We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Chalet View Lodge to your Saves list
Chalet View Lodge
72056 Highway 70, Graeagle, CA 96103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Graeagle
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Back Again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We made our annual visit to our favorite mountain lodge, and were not disappointed! Each year we find many improvements in what is offered, and this year was a winner. We always plan to play the little par-3 golf course, and this year we found it had been upgraded from 6 to 9 holes! The new $10 per stay per room charge is negligible and it was never busy while we were there, so we could take our time and play whenever we wanted to. It was a surprise that the dining room was closed one night of our stay for a private party--an inconvenience since there is no eating establishment close by. The grounds and scenery are lovely, as always, with new children's play equipment and game courts.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We are so glad you returned for another visit with us and were pleased with the improvements and additions to the property.

We apologize for the inconvenience of the restaurant not being open for one of the nights you were with us.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Regards,

Carrie Hickman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    53
    19
    7
    9
See reviews for
51
85
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The reason I rated this a 3 and used rude in the title is when I first booked the room I reserved a terrace king room and from what the picture showed was a upstairs balcony. After checking in, which seem like the person was a little disoriented and almost looked like it was her first day, the room was on the bottom floor and REALLY tiny. I went back to the lobby to discuss what I booked etc. and I was moved to what I originally booked and no problem after that. Then when I was checking out the same person from the first day and another person were going to charge me the rate of $250 a night instead of $109 which was never mention to me on the first day. They also seem to put the blame on me for the whole thing. It went on like this for about 20 minutes and the staff seemed to get more annoyed with me and was not professional about any of it. If it wasn't for the fabulous room I would of rated this a 1.
Besides that the room was HUGE!!! It had a upstairs sitting area with a fridge, microwave, sink, table, second bathroom and a fold out couch. Being 6'1 it was a little difficult getting to the sink etc. due to the low ceiling. The bottom floor had a king size bed, huge TV (with only about 5 channels), fireplace and a dual sink in the bathroom. The balcony was also a great size with plenty of metal chairs and table with a view of the forest etc.
The grounds had a golf course ($10 charge for the entire stay), basketball and tennis court, Badminton court, indoor and outdoor seating. The location was about in the middle between the town of Graeagle and Portola and about an hour from Reno, NV.
If it wasn't for the horrible staff the Chalet View Lodge is a great place for everybody to enjoy time in the mountains.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We sincerely apologize that our staff was perceived as rude. We always strive to deliver excellent customer service and are very dismayed that in this incident we fell so short.

There are no pictures on our website of the Terrace King rooms. It is priced as our least expensive room. We do however have pictures of our Terrace Suites which are our top of the line rooms, and here is where the confusion came in. We are going to change the name of the king room to avoid any further confusion.

We did provide the guest with the upgraded room at a discounted rate and although this does not in any way justify our staff's shortcomings we are glad they did enjoy the accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgin, UT
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were here for a large family event and it was perfect with a variety of rooms for the range of people. We had a balcony suite and it was really comfortable, well appointed and we loved taking walks in the the National Forest behind the property. Could have enjoyed the food more, but I gather they are working on this and that will be important because there is no place else to go. I would certainly return if I was traveling in the area.

Room Tip: Spring for the better rooms, they are really worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We appreciate your patience with our restaurant as we are currently working on modifications and improvements. We hope to host you again in the future!
Regards,
Carrie & Bob Hickman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were looking for a pet friendly place and stayed in the rustic cabin. We were expecting more rustic but were pleased about how nice it was. A bit expensive but it was perfect for our stay. We had some T.V. problems. The matter was dealt with very promptly. Our children played golf, swam, and played on the play ground. We did not find easy river access that was the only bummer. Hit the train tracks and a steep drop not to mention a hail storm for 5 mins. in 80 degree weather. Who knew. Beautiful facilities and great owners that made us feel very welcomed. Catered to our late check in and served us a quick meal before closing. We will return when we drop off and pick up our kids at the wonderful 2 Rivers Soccer Camp. Thanks Chalet View Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us! I did notice you mentioned not being able to access the Feather River easily. For future reference, we do provide maps and hiking guides at the Front Desk for guest use. Thanks for allowing us to host you on your recent trip; we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Bob and Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Not knowing the area well, we made plans to visit Lake Almanor on 4th of July! There are wonderful activities there but NO vacancy during this holiday. So we searched all surrounding areas, including vacation rentals, but still no availability. My husband discovered the Chalet View Lodge and we traveled there to wait out the holiday. We were amazed at the quality, amenities and serenity of this lodging. It was truly a delight to be there in the pines. Hotel Service was impeccable, as was that for dining.. The room was well-appointed and so comfortable. Because of the altitude, even with sunny weather, it was not hot! You must see their website to appreciate all they have to offer, because you can find plenty to do without leaving the property. But do venture out..the little town of Graeagle (gray-eagle) has lots of quaint shops and a lake they call a pond where you can swim, picnic, etc. We explored many back roads and swam in nearby lakes. The Staff at Chalet View can direct you to fun things to do. Also, this is a base for anyone - we met senior couples, hikers/fishermen(and women), and families with young children or teens here! The pool and patio terrace are delightful. I cannot tell how wonderful and affordable it is here!

Room Tip: We had a room on the pool side (not highway), and it was very quiet as we are light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rc_hickman, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We are so appreciative that by chance you found us and our unique property in the Lost Sierra. Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Yours Truly, Bob and Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Good things: great spot for fam vaca or romantic get away, par three gold is fun for kids or adults to learn on, great spot for fishing and hiking, definitely one of the top lodging in the area. Loved the outdoor jacuzzi that faced the forest. Very few people midweek so lots of privacy. Full Starbucks menu. Short hike to Feather River where we caught and released fish and saw beavers. Outdoor patio with pizza oven was awesome potential but pizza was not great. Menu advetised onions and garlic and non was on the pizza. Really lovely carpentry, tiling and moulding and i loved the unique outdoor light fixtures. Not so great: when we arrived they informed us that chef quit and no dinner would be served for three days. That was okay because we brought in lots of our food from Whole Foods in Reno. one day they were out of half and half and one day they were out of morning coffee for guests. They got us complimentary Americanos at Starbucks. No rugs or carpets anywhere in the downstairs or upstairs of the spa suite. The tile is rough and dark and felt dirty. The way the spa suite was advertised, I thought I would have an outdoor private jacuzzi tub but it was indoor private. No outdoor patio for our suite to enjoy the summer breeze and drink a glass of wine. Parking spot view outside of room. I went this time for romantic getaway and it was WAY beyond my expectations. I will come again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rc_hickman, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
How great that you discovered all that our property has to offer and that you recognized our attention to detail. We are always trying to improve so the constructive criticism is welcome. We will see you soon. Bob and Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A group of us held a weekend retreat here from a Thursday evening to Saturday afternoon and it was divine. The rooms, meeting room, people and service were wonderful and they couldn't have been more pleasant. This little slice of paradise is only about an hour from Reno and you feel like you are worlds away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We really appreciate your wonderful comments about our lodge. It is such a pleasure to host your group and we look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet View Lodge

Address: 72056 Highway 70, Graeagle, CA 96103
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Graeagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Graeagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet View Lodge, an exquisitely designed luxury hotel, makes your visit to the pristine golf country of the Mohawk Valley an experience to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chalet View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet View Hotel Graeagle
Chalet View Graeagle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.