We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My usual go to hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5620 Calle Real, Goleta, CA 93117   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    181
    54
    7
    5
See reviews for
166
94
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eden, UT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was the nicest BW Plus motels I have stayed in. I was very impressed with the gardens around the pool and the landscaping over all. Everything was perfect, the rooms, the staff, and the food. Usually something will annoy you but I stayed 4 nights and never had a single complaint.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-Coast I, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hello!
Thanks so much for taking the time to give us the positive feedback. We are really happy that you had a great time here on your four nights with us. We try really hard to meet our guests highest expectations, and love to hear that we have met yours. We hope to see you again when you come back to visit Santa Barbara.

Thanks,

Nicole Weland
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This Best Western is beautiful. The lobby and breakfast area are also nicely appointed. The landscape was very well manicured. The location is close enough to walk to Outback Steakhouse for dinner and there are other restaurants close by. The bed was super comfy.
The only negative was that the toilet area was a bit tight in space.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-Coast I, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. We appreciate feedback from all of our guest, especially when it it so great.

Please let me know if and when you will be back in our area, and I would love to have you stay in one of our newly remodeled rooms. I am certain you will be very excited about the new bathroom layout.


Thanks,

Nicole Weland
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The rooms are clean, basic, as expected. The grounds are above average with well manicured foilage, grassy area and amenities. teh aesthetics are pleasant and inviting.The pool area is fine, tables, chaises, clean and centrally located. They have a ping pong table for those who like to swat the ball around and a very nice full breakfast every morning. In addition, a complimentary shuttle to/from UCSB every 1/2 hour all day until 10 pm & to/from airport. The gym is clean, not great, but sufficient. They could use a stretching area, some free weights, stretch balls, etc... and there was a pin missing from1 of the weight stacks on the only universal. Also, the tv's were stuck on 1 channel with no way to change it and it wasn't synced to the cardio equipment. Front desk staff just needs to pay better attention, needs guest service training and lessons on politeness and smiling to guests. So, for the price, it is a deal. There is a great local fish restaurant walking distance on Calle Real. The only awful thing are the pillows - bring your own, they are HORRIBLE.

Room Tip: If you are visiting a child at UCSB, this is a good deal with the free shuttle - it stops at 4 diffr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-Coast I, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello,
Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel. We are very grateful for all of your input and are considering having a few sets of different pillows available for check out to our guests who like them flatter or smaller. We are glad that you enjoyed our many amenities and we hope to see you again soon.

Thanks so much,

Nicole Weland
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castaic, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had numerous problems both nights we stayed. The first night, there was loud buzzing (that came and went) in the wall and kept us awake all night. Then, the hotel didn't give us our wake up call. We were late for our meeting time because of it and we were tired due to the buzzing keeping us awake. In the morning, we asked the manager if they would switch us to a different room for the second night or fix the buzzing. He said yes. But when we got back later that evening, they hadn't done it. The second night, the wake up call came at exactly midnight and woke us up - although we were still having problems sleeping due to the on and off buzzing that they hadn't fixed. We went to the front desk in the middle of the night to complain to the the night manager but he made no apologies and acted as if he didn't care. We were exhausted in the morning due to lack of sleep and talked to the day manager. She listened to our story and said she'd comp part of room cost. It took numerous phone calls back and fourth to her and to the corporate office and more than two months for that to happen - and then it was less than what she promised. On several occasions, I asked for the name and phone number of the owner, but nobody would ever give them to me. We got very little sleep for two nights during a very important weekend. It was anything but a pleasant stay. I would suggest saving some money and frustration and go somewhere else. These people don't care.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-Coast I, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so sorry that you had problems while you were here. We do apologize for the mix up with the wake up call system and were happy to refund half of your stay for your problems. We did encounter a few problems issuing your refund due to the fact that you made your reservation and paid for your room through a third party. Please let us know if you did not receive the money that we refunded back to them.

Thank you so much for your time,

Nicole Weland
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here two nites while attending a conference.

PROS:
Grounds were nice and room was fairly spacious with microwave and fridge. I shared room with colleague and we weren't constantly bumping into each other. Also, didn't hear anyone around us, which was good. Bed was fairly comfy but AC was loud. I didn't use any ammenities so I can't comment on those My colleague went to the free breakfast and I guess it was okay because I didn't hear any negatives. Close to Univ. of Santa Barbara.

CONS:

The rooms definitely need a makeover because of the 90's decor. I believe I saw a sign stating the hotel was under renovation so I'm guess the room I was in hadn't received facelift. Also, everything in the immediate area appears to close by 9 or 10pm. We arrived around 9pm, checked-in and had to have dinner at Denny's because nothing else was open. As another reviewer mentioned, stairs twist on the way up so it is difficult to maneuvere luggage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-Coast I, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you chose us, and enjoyed the rooms and great amenities we have to offer for those visiting UCSB.

You will be glad to hear that we are in the process of a remodel which includes updating the interior of our rooms. You are welcome to come back and enjoy these upgrades over the next few months.

We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,

Nicole Weland
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Beautiful grounds, Friendly staff, Good breakfast selection. But DOUBLE the rate for Saturday nite??? It is not that fantastic a place and they did not appear to be sold out. Think it is outrageous. Don't have much choice except to pay it as we were there for several nites due to a family visit.

Room Tip: Inside courtyard is nicely landscaped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-Coast I, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds, great staff and breakfast. We know that rates in Santa Barbara can be high during our busiest seasons. We would love for you to come back during the "off" season when you can enjoy our same great amenities for lower rates. We look forward to seeing you again,

Nicole Weland
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn

Address: 5620 Calle Real, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Goleta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#5 Business Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus South Coast Hotel Goleta
Best Western Goleta
Goleta Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.