We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chalet View Lodge to your Saves list
Chalet View Lodge
72056 Highway 70, Graeagle, CA 96103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Graeagle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bay Area, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Villa Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

My husband and I found a wonderful run-away-to place at the Chalet View Lodge. Our drive to the town of Maybe was part of the getaway. Maybe is very close to the more known locations of Blairsden and Graeagle, but there is no “maybe” about our time there. After some research on the internet we picked the Chalet View as place to stay while we investigated the Plumas National Forest. There are plenty of funs trips on National Forest roads in the area that pass beautiful lakes and historic sites. We spent two entire days just enjoying those drives.

After a day of site seeing we looked forward to our evening walk by the Feather River, which we were pleasantly surprised to find so close to the lodge. We would stroll past the Lodge’s fish pond and follow the trail out to the river. Then we would return to our lodge accommodation, which was the fabulous self-contained villa located on the edge of one of the golf course holes. The villa is aptly named. Very sumptuous in every detail. Everything in the villa was high-end including a kitchen with all the amenities. There are so many great things about the villa, such as an indoor/outdoor fireplace. We would sit on the villa’s outdoor deck and bar-b-que dinner while keeping warm by the fire. When dinner was ready we went inside and enjoyed the beautiful fireplace’s light and warmth in the great room of the villa. The great room had an inviting oversized jacuzzi tub that also basked in the warmth of the fire. The master bedroom had lovely french doors opening onto the patio and a very enticing fluffy bed. It had a nicley appointed bathroom with two sinks and oversized towels. There were two wide screen tvs, one in the bedroom and one in the great room. The villa had a smaller bedroom off the kitchen and there was a full bathroom off the kitchen as well. Everywhere you looked, there was tile and tasteful decor.

The owners, Bob and Carrie couldn’t have been nicer. We were shown all around the property. After seeing the villa, we had to stay there. It was the first night they had opened it for the upcoming warmer season. After the first night, we thought the kitchen could use a few items and upon our returning to the villa the second day after enjoying the area, everything we needed was there. Bob and Carrie are not only very accommodating they were so friendly as well.

The other reviews mentioned the lodge’s amenities such as the pool and hot tub (which we were a little too early for). The small golf course looked inviting and we did enjoy strolling the grounds it encompasses with the trout pond and cozy seating placed through out. We enjoyed our fireplace and patio to the point that we missed trying the restaurant , but we heard other patrons talking about how delicious the food was. Additionally, AT &T cell service worked in the villa and free laptop wireless WIFI was available in the lodge’s lobby (which we took advantage of while enjoying the complimentary continental breakfast). We didn’t get a chance to try the spa, but we intend to return to the Chalet View and do all the things we missed the first time around.

  • Liked — Indoor/Outdoor fireplace and patio
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    57
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
53
90
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2008

We live locally at Lake Tahoe and wanted to get away for the night. Just a short drive out on beautiful highway 89 led us towards the Sierra Buttes. And to the Chalet View Lodge.

Our afternoon started off with a mountain bike ride to the feather river...(the trail leaves from the lodge) Our dog Rocky loved that adventure. Then a glass of wine while playing some horseshoes. Next we enjoyed a fabulous dinner in the very cozy dining area.

The next morning we borrowed a couple of golf clubs and practiced our short game on their 6 hole golf course (par 3's)... We also enjoyed a picnic lunch while playing some bacchi ball.

Unfortunately the pool and hot tub were'nt quite open yet...but it was still april in the sierras.

Yes the lodge may be on the main road...but that is only the front... their "backyard" is natures playground and fun activities for young at heart.

We will be back...

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

The Chalet View Lodge was unexpectantly more than I could have ever hoped. We went for our wedding anniversary and were treated to accomodations in the style of a mountain getaway.

We checked in at the beautiful lobby and immediately got our Starbucks at the small store located conveniently next to the front desk. The lobby area is incredible with a large 2 sided fireplace which fronts the check in counter and the bar/reception area. Just outside the back doors is patio area with table, chairs, and another outdoor fireplace. This would be perfect for breakfast/lunch/dinner during warmer times. We went during the winter and unfortunately the restraunt was closed the night we were there. They do serve a continental breakfast in the morning and it was excellent. Starbucks coffee, hard boiled eggs, french toast, bagels, yogurt, and much more.

They have many different types of rooms including a few cabins and a large villa (very upscale). The cabins and villa are not opened during the winter, at least not currently.

We stayed in one of their suites and were blown away. A bi-level suite with 2 bathrooms (one on each floor). The luxury was something we were not expecting to the degree it was presented. The first floor had a leather couch, small sitting table and chairs, private balcony (better for summer months), large flat screen TV, fireplace, and the aforementioned bathroom with double sinks. The upper level had a incredibly comfortable king pillow top bed with a down comforter, another flat screen TV mounted on an arm which could be swung right over the bed, and the other bathroom which had a rain shower head (came down from directly above). Bathrooms and the whole suite was outfitted in travertine and natural woods. Decor was modern and mountainy at the same time.

As for cleanliness, it is not even a factor. I literally could not find anything wrong and off the top of my head I cannot remember anywhere else where this has been the case. Not one issue.

After breakfast in the morning and before checking out (when we asked for a slightly late check out, it was no problem), we asked to take a look at one of the "rustic cabins". Now, while not quite up to the incredible luxury of the suites, these cabins were far from rustic. I have never seen a flat screen in a rustic cabin. The cabin we looked at had 2 bedrooms upstairs and living areas downstairs including a small kitchen. We will be going back this summer with our 2 young boys and most likely taking one of these.

The location is perfect. Four minutes to Portola where there is a grocery store and other services. Eight minutes to Blairsdon/Graeagle where we rented cross country skis and there are a few golf courses. Finding fine dinning in the winter is somewhat of a challenge, especially with the Chalets restraunt closed while we were there. In the summer the Iron Door is probably your best bet. Others include Grizzly Grill, Coyote Grill, and the Mt. Tomba Inn. We had a great dinner at Mt. Tomba. The restraunt is more rough and tumble than luxurious, but the food was excellent and well priced.

As for activities there, the Chalet looks to have much to offer. While we were only there shortly and by ourselves, we saw some families sledding and playing in the snow. During the summer they have a trout pond for fishing, a small 6 hole executive golf course, a kids playground, volleyball court, work out room, and a spa next door with treatments. A perfectly self contained area for a few days of fun.

Simply put, I feel the greatest compliment I can give is by taking the time to write this review and returning to the Chalet View Lodge.

  • Liked — Overall good feeling you get by being there. Forgot to mention the pool and jacuzzi open in summer
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio tx
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2007

My wife and i had a wonderful time for 5 days and nights at the lodge and could not expect anything more than the attention we got there and can not wait until the next time we get a chance to go back and enjoy another few days together i would recommend this lodge to any one wanting exceptional sevvice in a tranquil and beautiful setting . most of all we loved the service and treatment we recieved from every one there.


i.b.hinton

san antonio, tx

thanks again every one there

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2007

Our 3-gal group stayed for a few days. This is a very nice place with oh-so comfortable beds, clean rooms, a good restaurant, great ambiance, accommodating staff, and a nice spa. Plus, there is a Starbuck's right in the lobby. Who could ask for anything more?
Plumas Pines is a lovely golf course a few short miles away. (We hired the pro, Brandon to give us a quick lesson. He was a very good teacher.)
I was a bit disappointed that the gym was closed on the weekend, ( I believe the lady who checked us in said that they could make arrangements if we wanted to work out), but we had so many other things to do that it wasn't an issue.
There isn't much in the way of shopping close by, but we plan to go back again next year and head down to Truckee to satisfy the shopping bug.
You owe it to yourself to try this place!

  • Liked — VERY comfortable, peaceful
  • Disliked — ...Hmmm...Can't think of anything
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet View Lodge

Address: 72056 Highway 70, Graeagle, CA 96103
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Graeagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Graeagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet View Lodge, an exquisitely designed luxury hotel, makes your visit to the pristine golf country of the Mohawk Valley an experience to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Chalet View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet View Hotel Graeagle
Chalet View Graeagle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.