We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   972 Sutton Way, Grass Valley, CA 95945-5177   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Grass Valley
Cabool, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The motel was very nice, with a nice quite location. I do not like the doors on the outside, but that is a personal preferance of mine. The staff was excellent and the room was very nice. The breakfast was good. The computer in the bussiness center was a little slow but did the job.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to having you stay again. Make sure to come visit again after this winter when we have remodeled our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    54
    23
    16
    5
See reviews for
53
35
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This would have been a 4 or 5 star review but for the people who frequent this hotel at least when we stayed, and the inability or refusal of the hotel staff to take action. We were here on a baking hot day in July so naturally me, my wife and my daughter wanted to use the pool. It had been taken over by some construction workers who were drinking alcohol, smoking, swearing and playing loud music. We notified the front desk, the music was turned off but these guys were still there doing everything else. Not very cool for a family hotel. Then after they left, some other people had a pool party that went on til 11pm, in the morning, the pool area was littered with beer bottles, empty cigarette packets and trash.

Its a shame because the rest of the stay was fine, the room/bed was good, wifi worked well, breakfast was pretty good, and we were allowed to check in early but because hotel staff were unhelpful, it means we probably wont stay here again.

Room Tip: dont get a room overlooking the pool in the summer!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We have addressed the issues with the loud group that was staying with us, they will not be staying again unless they meet our guidelines for pool hours, noise and littering. We are sorry this was a inconvenience on your stay, we assure you this will not happen again, with you or any future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The staff was friendly enough, but our experience was less than great. The location is convenient and, at least in our room, the nearby freeway was not too loud. We checked in to find broken bulbs in the room - that were immediately replaced. The place has probably not seen a renovation in years, shabby stained carpet, mildew in the shower and bathroom, older furniture, microwave and other appliances in the breakfast room greasy.

The worse thing was to wake up to bed bugs on the sheets. The staff claimed to be surprised by this and said they were unaware of any other reports, and when I spoke to the manager by phone the next day he also professed surprise. The manager was apologetic and did offer a 50% credit for our stay, which i accepted.

My advice: skip it unless you know renovations have taken place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We are inspected on a regular basis and have no bed bugs, we are sorry that your stay was less than satisfactory. Furthermore, we will be renovating the hotel this winter so everything will be updated. We hope you continue to be our customer, we look forward to seeing you again after the remodel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Not your typical Best Western. I am a rewards member so I try to stay at BWs when I can. Staff was cheerful and very helpful, but the room was sad and in dire need of updating. It also had a stale, sour odor. There was a fridge in the room which was great, but it labored to keep our perishables even slightly cool. The AC unit was old and loud and competed with the fridge noise. I chose the BW because of the name, but wouldn't stay at this one again. There are much better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We are sorry your stay wasn't completely satisfactory. Our hotel will be undergoing major remodeling early next year before our busy season. We look forward to seeing you after our updates!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and three children recently and had a horrible time. My husband works up here often and has been staying at this motel and others in the city for the last three and a half years. The motel has completely new staff with the exception of some of the old housekeepers which are great and are always friendly. Any time I would ask one of the new housekeepers for new towels I was always given a dirty look and never answered back, just given a towel and then turned to walk away. Some of the girls up front were just plain rude and ALWAYS on their cell phones. We won't becoming back unless they hire some friendlier people.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Our management staff would like to apologize for the staff you encountered on your stay, I assure you action has taken place. This will not happen on anyone's next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent three nights here visiting the grandbaby. The hotel is big and on nice grounds to walk around on. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The room was big and clean, nice bathroom also. The free breakfast is very good and has many choices to pick from. Chose walking distrance to stores or other eateries. It is close to the freeway but the noise or lack of didn't bother us. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We would like to thank you for giving us such a nice review, we are very grateful and happy your stay was satisfactory. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent one night. It was a convienient location for the Fathers day bluegrass fest and 16 to 1 gold quartz mine tour in Allegany. It's an older hotel but clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They offered to look up information and provided printed maps to the fair grounds and restaurants. My smart phone worked fine, but I did not try other internet The full breakfast was good. It was a bit expensive at $159 with 2 double beds and kitchenette, but there was a bike race as well as the bluegrass festival in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel, we are sorry your stay was not completely satisfactory. We would like to inform our guests that we are doing serious renovations in Feburary of 2014. We would love to start sooner but we must wait until our busy season is over. We look forward having you stay again once we have renovated, hopefully it will be a better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn

Address: 972 Sutton Way, Grass Valley, CA 95945-5177
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn!Discover this pet friendly Grass Valley, California hotel offering convenient access to Empire Mine State Park, Historic Nevada City and the Tahoe National Forest. Located in northern, inland California just off highway 49, the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is committed to providing the best in customer service, accommodations and amenities at the right price. Each well-appointed guest room at this Grass Valley hotel features cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to a complimentary full breakfast daily. This pet friendly hotel also offers guest laundry, an exercise facility and a full-service business center. Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn will be a short walk from a variety of dining and shopping in historic Grass Valley. The Empire Mine State Park, only two miles away, offer the perfect setting for hiking and afternoon picnics. This California hotel is also less than five miles from many other key area attractions including the Nevada County Fairgrounds, the South Yuba River, Scotts Flat Lake, Bridgeport Historic State Park and Historic Nevada City. Business travelers will appreciate being close to the Whispering Pines Business Park, the Grass Valley Group and the Loma Rica Industrial Park. The Grass Valley area is also home to a variety of annual events including the Draft Horse Classic, Music in the Mountains, Dog Shows, the Teddy Bear Convention and more!The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Grass Valley, California. Make a reservation today and save!**Hot tub and Pool closed until further notice* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.