We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream come true” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet View Lodge

Save Saved
You added Chalet View Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chalet View Lodge
72056 Highway 70, Graeagle, CA 96103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Graeagle
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A dream come true”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Not knowing the area well, we made plans to visit Lake Almanor on 4th of July! There are wonderful activities there but NO vacancy during this holiday. So we searched all surrounding areas, including vacation rentals, but still no availability. My husband discovered the Chalet View Lodge and we traveled there to wait out the holiday. We were amazed at the quality, amenities and serenity of this lodging. It was truly a delight to be there in the pines. Hotel Service was impeccable, as was that for dining.. The room was well-appointed and so comfortable. Because of the altitude, even with sunny weather, it was not hot! You must see their website to appreciate all they have to offer, because you can find plenty to do without leaving the property. But do venture out..the little town of Graeagle (gray-eagle) has lots of quaint shops and a lake they call a pond where you can swim, picnic, etc. We explored many back roads and swam in nearby lakes. The Staff at Chalet View can direct you to fun things to do. Also, this is a base for anyone - we met senior couples, hikers/fishermen(and women), and families with young children or teens here! The pool and patio terrace are delightful. I cannot tell how wonderful and affordable it is here!

Room Tip: We had a room on the pool side (not highway), and it was very quiet as we are light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rc_hickman, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We are so appreciative that by chance you found us and our unique property in the Lost Sierra. Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Yours Truly, Bob and Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    53
    19
    7
    9
See reviews for
49
84
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Good things: great spot for fam vaca or romantic get away, par three gold is fun for kids or adults to learn on, great spot for fishing and hiking, definitely one of the top lodging in the area. Loved the outdoor jacuzzi that faced the forest. Very few people midweek so lots of privacy. Full Starbucks menu. Short hike to Feather River where we caught and released fish and saw beavers. Outdoor patio with pizza oven was awesome potential but pizza was not great. Menu advetised onions and garlic and non was on the pizza. Really lovely carpentry, tiling and moulding and i loved the unique outdoor light fixtures. Not so great: when we arrived they informed us that chef quit and no dinner would be served for three days. That was okay because we brought in lots of our food from Whole Foods in Reno. one day they were out of half and half and one day they were out of morning coffee for guests. They got us complimentary Americanos at Starbucks. No rugs or carpets anywhere in the downstairs or upstairs of the spa suite. The tile is rough and dark and felt dirty. The way the spa suite was advertised, I thought I would have an outdoor private jacuzzi tub but it was indoor private. No outdoor patio for our suite to enjoy the summer breeze and drink a glass of wine. Parking spot view outside of room. I went this time for romantic getaway and it was WAY beyond my expectations. I will come again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rc_hickman, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
How great that you discovered all that our property has to offer and that you recognized our attention to detail. We are always trying to improve so the constructive criticism is welcome. We will see you soon. Bob and Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A group of us held a weekend retreat here from a Thursday evening to Saturday afternoon and it was divine. The rooms, meeting room, people and service were wonderful and they couldn't have been more pleasant. This little slice of paradise is only about an hour from Reno and you feel like you are worlds away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We really appreciate your wonderful comments about our lodge. It is such a pleasure to host your group and we look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We de Diego take a few days off and google for a nice hotel in this area. Our room has double terrace doors onto a deck overlooking the grounds, back of lodge and pool. Had a nice massage by Amanda at the spa. It is small but comfortable. Our room has king bed,fireplace and flat screen tv. Bath gas 2 sinks, small closet with separate shower/toilet area. Steps from our bed area leads to sitting loft, table, chairs, small frig with no freezer, microwave plus 1/2 bath. I assume the sma sofa is a hide-a-bed. There is a little traffic during the day as it is on Highway 70, only 2 lines not a freeway. This lodge has all that I wanted. Breakfast. Nice dinners. Spa. Golf and bikes. A great getaway. Hope you like it also

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

What was supposed to be a 3 day business trip in the middle of nowhere, ended up being a month long trip in which I ran over my cell phone, worked 12 hour days, failing at what I was doing, but surrounded by beauty (not just you Anna), and lucky enough to spend my nights at the Chalet View Lodge. Off the beaten path of the Sierra's, the Chalet View is definitely the premier resort in the area. I loved my rooms, (I think I stayed in half on them), the dinning, and ending my nights at the bar with the friendly staff who didn't get to go home on time for a month because I always had to have one more glass of wine. The owners Carrie and Bob made me feel at home, attended to all my requests, and provided much needed laughter and stimulating conversation. The area is rich in history and I would love to go back for pleasure rather than business.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have been coming to this Plumas County area for over 20 years, usually camping at the state park or staying in one of the old-timey motels in Portola. We decided to try out the Chalet View Lodge after reading the good reviews on TA, and were very happy with our choice. The room felt luxurious, and was spotless. The bed was extremely comfortable. The only strange thing was the lack of horizontal/shelf space. For example, there was a coffeemaker (with Starbucks coffee) set up on one shelf, but the cord wasn't long enough to reach the outlet. We had to pick it all up and move it to the already crowded bathroom sink to use it.
Unfortunately, the place was almost deserted-- there seemed to be only three other parties staying there. (It was a weekday, in the offseason.) We happened to hit absolutely beautiful weather, perfect for strolling the property with our dog. There is a pond, a small golf course, a children's playground, and trails out into public forest land. We also hit the Brewing Lair, just up the road a few miles in Blairsden, and spent an enjoyable hour outside at the picnic tables there with friendly people and delicious beers.
Breakfast was fine, although not commensurate with the quality of the lodge. I would have enjoyed a few higher-end pastries rather than a wider variety of more ordinary offerings. The coffee was delicious, and the dining room was comfortable.
Be sure to check their Facebook page, as we found a special price there that really made it a great deal!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rc_hickman, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
When we built the lodge the company that did the feasibility report encouraged us because there hadn't been a new facility built in Plumas county in 50 years. We are happy that this reviewer noted that and gave us a shot. We look forward to continuing our improvement of Chalet View for years to come. Bob and Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you are looking for a pleasant night's stay in a very clean comfortable well-designed room in a very beautiful area try the Chalet View. Our room had a comfortable bed, a gas fireplace, nice balcony, and upstairs with half bath, a couch, table and chairs and facilities for storing and heating food. We had dinner at the Grille Restaurant which I thought was good. The jacuzzi was under a tree so had some floating debris. Swimming pool was unheated so I stayed away. Continental breakfast was the usual fare. The golf course is well maintained I believe. I am not a golfer. Graeagle is in the gold country with lots of historical interest and places to see. It is close to the Railroad Museum at Portola, where for about $300.00 you can spend some time driving a locomotive. The scenery is well worth a trip Try Feather River Canyon and Hwy 49. Because of the economy not many visitors in the area which suited me just fine

Room Tip: Second floor overlooking gold course are choice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chalet View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet View Lodge

Address: 72056 Highway 70, Graeagle, CA 96103
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Graeagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Graeagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet View Lodge, an exquisitely designed luxury hotel, makes your visit to the pristine golf country of the Mohawk Valley an experience to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Chalet View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet View Hotel Graeagle
Chalet View Graeagle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.