We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-star service from a hotel rated 3-star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5620 Calle Real, Goleta, CA 93117   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
Washington State
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“5-star service from a hotel rated 3-star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed March 4-8. The hotel impressed us with the beautiful landscaping, clean and comfortable beds, nice breakfast, fluffy towels, free parking, etc. The best part, though, was the way the employees did their jobs. They were unobtrusive, efficient, and willing to help with any question or problem. One example was the man at the desk who made a map to show me how to get to a certain beach. The same clerk the next day quickly helped us use the printer in the business center when we had trouble with it. These people know how to run a hotel!
By staying in Goleta, a 10-minute drive from downtown Santa Barbara, we saved some money and felt that we got an excellent value. When we checked in, we asked for a quiet room which we got (second floor in the back, overlooking the gardens and pool).
The only negatives were that we could not get the TV to work. We would have asked for help, but the TV was not a big deal to us. (Too busy sightseeing and reading our books.) Also, we didn't get Gold Crown Club points for our stay on our Best Western. We were told that was because we booked through a third party.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-Coast I, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for you response! The hotel has a lot of great amenities and we are happy that you were able to enjoy them. We are also glad that you were impressed with our great customer service. We hope that you think of us for your next trip to the area, so you can enjoy our convenient location and value again. We look forward to having you back.

Thanks,

Nicole Weland
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    161
    50
    6
    5
See reviews for
150
83
16
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fortuna, ca
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

They were doing remodeling during our stay but it did not bother us. The room was very nice. the bed was so comfortable. We had a king room with a sofa bed, computer desk and chair. There is a flatscreen TV. The toilet was a little small and flushed like none I have ever seen before. The room got a little stuffy in the morning, since the windows do not open up we just opened our door for a while. Breakfast was good. Nice places to sit inside and outside. We will stay here again when visiting Goleta. The location was also good. They front desk was very nice, also. In fact we checked in much later then we expected, 10:30pm and they did not give away the room. I did guarantee with the credit card, but I have heard of some hotels giving the room away, but not here. We were very placed with this Best Western.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-Coast I, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your room and our location! We are grateful when we get feedback that is useful for improving future stays for you and other guests. We do not have windows that open, but we have the amazing patio, garden and pool area where guests can enjoy fresh air all year round.
We look forward to having you stay again soon!

Thank you,

Nicole Weland
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here the weekend of Oct 27-29. The first night we were there, we weren't sure what we were getting into because there was a Halloween neighborhood party nearby and there were a lot of college kids hanging out and getting ready to party. But we had a surprisingly quiet stay anyways, so good job Best Western! Even thought the hotel is very close to the freeway, we didn't hear any street noise from our rooms or even from the pool or courtyard.

We wanted to avoid paying a premium for staying in Santa Barbara but we wanted to go to the beach and visit a mission for this trip. The hotel was 5-10 minutes away from the places we wanted to go to, close to restaurants (thumbs up Outback Steakhouse) and stores (there's a Lucky's and Trader Joe's down the street). We were happy with our choice.

Since we were traveling with another family, we were happy that there were places we could hang out with them. The pool area has a nice patio and a ping pong table. The jacuzzi is really wonderful. We also were able to talk while the kids played cards in the lobby/breakfast room during the evening. The grounds are nicely landscaped with whimsical topiaries. It's just a really well-kept place.

Our room was clean, had a TV w/DVD player, microwave, fridge and the WiFi was pretty fast. The breakfast room was clean and spacious. Breakfast included sausage, omelets, pastries, cereal, fruit, eggs, yogurt, milk and there's a really nice self-serve espresso machine too. We were especially happy that there were no nuts in any of the breakfast items, hopefully they stay that way for the safety of their nut allergic customers. There's also a business center with a few computers and right outside were a couple of small tables where one could enjoy breakfast next to a lovely water fountain. The people who work at the hotel are very nice, helpful, and unobtrusive and we only needed to talk with them at check in and check out.

The only remotely negative impression I had was that the pool was chilly (aren't most outdoor pools?) and that the tile around the ping pong table and patio area was slippery in the morning.

Overall we had a fantastic stay and would stay at this Best Western if we visited the area again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-Coast I, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello and Thanks for taking the time to post a review for us!
We are so glad that your stay was peaceful and enjoyable. Halloween time can be tricky for Santa Barbara, but we try hard to take the precautions needed to make sure everything stays quiet and comfortable for everyone. We are also glad that you enjoyed our great location and value for the area. We offer a lot of amenities and we are glad when guests like you are able to enjoy them!
We hope to have you back soon,

Nicole Weland
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

When visiting our son in Goleta, we wanted a reasonably priced hotel nearby. Found this Best Western on our last visit & booked again this trip. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable & staff friendly. The grounds are well maintained & include a nice pool & in-ground spa. Breakfast is included & gives enough variety for almost everyone. The only thing we noticed different on this trip was that the mattress cover...it sounded like we were on top of plastic. This didn't effect its comfort or a good night's sleep, it just seemed a little odd. For the price, this place is a great find.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-Coast I, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay at our property. We are glad that you stay with us when you come to visit UCSB.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 805.967.3200.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the review. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel.

Nicole Weland
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Ca.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This Best Western was perfect for our golf weekend at Glen Annie. Not far off the freeway with walking distance restaurants and shopping. It appears to have had many improvements/remodeling in the last 2-3 years. The hotel was clean, well designed and the staff was friendly. The breakfast that was included was above our expectations. Beds were extremely comfortable. The location was ideal...close to highway and food. The cost was very fair for this area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel in the general Santa Barbara area. (Goleta is a 10 minute drive North)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-Coast I, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon next time you are in the area to golf, or any other occasion.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 805.967.3200.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the review. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel.

Nicole Weland
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our family has stayed at Best Western South Coast Inn several times over the past 4 years. Very clean. They have a pool and hot tub. Their breakfast menu (which is included) is large. Everything you can think of, eggs, sausage, cereal, juices, muffins etc. very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: I have always stayed on the second floor, and its always been pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-Coast I, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 805.967.3200.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the review. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel.

Nicole Weland
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a good place to stay if you are trying to save a little money and not stay in Santa Barbara. Its about 5-10 minutes from State street in Santa Barbara. If you are looking for a clean place to crash while you are out visiting the town I would recommend it. But it is just the basics. The beds are clean. The bathrooms are a bit small. It is a bit out dated. So, I wouldn't recommend this place for a romantic getaway. The grounds and pool are nice. It has your typical continental breakfast. Some others complained about noise from the freeway but I did not have that problem. We had a room towards the back of the hotel. It has a decent TV and a DVD player.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-Coast I, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 805.967.3200.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the review. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel.

Nicole Weland
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn

Address: 5620 Calle Real, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Goleta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#5 Business Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Groupon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus South Coast Hotel Goleta
Best Western Goleta
Goleta Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.