We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Wedding Site” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Mine State Historic Park

Empire Mine State Historic Park
10791 E. Empire St, Grass Valley, CA 95945
530-273-8522
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The remains of one of the West's most lucrative gold mines have been preserved as a historic park.
Pacific Palisades, California, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Wedding Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were at a friend's wedding, and it could not have been more beautiful. Great site for the event. And the grounds site were so accomodating. They saw my daughter's high heels and offered a ride from the parking lot to the wedding site.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    65
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oroville, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I keep coming back....There is just something about this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have been to the Empire Mine State Park many times. Its always beautiful and the staff are very informative. The historical displays are captivating and keep my attention fully engaged. The grounds are covered in lush gardens and reflection pools. Its an amazing place for a event.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Interesting site with beautiful gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

As we were visiting family in the local area we came to the Empire Mine State Historic park. It was a really good way to spend a few hours walking around in the sun in both the gardens and around the mining buildings/museum. I particularly like the way they have people working in the Blacksmiths who show you what they are making, at the time i think they were crafting wedding rings. The Mine shaft is a pretty cool site if a little bit eery. The gardens are well maintained and great for walking round even if you have a small child in a buggy. Thanks to the tripadvisor reviewers for pointing out this place it was fab.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect site for a wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Attended an evening wedding here and it couldn't have been a better location. The grounds, the trees, the fountains....all done in sweeping circular patterns. Just beautiful! (as long as the weather cooperates which it did!) Only negative was all of the park rules and some prickly park rangers.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Technically and socially interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was the largest gold mine in the USA, if not in the world. There is enough preserved to paint an accurate picture of the technology and social structure of the operation. The tour guide,however, proved to be uniformed about many of the technical aspects which were readily available on wickopedia. Overall,a worthwhile trip for those wanting to learn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire Mine State Historic Park also viewed

 
Grass Valley, CA
 

Been to Empire Mine State Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empire Mine State Historic Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.