We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax and dine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet View Lodge

Save Saved
You added Chalet View Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chalet View Lodge
72056 Highway 70, Graeagle, CA 96103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Graeagle
San Jose, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We and 30+ friends stayed for 5 nights on a recent trip for day hiking in the area. This is our second 5 night stay at Chalet View. The rooms are excellent. Food is excellent. The owners are on property almost every day. A few rooms had a small issue with housekeeping but the owners were there to resolve and correct the problems in most cases. The grounds and buildings are continuously improving and this place has something for almost everyone. A 6 hole pitch and put course, pool, hot tub and a quiet pond to sit and relax by. An excellent place to stay while exploring a most beautiful area of the Sierra.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    53
    19
    7
    9
See reviews for
51
84
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We were up this way for a week of golf with 40+ others staying at many different places. We think we hit the jackpot! The Chalet offers extremely comfortable beds, pillows, and soft linens for a great night's sleep. They have a great little continental breakfast bar that is balanced to give you just what you need before heading out for your daily activities. There is a covered outdoor patio with granite topped tables for enjoying your meals. The property is lush and green and very well maintained. There is something for everybody. There is even a pickleball court for those of us who enjoy this fast growing sport. The owner and his wife are on site and quick to respond to any need or concern. They obviously take great pride in this property and it shows. We have brought friends over and all have been impressed and plan to stay here in the future. We will be back without question. This is a beautiful gem of a place.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back overlooking the pool are quieter than the ones in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I returned to the Chalet View Lodge for a night with my daughter. I have made an annual trek up here for several years now during the summer. The Lodge is lovely. It is modern yet rustic, blending nicely into the surrounding pines. The rooms are very tastefully furnished, extremely clean and quiet. The property also includes several family cabins, a small golf green, a swimming pool and hot tub, spa and a cozy restaurant. They even have a Starbucks mini-cafe in the lobby. Each morning, they serve a complimentary light breakfast with bagels, waffles, granola, yogurt, fruit, juices and coffee/tea. Seating is available outside under the arbor on the patio overlooking the pool. While the amenities offered are many, the Lodge retains a very intimate atmosphere. The staff and owners are exceedingly helpful and gracious. I would highly recommend Chalet View Lodge. It is definitely a home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

The Chalet View is a lovely property with tremendous potential. Overall, our experience was quite good. The owners are on-site and very friendly and accommodating, as was most of the other staff. There is some fine tuning that needs to be done, mostly related to minor details. For example, we booked a terrace suite, which has a king bed and a queen fold out bed, for our family of four. Our first night we went to tuck in the kids after a long day, only to find that there were no extra pillows provided for the fold-out so we had to go track some down. There were a number of other similar issues (no washcloths in one of the bathrooms, problems with door keys, etc.). None of them alone was a big deal, but it got slightly irritating after a while (we were there for five nights). The biggest issue was the management of the restaurant. They simply could not handle more than three tables at a time. They have a very tiny kitchen and the servers seemed to be working the front desk while waiting tables. They were trying hard but, with one exception, were visibly stressed. Service was extremely slow--at least an hour to get our food. That being said, the food was delicious and portions were generous. The patio, where we ate, is lovely so the wait for the food was at least pleasant. Our kids loved taking the row boat out on the pond and roasting marshmallows in the evening. Again, overall good experience and very accommodating staff. My suggestion is that the management just focus a little more attention on the details that would take the Chalet View from being a nice place to stay to being a fabulous family lodge.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011 via mobile

Need I say more? The staff has beyond swayed my decision to permanently relocate to the nearby town of Portola upon my return from the negative, tight-fisted atmosphere of the Midwest. They reflect the overall classiness that outdoes Tahoe hands down. Starbucks is still my main draw whenever I had commuted to Carson City nearly every weekend for legal business. In fact, I found myself staying in one of their loft suites back in March of 2009.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North SF Bay
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We only had 3 days to visit the area and were in need of some R&R. Upon making the reservations, I was told that we could upgrade to a fireplace terrace suite room if one was available. So, I booked a King Deluxe in the back (thank you previous TA comments for that tip). The king room was very small, with dim lighting and really had no place to put luggage except for a closet that did not have a light in it. So, we inquired if a fireplace terrace suite room was available to upgrade. We were told that none was available. We found it odd since the parking lot that evening was nearly empty with our car being only the second one in the back parking area. (we later learned that it was not that these rooms were in use but that they had not been cleaned) Anyway, the king room did not have shampoo. No big deal - probably just an oversight by housekeeping. Breakfast offered is terrific - hb eggs, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, etc. and was enough to sustain us for a day of hiking. We had packed our car with our luggage so that we could move into a fireplace room later that day, which we did. The bed is of a much better quality than our previous room. Nice view from the balcony! We left for a full-day of hiking and exploring to return to find that our room had not been cleaned. I honestly thought that perhaps the lodge did not provide daily housekeeping. Not a big deal but we walked around the property to empty our trash and finally had to take it to the front desk. Again, this is not a really big deal, just a little surprising. We decided to swim in the pool and spa and discovered that the spa did not work. Again, not a really big deal. I believe that because the lodge was not too crowded things got missed. Weird thing in our fireplace room (fireplace was wonderful, by the way) was that there was an A/C going all the time in the upper staircase. It could not be turned off because of its high location and there was no remote. A little strange. I also would suggest to housekeeping that they damp mop the floors before the next guest. Both our rooms, which had gorgeous floors, were dusty. On the plus side, the front desk personnel are helpful. They gave us some great restaurant recommendations and ideas for walks right from the hotel. Well-maintained property and grounds. Quiet. Good place to take a deep breath. The outside patio is beautiful. Would I stay here again? Not sure. I suspect that our experience was just an unusual and unlucky one for us. BTW, if you are going to the area, we loved our hikes to Gold Lake, Packer Lake, and Frazier Falls. Lots of snow still present in late June! No one on the trails with us! A little treat right at the lodge - watched a mother woodpecker feed her very hungry and demanding offspring in a tree hole, right off the outdoor patio.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rc_hickman, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
We were disheartened to hear that your stay was not up to the standard that we strive to meet for each and every guest. We have recently acquired new housekeeping staff and the kinks are still being worked out with ensuring every detail is looked after. In addition, we are implementing a new system to see that every guest will have more control over the climate control in their room. To our knowledge, the spa is functioning and we apologize that you were not able to enjoy it to its fullest. We appreciate your honesty and your acknowledgment of the positive sides to your stay. We hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to rectify any poor experience by returning to stay with us so that we may truly surpass your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

$10.83 for a white russian; hate getting ripped off! Otherwise, very nice. Charming staff, beautiful grounds and rooms. Actually slept very well. But, unless you're a Kennedy, don't order drinks at the bar in the loby. Also couldn't get hi speed internet in my room (room 201), had to do my business from the loby. Minor inconvenience. Golf course is cute, but that's it... bring your 9 iron thru putter; leave the rest home. $7 to work out in the fitness center (am told).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet View Lodge

Address: 72056 Highway 70, Graeagle, CA 96103
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Graeagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Graeagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet View Lodge, an exquisitely designed luxury hotel, makes your visit to the pristine golf country of the Mohawk Valley an experience to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Chalet View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet View Hotel Graeagle
Chalet View Graeagle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;