We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   972 Sutton Way, Grass Valley, CA 95945-5177   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
San Jose, California, Usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Gold Country Inn has all of the things I look for in a hotel; beautiful grounds, clean room, and a pleasant staff.The queen bed in our room was really comfortable. I had a great night's sleep. We will stay again on our next trip to the gold country.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad your stay was satisfactory and we hope to see you stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    57
    26
    19
    6
See reviews for
57
36
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff at this Best Western is always very helpful and cheerful. I travel on business to GV and Nevada City and can count on a good night's sleep and a great dinner at the restaurant right next door. GV and Nevada City are truly nuggets of the Sierras and this hotel just ties a bow on every trip I make there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are happy your stay was good. We hope you stay with us again soon, we just added HBO to our channel list!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

we had one little snafu with the reservations, but overall my friends who stayed here were happy with the hotel and they were very accommodating. This hotel is in a very convenient locations and is quiet despite being close to the freeway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your event stay, we are very pleased your stay was a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RENO
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Gold Country Inn over the weekend as we left Reno to get away from the smoke due to the Rim Fire. We had a nice room near the pool and hot tub downstairs which was perfect as we had our grandson and he enjoyed the pool. The hotel was very clean and quiet. The staff was very nice especially Don, the maintenance man who not only kept the pool clean but told us about places to see while we were in the area. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We liked the downstairs unit near the hot tub and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We wanted to thank you for your stay, we hope you come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Somewhat pricey for the rooms. But they have everything you will need. Great Breakfast. Good location, easy access. Watch out for all the dogs running around, off leash and watch where you step in the common, Grass, areas for dog droppings. The staff was very nice and easy to deal with. The breakfast was a virtual cornucopia of items sure to please even the most finicky eaters. Would stay again, but the rates seem more inline with a Hilton All Suites and not a Best Western Motor Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We apologize that your stay was not completely satisfactory, we do encourage you so visit in the later fall, winter and spring for a lower rate, during the winter there is a lot of snow sports in the area and the rates are much lower. We are sorry for the issue with the pets staying at the hotel, we have hired more staff for clean up and enforcing the pet policies. We encourage you to stay again, after this coming winter we are undergoing major remodeling, we look forward to your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laytonville, Ca, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My family and I came to visit relatives in the area. The place was clean, food was good and people relatively friendly. The staff did seem distracted by other things and even though I was helped, I got the impression I wasn't their first choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We are very sorry our staff did not give you their undivided attention during your stay, this issue is currently being handled by our management staff. We hope you continue to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabool, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The motel was very nice, with a nice quite location. I do not like the doors on the outside, but that is a personal preferance of mine. The staff was excellent and the room was very nice. The breakfast was good. The computer in the bussiness center was a little slow but did the job.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to having you stay again. Make sure to come visit again after this winter when we have remodeled our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn

Address: 972 Sutton Way, Grass Valley, CA 95945-5177
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn!Discover this pet friendly Grass Valley, California hotel offering convenient access to Empire Mine State Park, Historic Nevada City and the Tahoe National Forest. Located in northern, inland California just off highway 49, the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is committed to providing the best in customer service, accommodations and amenities at the right price. Each well-appointed guest room at this Grass Valley hotel features cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to a complimentary full breakfast daily. This pet friendly hotel also offers guest laundry, an exercise facility and a full-service business center. Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn will be a short walk from a variety of dining and shopping in historic Grass Valley. The Empire Mine State Park, only two miles away, offer the perfect setting for hiking and afternoon picnics. This California hotel is also less than five miles from many other key area attractions including the Nevada County Fairgrounds, the South Yuba River, Scotts Flat Lake, Bridgeport Historic State Park and Historic Nevada City. Business travelers will appreciate being close to the Whispering Pines Business Park, the Grass Valley Group and the Loma Rica Industrial Park. The Grass Valley area is also home to a variety of annual events including the Draft Horse Classic, Music in the Mountains, Dog Shows, the Teddy Bear Convention and more!The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Grass Valley, California. Make a reservation today and save!**Hot tub and Pool closed until further notice* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.