We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such great vibes!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bookmark
You added The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5650 Calle Real, Goleta, CA 93117 (Formerly Hotel Goleta)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Such great vibes!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

It's hard to create a feeling of authenticity that doesn't feel gimmicky when theming a hotel. The Goodland definitely got it right. Kimpton renovated an old Holiday Inn into a throwback surf hotel. The art, the old woody, and all the little hidden hangout spots made it feel like an adventure. My girlfriends and I kept saying we felt like we were lounging around a pool in a retro Palm Spring hotel but we were in Goleta!

The rooms were small but comfortable. It had all the amenities you would need. The bed was super comfortable! I slept like a baby all 3 nights. I loved the record player in the rooms. There is nothing like the sound of vinyl!

The breakfast during the week was limited to breakfast sandwiches which were so so. However, there was free daily coffee and fresh made to order juice. The weekend brunch was fantastic! The chiliquiles were to die for. I got a massage by Trish (I think that was her name) and it was hands down the best massage I've ever had.

The hotel just opened so there are some kinks that need to be worked out (pool service during the week would be nice). With that being said I loved the hotel and the feeling I had when when I was there. I will definitely be back!

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I just returned from a two-night stay at the Kimpton Goodland in Santa Barbara. The stay was OK, but I wanted to share a few items I wish I had known before going:

1) This is a converted motel. Kimpton did a great job renovating it, but we easily heard our neighbors TV and conversations, as well as the noise at the pool and restaurant, well into the night.

2) There is a daily resort fee. Beyond (limited) towel service at the pool, I have no idea why they charge this.

3) If you're Inner Circle, don't expect much love. Room upgrades are insignificant, and the welcome amenity was below average. I also had to beg for late checkout (despite their site showing plenty of availability on Sunday).

4) Breakfast was terrible both days. On day one my friend ordered one of their breakfast sandwiches. After ordering, we were informed they were out of Ciabatta bread. This was good news, as my friend informed the waiter he would prefer Sourdough. The order comes out on Ciabatta, and bacon instead of sausage. On day two, I ordered a coffee and bagel. 10 minutes later, I was informed they were out of bagels. I asked what the other breakfast pastries were, and the waitress didn't know (she did comp the coffee).

Overall, I felt disappointed. There are great hotels in Santa Barbara, and I chose to stay here because I have status with Kimpton.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a great place, its just opening. The restaurant is fantastic, and the activities planned for the hotel is exciting to have a LA style hotel in sleepy Goleta. Sure it might be difficult to please those that usually stay in motel 6's, this is far from that... its like the Standard in West Hollywood. Fun and Funky...This is hotel where fun and fun people come before sleep and boring people.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you stay at The Goodland expecting a Kimpton, you will likely be disappointed.

If you stay at The Goodland expecting a motel, you may be satisfied.

As other reviewers have pointed out, The Goodland is a renovated motel. It's clear Kimpton has tried to make it chic by adding a woody wagon, an airstream out front, and generous amounts of wood to cover up the metallic railing. Unfortunately, these efforts are superficial and don't offset the issues, many of which stem from the motel layout and lack of depth in the renovation.

The rooms are on the small side. The bathrooms are not up to Kimpton standard, particularly the tile in the tub/shower. There is a significant draft that comes through the door. It's clear that there was a renovation, but they didn't go far enough. You can hear your neighbors conversations even when they are not speaking particularly loudly. The kitschy touches like the record player in the room and bottle-opener-handle on the nightstand are nice, but again they are superficial and don't offset the problems.

Most disconcerting to us was the smell of marijuana smoke on multiple occasions. Smoking areas are designated, but given the motel layout, folks just step outside their rooms and apparently have no qualms in lighting up. Given that the doors are not air tight, the smell will come in your room.

We counted three staff people -- two worked at the front desk. The third magically appeared when we were at the pool and offered us towels (nice!) and then disappeared. Other than that we never saw any staff roaming the grounds, so there's nobody keeping an eye on things, or keeping guests in-line for smoking.

We had a meal in the hotel restaurant, The Outpost. It was just ok, but expensive for what you get, much like The Goodland itself. There are much better eating options just a few minutes walk from The Goodland. We liked the Nikka Fish Market & Grill, and it's a much better value than The Outpost.

The motel has two floors, but there is no elevator, so you have carry your suitcases, stroller, etc. up the stairs if you're staying on the second floor. Also, you cannot access the rooms through the main lobby; you have to exit, walk around (or drive).

Adding insult on top of all this is the ridiculous $25 resort fee that they add to your bill. Apparently a renovated motel can now be considered a resort! Would you expect a resort fee at Motel 6? No. So why is there one here?

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this is basically a slightly dressed up motel in Goleta (which is not a place anyone would want to visit unless they are going to UCSB graduation or something). We stayed there as it is close to Santa Barbara, but it's actually a bit of a haul from there and not very convenient. The hotel has a cute restaurant and bar and a nice pool, but there is also a lot of noise from the bar and pool as all of the more expensive rooms look out onto the pool. The rooms in the back are a bit quieter (except for the noise at 6:30am from the cleaning crews and trucks loading and unloading god knows what) but in those rooms you really feel like you're in a dressed up budget motel.

The rooms are not comfortable. All the furnishings are aiming for mid-century modern with vintage record players, etc, but the furniture seems very cheap. Things are already starting to fall apart even though they just opened! There was no comfortable place to sit other than the bed. We therefore tried to hang out in the room very little. The sliding door leading to the bathroom was horrible - impossible to open or close it without tremendous rattling noises so at night you have a choice of peeing with the door open or closing it and thus waking up the other person in the room. What is with this sliding door bathroom thing that all the Kimptons are doing?

We are Kimpton inner circle, therefore have stayed at a lot of Kimpton properties and this was by far the least enjoyable. We will definitely not be going back. The staff was very nice and they kept touting all of their "fun activities" like a movie in the courtyard, etc. but really we would prefer they put more money and effort into quality accomodations. At $300 a night, we expected a lot more. We didn't eat at the restaurant so can't comment on that. We had a cocktail at the bar which was yummy, although their happy hour does not include cocktails, only beer and wine.

The fitness room is a tiny closet. We actually opted instead to go to a gym in town.

Oh, and when we checked out they hit us with a "resort fee". It's a motel. We actually laughed as it was so ridiculous. Kimpton - you're slipping!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our first impression on arrival was that this property had a former life as a two or three star motel dating back to the sixties. When you pull up to the lobby entrance, there is a classic Ford "Woody Wagon" and vintage trailer, with "Beach Music" playing on outdoor speakers. We weren't sure what to expect.

The surf and beach theme is present throughout the hotel. The interior and exterior of the hotel is a mix of then and now. The furniture has a beach bungalow feel, complimented by upscale touches and accents. There are reminders in the rooms, however, that the building has been around for some time.

It is obvious that a lot of time and expense went into the landscaping. There is a lot of green. The grounds in the pool and courtyard area are very nice. There are several sitting areas, some with fire pits. The Beach and Surf music plays throughout the hotel and grounds and adds to the ambience. At dusk, the exterior accent lighting that comes on in the gardens and on the buildings has a transformational effect, and if you had any doubts about how well the old and new come together, you find yourself thinking (while enjoying your complimentary wine or beer under palm trees and beautiful skies), "This is pretty nice."

The dinner we had at the hotel was GREAT, exceeding our expectations. We ordered off of the One-Two-Three small bites menu. Not only were our six different selections from the menu delicious, we ended up ordering a another item plus dessert. Nothing disappointed.

The room overnight was fine; comfortable, but not soundproof. It was nice to have parking that was free and right at your door in most cases. Wi-Fi is free if you are a "Kimpton Karma" member. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

We were there on a weekday, and the restaurant was not open for breakfast. There was coffee service in the lounge (No in-room coffee makers). A limited selection of pastries and such were available for a charge. We went to a nearby Starbucks and brought breakfast back to our room.

Overall, the ambience of the hotel grounds in late afternoon and into the evening, plus the excellent dinner, were the high points of our stay. On the opposite end would be the (weekday) breakfast offering and the price. We stayed using a special offer. I can't say we'd ever pay the full price, but definitely would stay at The Goodland again with the right deal.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, General Manager at The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi dacslo,

Thanks for the review! We love hearing from our guests on how well the transformation has turned out. Most of it is great and some are things we embrace as part of the nostalgia of the property. Outpost has been a breath of fresh air for the property and its guests, so thank you for hyping up what Chef Derek and team have put together. Next time you visit, come for brunch on the weekend and if you make a weekday trip you should try one of the breakfast sandwiches that are available on the menu along with the free coffee in GoodBar that we offer as a Kimpton property staple. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

At first sight, the hotel appears to be modern and cozy. The hotel is definitely cozy but lacks comfort. The mattresses were very hard and poor air circulation in the room. Walls are extremely thin and neighbors were incredibly noisy. The upside is that the pool area was fantastic and heated.

My biggest problem with the hotel were the front desk. One of the girls was extremely friendly and the other blonde was not. She was very snobby...wheres the customer service? Lastly, our room keys for some odd reason, kept demagnetizing! We had to constantly walk back to the front desk for new keys.

For the price, I guess all of the above is to be expected...but I don't think I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Retrieve a room on the highest floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, General Manager at The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Greetings from The Goodland Melissa N,

Thank you for the review, while we are getting our feet wet from just opening the doors it is valuable feedback such as yours that will allow us to continue doing the things we do exceptionally well (like the pool scene, live music, great food and beverage,etc) and then go back and tweak what our guests are telling us to improve upon. Hearing that our team was half and half on the element of service is not cool and we will make sure to make good on our promise to deliver a So Cal slow burn good time and it all starts with the team at the Front Desk. We are really excited about being able to provide something new and refreshing in the area and know that with continuous improvement based on feedback such as yours that we will continue to be a great place for people to come and stay at.

Thanks again,

Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 5650 Calle Real, Goleta, CA 93117 (Formerly Hotel Goleta)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel is a boutique hotel in Santa Barbara's sister city Goleta. This new hot spot features an outdoor pool, on-site spa, fitness center offering daily classes, restaurant and lobby bar. Evenings are filled with live music, movie nights in the courtyard and more entertainment. The Goodland is conveniently located near UCSB, Goleta's business district and downtown Santa Barbara. Stay with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Santa Barbara - Goleta Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.