We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How could you go wrong>????” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Elephant Bar & Restaurant
521 Firestone Rd, Goleta, CA 93117-3239
805-964-0779
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Holmes Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“How could you go wrong>????”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

First class lunch! Located almost right on the field, this is the best find ever if you are flying into Santa Barbara.
I had the Macadamia Chicken with Shrimp on a Skewer and my co had Soup with Salmon Rolls. Both were reasonabley priced and tasted delicious! Very exotic atmosphere, wonderful service, I only wish we had more time to enjoy this establishment. If we are ever back this way again we will be sure to drop by.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    14
    14
    15
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

One of the clerk's at the hotel recommended this restaurant and it is a restaurant that we enjoy near where we live, so we knew it would be a good choice. It's probably 3 miles from the hotel but it was well worth it. Prices are reasonable and service is excellent. They offer a full bar if you are inclined to just want a drink and are content to sit in the bar area. This is a large and nicely decorated restaurant. My husband and I shared a meal and just ordered a salad as a side. Servings were very generous and in fact we had more than enough to eat. It was delicious. The restaurant sets by itself where it's located, but it's very near a shopping center which includes a Costco.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pluses and minuses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

On the plus side: great atmosphere, and a very sweet and helpful server. The kitchen was slow and our server kept apologizing for it to our party and the tables around us. When the food came, a sandwich was falling-apart soggy, with limp fries on the side, as if the dish had been sitting under heat lamps too long. Tomato soup, which was good, could have been hotter. The menu is confusing, with some items repeated here and there on the many pages. Our party of four could have been tempted to order dessert, or at least share one, but there was nothing there that appealed to any of us.

We hadn't eaten at Elephant Bar in a couple of years, and in our memory, it was a better place back then.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just OK for us.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We are a family of 5 with 3 kids (6, 8, and 9). Food and drink was average and of a quality typical of chain restaurant. We ate there on New Year's Eve and there was nothing special happening (no drink or food specials). Our waitress was very attentive and just friendly enough that we felt welcomed but not put off.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faa'a, French Polynesia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice but that's it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We went there for dinner because a lot of reviews were talking about it. We were very disappointed because the meals we chose were not that good. We were expecting some original cuisine but it was absolutely ordinary and fair.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.