We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Empire Mine is a must” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Mine State Historic Park

Empire Mine State Historic Park
10791 E. Empire St, Grass Valley, CA 95945
530-273-8522
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The remains of one of the West's most lucrative gold mines have been preserved as a historic park.
Grass Valley, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Empire Mine is a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a great attraction. Lots of history about gold mining and the people who supported it! You can also enjoy a nice hike/walk through the grounds and surrounding park!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    65
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Historically interesting and dog friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The park is beautiful with a lot of gold mining history. I believe it's about 600 acres...lots of running, walking, biking and equestrian trails. They're all shady, so even on some of the warmer days its nice. I love it because the park is dog friendly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good for history and gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Since I am a local I have been here on many occasions. I love the gardens. Best time for the garden is about mid June, the roses should be in bloom. God they smell so intoxicating. The history is pretty good too, so it is easier to drag the hubby with you too lol. The kids might enjoy sitting in the cart that used to take the men down to the mine, they have added sound effects and a fan to help you feel like you really are riding it down. So bring a picnic lunch, the family and enjoy this entertaining site. Also there is a walking trail so if you bring your dogs you can take a long walk around the outside of the mine :). I don't remember if dogs are allow in the mine so check before you go.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Historic Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great historical sites with much to see. You do not realize the size of the mine until you see the three dimensional map showing you hundreds of miles of tunnels beneath the town of Grass Valley and surrounding area. Be sure to tour the buildings and talk to the folks in period costume. Wear your hiking shoes - there are a lot of hiking trails.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Empire Mine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Visiting the Empire Mine lets you experience early 20th century mining methods, the Bourne's "cottage", beautiful gardens, and Grass Valley's industrious past. Check the website to see when there are living history programs at the mine and the Bourne cottage. My husband and I visit several times a year because things are regularly updated.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire Mine State Historic Park also viewed

 
Grass Valley, CA
 

Been to Empire Mine State Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empire Mine State Historic Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.