We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most accommodating staff in any place we have stayed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chalet View Lodge to your Saves list
Chalet View Lodge
72056 Highway 70, Graeagle, CA 96103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Graeagle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
petaluma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The most accommodating staff in any place we have stayed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

My husband, and I, along with my cousin and husband rode Harley's in very ugly weather to get to Chalet View Lodge and the surrounding area for recreation.
We could not have been treated better. From the front desk to the waitstaff, we were treated like best of friends visiting for the two night stay.
Dinner was excellent. Who would have thought this out of the way place would have awesome meals to satisfy the cold and hungry soul.
The room appointments were wonderful, (especially the big comfy beds), and very clean.
THANK YOU CHALET VIEW!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    57
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
53
90
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights in a terrace suite. while I realize this is not the Four Seasons (or the 4S prices!) the hotel sits very close to the highway and unless you are in a cabin behind the main building - the highway noise requires that you keep your windows closed at all times which is a shame since the hotel is in the country and fresh air would be welcome. As mentioned in other reviews - the cramped 2 story terrace rooms do NOT have closets or dressers - just a "nook" in the bathroom to store your things so you must travel very light to be happy here. Also, during my stay water problems that were going to be "fixed within the hour" continued for both days. Frankly, I think the hotel is overpriced for the value received.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, NV
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Went back this year with my husband and stayed at The Villa. Wow! Roomy, comfortable, quiet and romantic. Service, like last visit, was the best. Enjoyed the walking trails and restaurant (fantastic food!). Lakes Basin hiking also a short drive away. We tried several restaurants in Portola, Graeagle, and Quincy and Chalet View's chef surpassed them all by far. Even Longboard's was not as good with the exception that they offered a great creme brulee for desert.

Will definately be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

This hotel is advertised as being in Graeagle but it is five miles out of town and located on a different highway. It would be more accurate to say that this hotel is located halfway between Graeagle and Portola. It is disappointing that Portola isn't played-up in local advertising since it is a clean and friendly town with a world-class railroad museum and good mom and pop restaurants. It is also close to Lake Davis. Graegle is a nice community if you're into golf (which we are not). Land development is the major business here and vacation home sprawl has, sadly, taken-over the place. However, the town is close to Plumas-Eureka State Park and the Lakes Basin, and that makes the place worth visiting.

We stayed in a "King Loft" room, which was clean but sparce. The very small table in the room only had only one hard chair and there wasn't anywhere to sit and relax except for the bed. The loft had a trudle bed but no television. The walls in our bathroom had several scuffs and scapes and needed touch-up painting, and the grout between the jacuzzi bath and the wall was separating. It was hot when we stayed at the hotel and a swim would have been nice. The pool, however, looked green, and although I have no doubts that it was clean, did not look inviting for this reason.

Except for the small golf course adjacent to the hotel there wasn't anywhere to walk. The Feather River is only about a half mile from the hotel, but we couldn't find a trail or public access to the water. Adding or advertising river access seems a "no brainer." We found ourselves driving away from the hotel to take-in local sights and missed diners at the hotel restaurant as a result. But we did enjoy the nice Continental breakfasts out on the back patio.

The staff was very friendly and appeared to enjoy their work. We did not use or see anyone at the spa or the exercise room. The lobby and other public spaces were decorated nicely and the owners have obviously tried to make this an attractive and porfitable place. However, the patchwork driveway repairs that greeted us on arrival, and the empty commercial space on the property, told us that the hotel was in trouble.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

After searching frantically for lodging within the Portola/Quincy/Graeagle area, I was hesitant to book a room when I found this establishment on the internet. Driving down Hwy 70, it appears out of nowhere and it was beautiful, looks just like it does on their website. I was still hesitant...I mean, how nice could a place be way out there? Well, I was amazed! The staff was incredible, the room -- amazing, the property, absolutely beautiful! A GREAT get away for a family or for the weary business traveler! My room consisted of a large king sized bed with high quality bedding and extra pillows, a flat screen TV, wireless internet, a quiet A/C-heater, an upstairs reading room/loft, beautiful leather furniture, and a spacious bathroom with hot water. The walls were thick enough were I couldn't hear any of the neighboring rooms, and the deck outside had a few patrons enjoying a wonderful dinner in the cool night air next to a warm fireplace.

From what I heard, there are several things to do from tennis, volleyball, hiking, and the river is right behind the property. The is a nice playground for children, but the overall feeling of Chalet View Lodge is that of relaxation, high quality, and pleasantries.

I'm sure everyone can have a bad experience anywhere after reading two of the other reviews, but I didn't see any bit of what they were saying when I was there, nothing was less than perfect during my stay. Thank you Chalet View, i look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

Had a great stay for 2 nights. The hot tub was nice and roomy, and the patio with the outdoor fireplace was wonderful. We had a great meal from the new chef. The scallops and fresh sockeye salmon were "off the charts" good! The second night we were upgraded to the new large rooms. Very nice with 2 bathrooms, living room and a great King Size bed. I have stayed there 5 or 6 times, and have always been pleased. It's a great home base for our trips into the National Forest.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, Ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

My wife booked 6 nights at the Chalet View Lodge in large part based on their attractive website and the other reviews on Tripadvisor.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The lodge is very clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly and professional.

We stayed in the two bedrwoom Villa. It has a full size kitchen, a family room and two full size bathrooms. It is perfect for a family of four.

The lodge has a pool, hottub, a 6 hole executive golf course and a pond stocked with trout for the kids. Excercise and spa facilities are on site and very reasonably priced.

During our visit we golfed at Whitehawk Ranch, Graeagle Meadows and Plumas Pines. All three courses are beautiful. The twilight rates at these courses are an incredible value.

I highly recommend the Chalet View Lodge. It is truly a hidden gem in the Sierras.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet View Lodge

Address: 72056 Highway 70, Graeagle, CA 96103
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Graeagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Graeagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet View Lodge, an exquisitely designed luxury hotel, makes your visit to the pristine golf country of the Mohawk Valley an experience to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Chalet View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet View Hotel Graeagle
Chalet View Graeagle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.