Park. The Grass Valley area is also home to a variety of annual events including the Draft Horse Classic, Music in the Mountains, Dog Shows, the Teddy Bear Convention and more!The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Grass Valley, California. Make a reservation today and save!**Hot tub and Pool closed until further notice* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.