We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Facelifted motel with some Kimpton charm” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5650 Calle Real, Goleta, CA 93117 (Formerly Hotel Goleta)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Facelifted motel with some Kimpton charm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Goodland did not blow me away. From the lobby area, it looks brand-new, with trendy decor and an awesome woody outside. The rooms have the same feel on the surface, but when it comes to the lasting details, something is off. Understandably, it's a converted motel, but it shouldn't have to feel that way. Rooms facing the parking lot have a Motel 6 feeling to the entrance, although you'd never confuse the two once inside. There are a lot of opportunities for improvement here, although it's in a decent location and not far from food and grocery.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here last week. I came here when this place was a Holiday Inn Express, and with the Kimpton renovation, I can't even recognize it. The rooms and restaurant are more personable, with a couple of places to sit around a cozy fireplace. The rooms were quiet, as property is offset away from the 101. They brought the chef in from Chicago, so the food tastes great, although they don't serve breakfast. My recommendation is the fish tacos and the buns. WiFi is free if you're a member of Kimtpon Kharma, and the signal seems strong throughout the facility. It is by far the best 3 star hotel I've been at, although it doesn't fit the previous Kimpton genre we stayed at. Being dog-friendly without an additional charge, it was a great stay for our family. If you're staying in Santa Barbara and you need a place that is inexpensive yet cozy, this is your best bet.

Room Tip: Obviously very close to UCSB
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's hard to create a feeling of authenticity that doesn't feel gimmicky when theming a hotel. The Goodland definitely got it right. Kimpton renovated an old Holiday Inn into a throwback surf hotel. The art, the old woody, and all the little hidden hangout spots made it feel like an adventure. My girlfriends and I kept saying we felt like we were lounging around a pool in a retro Palm Spring hotel but we were in Goleta!

The rooms were small but comfortable. It had all the amenities you would need. The bed was super comfortable! I slept like a baby all 3 nights. I loved the record player in the rooms. There is nothing like the sound of vinyl!

The breakfast during the week was limited to breakfast sandwiches which were so so. However, there was free daily coffee and fresh made to order juice. The weekend brunch was fantastic! The chiliquiles were to die for. I got a massage by Trish (I think that was her name) and it was hands down the best massage I've ever had.

The hotel just opened so there are some kinks that need to be worked out (pool service during the week would be nice). With that being said I loved the hotel and the feeling I had when when I was there. I will definitely be back!

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, General Manager at The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hi Wanderlustincali,

Your review has such great vibes too! Thanks for the positivity and for pointing out some of the really great things we have here at The Goodland. Between the chilaquilies and Kimpton beds, comfort is at a max. Did you get a chance to check in with the Record Concierge and see what our collection had to offer besides what records were in your room? If not, definitely check that out the next time you visit.

Cheers,

Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I just returned from a two-night stay at the Kimpton Goodland in Santa Barbara. The stay was OK, but I wanted to share a few items I wish I had known before going:

1) This is a converted motel. Kimpton did a great job renovating it, but we easily heard our neighbors TV and conversations, as well as the noise at the pool and restaurant, well into the night.

2) There is a daily resort fee. Beyond (limited) towel service at the pool, I have no idea why they charge this.

3) If you're Inner Circle, don't expect much love. Room upgrades are insignificant, and the welcome amenity was below average. I also had to beg for late checkout (despite their site showing plenty of availability on Sunday).

4) Breakfast was terrible both days. On day one my friend ordered one of their breakfast sandwiches. After ordering, we were informed they were out of Ciabatta bread. This was good news, as my friend informed the waiter he would prefer Sourdough. The order comes out on Ciabatta, and bacon instead of sausage. On day two, I ordered a coffee and bagel. 10 minutes later, I was informed they were out of bagels. I asked what the other breakfast pastries were, and the waitress didn't know (she did comp the coffee).

Overall, I felt disappointed. There are great hotels in Santa Barbara, and I chose to stay here because I have status with Kimpton.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, General Manager at The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Greetings MSF415,

Thank you for the review. As you may have come to find there a few differences to what you have experienced at other Kimpton properties but we are excited about some of the unique touches that create the individuality here at The Goodland and that we at Kimpton seek at our hotels. With us you will find the same programs that all of our properties offer like Wine Hour aka Social Hour here, free WiFi and complementary coffee in the morning. However we have added some other touches hence the Resort Fee. Some of those items include parking (which can be pretty expensive per night at some of the other area properties), fitness classes, live music, movies, and an upgraded wine hour which we like to refer to as Social Hour.

We certainly understand that we are a slightly different Kimpton property but we embrace the fun natured and social aspect of the property and hope that others can see and enjoy that as well. As an Inner Circle Member your opinion means a lot to us and we thank you again for bringing your thoughts to the table and will keep those in mind as we move forward.

Thank you,

Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great place, its just opening. The restaurant is fantastic, and the activities planned for the hotel is exciting to have a LA style hotel in sleepy Goleta. Sure it might be difficult to please those that usually stay in motel 6's, this is far from that... its like the Standard in West Hollywood. Fun and Funky...This is hotel where fun and fun people come before sleep and boring people.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, General Manager at The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Awesome review jacky489!

Thank you for pointing out the fun we have here at The Goodland. We are excited to bring all that we have to offer to Goleta and I will add that it doesn't hurt when you have Chef Derek's food to taste on top of all the fun and unique activities we have going on.

Hope to see you hanging out around here again soon!

Cheers,

Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you stay at The Goodland expecting a Kimpton, you will likely be disappointed.

If you stay at The Goodland expecting a motel, you may be satisfied.

As other reviewers have pointed out, The Goodland is a renovated motel. It's clear Kimpton has tried to make it chic by adding a woody wagon, an airstream out front, and generous amounts of wood to cover up the metallic railing. Unfortunately, these efforts are superficial and don't offset the issues, many of which stem from the motel layout and lack of depth in the renovation.

The rooms are on the small side. The bathrooms are not up to Kimpton standard, particularly the tile in the tub/shower. There is a significant draft that comes through the door. It's clear that there was a renovation, but they didn't go far enough. You can hear your neighbors conversations even when they are not speaking particularly loudly. The kitschy touches like the record player in the room and bottle-opener-handle on the nightstand are nice, but again they are superficial and don't offset the problems.

Most disconcerting to us was the smell of marijuana smoke on multiple occasions. Smoking areas are designated, but given the motel layout, folks just step outside their rooms and apparently have no qualms in lighting up. Given that the doors are not air tight, the smell will come in your room.

We counted three staff people -- two worked at the front desk. The third magically appeared when we were at the pool and offered us towels (nice!) and then disappeared. Other than that we never saw any staff roaming the grounds, so there's nobody keeping an eye on things, or keeping guests in-line for smoking.

We had a meal in the hotel restaurant, The Outpost. It was just ok, but expensive for what you get, much like The Goodland itself. There are much better eating options just a few minutes walk from The Goodland. We liked the Nikka Fish Market & Grill, and it's a much better value than The Outpost.

The motel has two floors, but there is no elevator, so you have carry your suitcases, stroller, etc. up the stairs if you're staying on the second floor. Also, you cannot access the rooms through the main lobby; you have to exit, walk around (or drive).

Adding insult on top of all this is the ridiculous $25 resort fee that they add to your bill. Apparently a renovated motel can now be considered a resort! Would you expect a resort fee at Motel 6? No. So why is there one here?

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, General Manager at The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hi PassportPhilatelist,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay here at The Goodland. As you noticed we are an exterior entrance hotel that has focused on bringing the So Cal Beach Vibe in both the remodel and the programming on property which may not be what everyone is looking for. Our resort fee does include parking (which can be pretty expensive at other area hotels), fitness classes, weekly movies, live music amongst other things and we always have the Kimpton amenities such as free WiFi, complementary coffee in the AM and a Goodland enhanced Wine Hour that we like to call Social Hour.

In terms of your concerns about the smoking on property, we do have managers roaming the halls throughout the day and security in the evening so our apologies if we missed one of the other guests breaking our no smoking policy. We have added a few measures to help inform our guests about the no smoking policy in our rooms and guest areas since and have not had any reported issues of late.

Thanks again for the feedback you have provided, we do value both positive and constructive reviews equally.

Best regards,

Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this is basically a slightly dressed up motel in Goleta (which is not a place anyone would want to visit unless they are going to UCSB graduation or something). We stayed there as it is close to Santa Barbara, but it's actually a bit of a haul from there and not very convenient. The hotel has a cute restaurant and bar and a nice pool, but there is also a lot of noise from the bar and pool as all of the more expensive rooms look out onto the pool. The rooms in the back are a bit quieter (except for the noise at 6:30am from the cleaning crews and trucks loading and unloading god knows what) but in those rooms you really feel like you're in a dressed up budget motel.

The rooms are not comfortable. All the furnishings are aiming for mid-century modern with vintage record players, etc, but the furniture seems very cheap. Things are already starting to fall apart even though they just opened! There was no comfortable place to sit other than the bed. We therefore tried to hang out in the room very little. The sliding door leading to the bathroom was horrible - impossible to open or close it without tremendous rattling noises so at night you have a choice of peeing with the door open or closing it and thus waking up the other person in the room. What is with this sliding door bathroom thing that all the Kimptons are doing?

We are Kimpton inner circle, therefore have stayed at a lot of Kimpton properties and this was by far the least enjoyable. We will definitely not be going back. The staff was very nice and they kept touting all of their "fun activities" like a movie in the courtyard, etc. but really we would prefer they put more money and effort into quality accomodations. At $300 a night, we expected a lot more. We didn't eat at the restaurant so can't comment on that. We had a cocktail at the bar which was yummy, although their happy hour does not include cocktails, only beer and wine.

The fitness room is a tiny closet. We actually opted instead to go to a gym in town.

Oh, and when we checked out they hit us with a "resort fee". It's a motel. We actually laughed as it was so ridiculous. Kimpton - you're slipping!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, General Manager at The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hi santamonica39,

We totally understand that what we have to offer at The Goodland is not what every Kimpton guest has seen before nor do we expect that we are for everyone. The So Cal Beach Vibe is what drives everything from the rooms, decor, food and programming. Our focus is to create a socially engaging environment and have a lot of fun with our guests while providing the same Kimpton touches you have come to love about us and in some ways put our very own touch on it. You are absolutely right that we are not like what any other Kimpton is but we don't view that as a bad thing, we are having a great time introducing something new to the Santa Barbara/ Goleta area.

Cheers,

Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 5650 Calle Real, Goleta, CA 93117 (Formerly Hotel Goleta)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel is a boutique hotel in Santa Barbara's sister city Goleta. This new hot spot features an outdoor pool, on-site spa, fitness center offering daily classes, restaurant and lobby bar. Evenings are filled with live music, movie nights in the courtyard and more entertainment. The Goodland is conveniently located near UCSB, Goleta's business district and downtown Santa Barbara. Stay with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Santa Barbara - Goleta Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.