We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It worths what you pay for!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5665 Hollister Avenue, Goleta, CA 93117   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It worths what you pay for!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this Hotel and I recomend it!!! The Hotel is clean and the staff is very attentious. The breakfast is good for the price. The only problem is that the restaurant is small. We would stay here agaín!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luizcaeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSBGoleta, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and your wonderful review. I’m excited to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our team strives to ensure every guest has a great experience so I’ll be sure to share your words with them. Again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Denise Lopez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
75 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great bedroom, free wifi, free parking, good location (10 min from Santa Barbara by car) breakfast included for a reasonable price! It was a shame that my boyfriend and I just stayed there for one night, because it was the hotel that we liked the most.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

It's funny, but it doesn't seem to take much to change a decent Hampton Inn experience into a bad one. This property is clean, the rooms are spacious and the breakfast is, well a Hampton Inn breakfast (which is to say not bad for a comp. breakfast). The staff were amongst the best, most helpful I've encountered at a Hampton Inn.

So how comes it got an average rating? Well, for starters, including Santa Barbara in the name is a bit confusing - the hotel is a few miles from Santa Barbara and it's situated in an area that is somewhat different. Then there's the air conditioning - one of our room neighbours was obviously feeling very hot and had their air conditioning on high. That's fine, but we got the benefit of listening to it grind away all night. Never mind, if you can't sleep you can surf the web - except that the advertised High Speed Internet is pretty bloody slow.

I like the Hampton Inn brand, and I guess I have come to expect something a bit better - on a positive note, the team there was very friendly and very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ians2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSBGoleta, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your most recent stay at our hotel and for your review. I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed our guest rooms and breakfast. Additionally, I’m thrilled to hear your encounters with our team were very positive. They work hard to make every guest’s experience memorable, so I’ll be sure to share your kind words with them.
I apologize for you experience with the air conditioning noise from an adjacent guest room. I take this very seriously and would love the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Please contact me at 805-681-9800 or Denise.Lopez@Hilton.com so we can connect regarding this. Also, I understand your concerns with our internet and I believe you will be delighted to hear we have just completed a bandwidth upgrade (completed on Tuesday of this week) proving to provide faster internet speeds to all of our guests.
Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind Regards,

Denise Lopez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Have stayed at the Hampton Inn in Goleta a few times over the last few years, most recently in October 2012. It's a 3 story hotel, in very good shape. Only a few miles from the West Entrance to the UCSB campus. On the far southwest side of downtown Goleta, with nearby gas stations, small restaraunts, and a 7/11. Rooms are clean and good sized; beds/linens are very comfy, like almost all Hilton related hotels. Has a small clean (and mostly unused) pool, and a very small fitness room. Parking is free and plentiful. Prices are high for a basic 3 star hotel, typically $160-230 per night, but high hotel prices are the norm in this area. Free wifi works wells. Free USA Today newspapers in the lobby. The free Breakfast has both hot and cold items, reasonable selection of things; good enough, but nothing too great. The front desk folks are very helpful, and the check in/out is very quick. I would rate the Pacifica Inn (just a few block down the road) as slightly better at about the same prices. But I'm an avid collector of HHonors points, so I try to stay at Hiltons when I can.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just got home from a one night stay in the Santa Barbara area for our anniversary. It was a busy weekend in SB due to students moving in on campus and the Avon Breast Cancer Walk. We were lucky to find a room in Goleta. I was worried about not being in Santa Barbara proper but it's a short 5 minute drive. We were able to check in early and careful consideration was taken by the front desk staff in choosing our room. We mentioned it was our anniversary to Yvonne and Casarah (front desk staff) and, after going to the pool, came back to champagne and a basket of goodies with a sweet handwritten note from them. We had a slight parking issue which they also fixed quickly. We've stayed in many 4 star hotels that were nowhere nearly as clean, staff not as accomodating and food not as tasty. We had a very nice time and will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsant27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Finally found my notes from our February 2012 stay. We chose the location due to its proximity to UC Santa Barbara for a lacrosse tournament. Even though there were several teams staying in the hotel, it was quiet and there was plenty of room at breakfast. The hotel is well maintained, with new grout and pristine caulk in our room. There were nice touches like marble counters and sills. The beds were very comfortable. The temperature control was easy to use and the windows opened. I agree that the AC was loud but should only be needed on the hottest days. The fan alone was quiet. The rooms were well appointed but it's clearly a business-oriented hotel without balconies or patios. The elevator was slow and shared with housekeeping. The location is in Old Town Goleta, the older non-chain side of 101. If you are looking for the comfort of chain restaurants in walking distance, the north side is a better fit. The hotel did seem more upscale than the rest of the neighborhood. We ended up driving to restaurants out of the immediate area, which seemed run down a bit though we always felt safe. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TooMuch2Do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a nice Hampton Inn but the price is high. That's par for the course in the Santa Barbara area, unfortunately. But for your money, you get a nice quality stay with typical Hampton amenities and pleasant helpful staff. The location is nothing special but you have easy access to the freeway to head up to UCSB or down to Santa Barbara. Don't plan on walking anywhere as there isn't much worthwhile within walking distance.

I had a nice quiet King studio suite on the top floor and it was very quiet and spacious. I was just there for an overnight stay and made use of the in room microwave and fridge for quick meals. The TV station selection was so-so on a smallish flat screen TV. As has been my experience with most Hamptons, the internet speed was subpar. Good luck streaming your favorite TV shows when there's nothing on TV. The one elevator can be a bit slow depending on guest traffic. Parking is free and plentiful. I didn't try the breakfast in the morning.

If you don't need to be within walking distance of downtown Santa Barbara attractions, this is an excellent choice in the area and very close to UCSB if you are visiting the campus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southwest_traveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
0.4 mi away
Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn
2.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Santa Barbara Goleta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel
1.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Santa Barbara - Calle Real
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta

Address: 5665 Hollister Avenue, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Goleta
#5 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Goleta, CA is conveniently located in the heart of Old Town Goleta, within eight miles of downtown Santa Barbara. The Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta, CA is situated perfectly between the Santa Barbara Airport and the University of California Santa Barbara. We're also just a short drive away from the Santa Barbara Zoo, Sterns Wharf, beautiful California beaches, and of course, Wine Country. Whether you're here on business or vacation, you'll want a hotel in Goleta, CA that offers all the comforts you long for. Look no further than the Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta, CA for all your vacation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta Hotel Goleta
Hampton Inn Goleta
Goleta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing